We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, comfy, & very reasonably priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glades Pike Inn

Glades Pike Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glades Pike Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Somerset B&B and Inns
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing, comfy, & very reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Friends recommended the Glades Pike Inn when my two sisters and I recently traveled to the Laurel Highlands to see Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. The 1842 farmhouse is very comfortable, with cheerful and spacious rooms in the $60-65 range. The innkeeper, Janet, is friendly, knowledgeable, accommodating, an outstanding cook, and a pleasure to talk with. She not only provided us with detailed directions to the two Frank Lloyd Wright homes but also made tour reservations for us and secured our tickets. In addition she suggested a stop at Ohiopyle Falls, a very convenient and worthwhile sight between the two FLW homes. And at Janet’s recommendation we had dinner at Out of the Fire Cafe in Donegal, about 12 miles up the road. The food was excellent. Janet has much repeat business and we understand why. Glades Pike Inn was a real find.

Room Tip: As has been mentioned, traffic on Route 31 can be heavy, especially early in the morning, and is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

After being so impressed with our first stay and how Janet was kind enough to transport the four of us (bikes and all) from the bike trail in Rockwood to her B&B and back again in the morning , we stayed there again in August. We love the front room and the beds are very comfortable. It's so beautiful and so quiet inside. Breakfast was delicious both times. The conversation at the table was very enjoyabe. My two kids wish that I could make waffles as good as Janet's blueberry waffles! The kids just love her and still talk about "Janet's place". She is the perfect host. She will even give you driving instructions if you need them. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu and Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. Janet is a very good host and very knowledgeable and helpful on local attractions. Great breakfast with fresh fruit and homemade goodies. An excellent value too!

Room Tip: Room was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

Excellent room, host, breakfast, value!!! Our room was lovely and spacious. Our host waited up for us and made us feel so welcome. The breakfast was wonderful and she went out of her way to find something my picky child would eat. She also looked up directions to Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Great place!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elinor75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here while visiting Falling Waters. I will definately plan the next trip for Fall and go horseback riding. Pet friendly too! Janet is a geat innkeeper.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Inn to see Fallingwater, about a half hour drive. We wanted someplace near the PA Tpk, since we were on the way to Ohio and stopping over to see Fallingwater. Janet, the innkeeper, instantly put us at ease and gave us our choice of rooms, since she didn't have a full house that night.

Our room was spacious, with a comfortable queen bed, cable TV, wifi, a ceiling fan and lots of charm. The bathroom was small, as you might expect from a hundred and fifty year old house, but perfectly comfortable and very clean.

Breakfast and early coffee were delicious and filling, and we had a lovely breakfast conversation with Janet and the other two guests. Not only did Janet make us at home, she also had excellent suggestions for dinner and local activities.

We'll definitely stay again and recommend the Inn to friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moravia ny usa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

Janet is a gracious host and her place could not be a more comfortable place to spend a night or two. She is extremely knowledgeable of the area and is interested in your making the most of your stay. Easy drive to Seven Springs and Fallingwater from this location. Recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cny12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#2 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
5.2 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#5 of 12 in Somerset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
10.2 mi away
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
#1 of 1 in Jones Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glades Pike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glades Pike Inn

Property: Glades Pike Inn
Address: 2684 Glades Pike, Somerset, PA 15501-8520
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glades Pike Inn has 5 rooms with private bath, three rooms have a queen size bed and a wood burning fireplace, one room has two full size beds and one room has two singles/king bed. The Inn is located a scenic 35 minute drive southwest to Fallingwater, the Frank Lloyd Wright masterpiece and a 30 minute drive northeast to the United Flight 93 Memorial. Five state parks are nearby for hiking, biking, canoeing, kayaking and lake beach/ swimming. The Great Allegheny Passage bicycle rails to trails is 12 miles away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing