We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay for two days of skiing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for two days of skiing”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a great hotel and a really good choice. We were looking at somewhere to stay near Seven Springs resort for the night. This hotel did not disappoint. Everything was clean and immaculate. The rooms and hotel look just like the pictures on trip advisor. Complimentary wifi is a nice touch. Looking forward to the gratis breakfast before hitting the slopes.

Service has been very good. The front desk called us after we got to our room to make sure everything was satisfactory.

The only cons would be the drive to the mountain which is 11 miles, but it's all back roads so it takes 20-25 minutes. However, it was refreshing to come back to a clean and modern hotel to relax after hours of skiing. In my opinion, well worth the drive. It was also significantly less expensive than the seven springs lodge which seemed a little bit old and dated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    79
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
87
72
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here because it was $140 cheaper than staying one night at Seven Springs ski resort. We stayed one night and the room/service was great. Room was large, clean, appeared to have been updated recently. Easy access to PA turnpike. If I ski at Seven Spings again, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scupper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is probably one of the nicest in Somerset. It's also less than a year old, so everything is new and modern. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The front desk staff went out of their way to accomodate any requests and were super friendly. The only con of the hotel was that each morning the cleaning staff would knock on our door early and wake us up. They would also start cleaning and vacuuming other hotel rooms around 9am, which is inconvenient for guests who want to sleep in.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again. Great stay!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Also stayed at the new Holiday Inn Express for snowboarding at both Hidden Valley and Seven Springs. Thank goodness there is someplace decent to stay in Somerset! I've stayed in (literally - see my other posts) neighboring places and paid half the price, but the Holiday Inn far exceeds in value compared to anything else in Somerset. It's also much cleaner and nicer than the slopeside hotels at Seven Springs. I'm not sure what the current standard for Holiday Inns are but this one seemed a lot more modern and comfortable than what I perceived. With that said the only downside is that you still have to drive 15-20 mins at the end of day full of riding and sore bodies to get back to the hotel. The awesome hot complimentary breakfast which includes things like sausage patties, bacon, biscuits and gravy, hot cinnamon buns should conteract that little drive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern US
Level Contributor
108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while snowboarding and skiing at Seven Springs and Hidden Valley, which are a short 20-30 minutes away. The hotel was new and in good shape. The staff was very helpful. A hot free breakfast and free parking, but at night the complimentary coffee and hot water wasn't always fresh or hot. The internet was free, but a bit slow. The rooms were average size. There is a small fitness room, and the treadmill I ran on was good quality. There is also a small indoor pool. Somerset is small and there aren't too many restaurant choices, but if you're only there a short time this won't be a big deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank va_trailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute. It's only 30 minutes from Seven Springs so the location was great if you ski. The front desk staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean. Every time we were in the lobby whoever was at the desk said hi. The pool looked great but a hot tub would have been nice. The breakfast was perfect for a quick bite before skiing. Get to breakfast early as they do run out of some things around 9:00. We stayed in a suite and it was plenty big enough for 5. We had two adults and 3 teen boy's. We did bring a twin size mattress so each boy had his own bed. We still had plenty of room. We were able to watch the Redskin/Cowboy game in the sitting area and played cards. It was fun and comfortable. I would suggest Franks pizza if your looking for good pizza. Also, most places close early in town so plan ahead. Great stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have 5 in your family the suite would be your best choice. We had plenty of room for 2 adults...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceys511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My family and I just stayed at this Hotel while traveling for a basketball tournament. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, going above and beyond to accommodate our group. The facility is not fancy, however, it is new (5 months old), clean, comfortable, and well kept. The common areas were comfortable and functional. The rooms were good size, comfortable, and very clean. If you are traveling through southwestern Pennsylvania I highly recommend this property.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#2 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#4 of 12 in Somerset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
24.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Latrobe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Somerset

Property: Holiday Inn Express Somerset
Address: 132 Lewis Dr, Somerset, PA 15501-1074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Somerset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing