We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here for one night and it was an enjoyable experience. The staff was courteous and helpful. The breakfast was good and the staff was out going and attentive to keeping everything hot and full. Would stay here again if I find myself in the area again.

Room Tip: Called the hotel the day before and the staff person was not very aware of the hotel policies. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journeytonowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 229 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

We recently stayed for just one night while in town to attend funeral services. We arrived late at night, went straight to our room to sleep and left early after having breakfast at the hotel. The free breakfast was actually a pleasant surprise- pancakes, real scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, yogurt, baked goods... Our room was nice and clean, appeared to have been recently renovated. The only complaint I have is that it was 78 in our room when we awoke so we had to turn the ac on (which worked just fine). But it was actually hot on the whole second floor so I don't know what the problem was.
The hotel is right off of the turnpike, so if that is your direction of travel then locating the entrance is not a problem. However, if you are coming from Somerset, especially in the dark, it's a bit of a challenge to find the parking lot as the break in the median is now gone. Hopefully the owners put a sign for the hotel at the entrance to the road where you need to turn- it goes behind most of the hotels, and the Holiday Inn is the only hotel without a directional sign.
Unfortunately we didn't have time to visit the pool, or walk around the hotel at all so I can't comment on the other amenities, but I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfishfrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

What impressed us most about this hotel was the spacious rooms, very clean, and the excellent hot breakfast that was included in the price. Also the front desk staff was very pleasant and knowledgeable. The night we stayed there a wedding party was also staying there; the hotel put us up on the 4th floor so we wouldn't be disturbed by any noise. Not surprising, it was very quiet. The twin queen beds we slept on were very comfortable. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Less noise on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had to stay in Somerset when our car broke down on the PA turnpike a few days after Christmas. The hotel is very nice and clean and the staff was very helpful when some incredibly loud families with lots of kids surrounded our room on the second night of our stay. Robin promptly was able to move us to a quieter spot with grace and excellent professionalism. I truly appreciate customer service professionals like her. Thank you!

The only downside to this hotel is that the walls and ceilings don't seem to have much soundproofing--you can hear your neighbors next door and above you--but that's hardly the employees' fault.They do a great job!

Also appreciated the quietness of the A/C and heating units. They aren't loud and rattling like in many other hotels.

Room Tip: The fourth floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

It's a shame such a nice hotel is so poorly run. Wifi did not work the entire 24 hours we were there. Front desk employee asked if I would speak to their internet carrier to see what the problem was! And when our toilet was clogged? She handed me a plunger. Seems the employees don't care what your experience is like. I stay in hotels half of the year and never experienced this. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmynyc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Jimmynyc2013,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the service you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are pleased to see your high score for our Rooms. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I typically only stay in Marriott hotels but because of an unexpected death in the family we had to make reservations for my whole family to stay in Somerset where there isn't a Marriott. I spoke with staff several times before making reservations and they even offered us a very gracious bereavement rate. We had four rooms, all near each other, and this was a tremendous help. The facility was clean and updated. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and very clean. Because of the short time we stayed at the hotel we did not get a chance to use the pool but it looked nice and well maintained. We did all take advantage of the free breakfast and it was good. I would recommend the warm cinnamon rolls, yum!! There were plenty of food choices for everyone including my 1 year old all the way up to my 96 year old grandmother. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patterson21912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were driving all the way from Louisville,KY to NJ. We crashed at Holiday Inn for the night. We forgot to pack our toothbrushes and paste for the journey. The front desk was polite enough to get it to the room and did not ask me to come to the front desk and take it unlike a lot of hotels. Pleasant staff. Decent rooms. Simple breakfast. It was good.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Msme310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Somerset
225 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#6 of 12 in Somerset
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Somerset
Super 8 Somerset
#11 of 12 in Somerset
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Somerset

Address: 132 Lewis Dr, Somerset, PA 15501-1074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range: $112 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Somerset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing