We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice but pricely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Certificate of Excellence
Canal Fulton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Very nice but pricely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This Holiday Inn is new and beautiful. The rooms are not your typical looking hotel room. The walls were painted in blue and tan--very stylish. Everything was new and looked it. Very nice, but not worth $100 per night. Breakfast choices were abundant and the food was good--very nice eating environment. Everything thing in the hotel was clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    79
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
87
72
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Pros: Beautiful new facility. Very clean and well maintained. The beds are very comfortable, and supportive. Nice desk area to work at. Good selection of TV channels. The breakfast alone would be reason to stay here. Delicious and wide selection of hot and cold items, and very good pancakes from the pancake machine. Nice, clean pool area. Very friendly staff.

Cons: Noise. This had to be one of the noisiest hotels I have stayed at in recent memory. There is very poor insulation between the outside and inside of the rooms and highway. I have stayed at the "motel" across the street which is directly on the turnpike and had much less road noise than at this hotel. You are surrounded by trucks, no matter what side of the hotel you are on. And, it's not just the outside noise that is bad. You can hear every door shut, every person talking - not just from outside the room in the hallway, but below, above, and all sides of your room. You can hear people bumping the walls, moving luggage, walking above your room, walking below your room. I mean the noise level is on par with staying at a YMCA shelter or hostel. You might as well have office partitions separating the room! I can not imagine why such a new building was built with such poor noise insulation. Turning up the thermostat, or running the fan on the heat unit won't help because the units are very quiet! The lighting is also very dim in the room, and in the bathroom in particular. Hallways, outside of the lobby area, are freezing. I don't think the heat is even turned on in the interior corridors. Pool water was a little cold as well. Wifi does not work well - it kicks you off frequently and stops responding often.

Bottom line: As excellent as the hotel in service and amenities overall, it won't matter to you if "peace and quiet" is your priority in your hotel stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "Super 8" side - you might get less noise from the trucks going thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKF56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel was very new, so new that the fireplace in the lobby wasn't quite done when we were there. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a saltwater pool, a great breakfast area and plenty of parking. We found our room to be beautiful and clean.The cabinetry that held the mini fridge was a nice touch. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. We did have a problem with the pancake machine (yes pancake, not waffle) it seemed to be malfunctioning every morning. I guess the girl in charge was frustrated with it because when I told her the light was blinking that the machine was out of batter she said rather curtly "It isn't out of batter." A little later she made an attempt to see what was wrong. By then we had decided to get something different. There were plenty of choices for breakfast and each day we found plenty to our liking, as long as it wasn't pancakes. I agree with one of the other posters, this seemed like a very classy hotel for the price we paid. I love a bargain!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

this is one of the newest express inns out there. it is right off the turnpike and very easy to get to. they've done a wonderful job. but no microwaves in rooms. no hot tub by the pool, but the pool is huge. you'll love it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XENIA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a very brief one night stay at this new hotel. This hotel opened in July 2012 and it's a beauty. First of all, upon entering the hotel we were greeted by the most pleasant hotel clerk who was an absolute delight to answer our questions and also gave us the names of places to eat in the area. The room was beautiful and very well appointed. We will definitely recommend this
hotel to anyone who is passing through the Somerset, PA area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

My family stayed here for one night and it was very modern & clean feeling. I definately would stay here again if i were in the area.

The place felt like it was very classy for the price. I dont stay at hotels very often, but this is exactly the type of place i like when i do.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here with our two young children in late August 2012 on our way to Williamsburg, Virginia. We were trying to get to another hotel when we came across this one which had easier access from the road. Until we saw it, I didn't realized there was a Holiday Inn in Somerset. We were pleased to learn they had an indoor pool as the kids really wanted to swim after a long day of driving. Plenty of parking. The hotel is brand new and they told us they just opened in July of 2012. The indoor pool is salt water. Kids loved it. Everything was shiny and new, so new in fact that the vending machines were not yet stocked on our floor. Still, we were able to get snacks from the reception. Beds were comfortable and overall it was a great stop. The breakfast included was great, especially for the kids and that saved us time in the morning so we could hit the road again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#2 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#4 of 12 in Somerset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
24.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Latrobe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Somerset

Property: Holiday Inn Express Somerset
Address: 132 Lewis Dr, Somerset, PA 15501-1074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Somerset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing