We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pa. hospitality at it's finest and the breakfasts are wonderful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Belsar Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 7 Somerset B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A stone's throw away from the world of Super 8s, Econolodge, etc. is a lovely B&B-immaculate, tastefully decorated brick ranch in the middle of a neighborhood in the beautiful Laurel Highlands. We were greeted by Brenda as she came to guide us through construction to her B&B. She is a darling as is her husband, Frank. They had us feeling comfortable and shared wine and cheese with us weary travelers and recommended local restaurants and sites. Our room was the McCoy (I hope I'm right) Room with a private bath and queen size bed which overlooked their beautiful rolling backyard full of autumn's glory-what a view to wake up to!!!
Breakfast was a wonderful meal both mornings we stayed. French-toast casserole with peaches, yogurt, hash browns, cheese and sausage casserole, delicious coffee, juice and a hot toll house cookie was our 1st....next morning was egg & cheese omelettes, gingerbread pancakes, Pa. maple syrup, sausage, fruit, juice English muffins,(or toast,) and delicious coffee. Coffee, tea and fresh baked cake was available to us any time! Both days Brenda gave us a goody bag-apples, granola bars, candy as we went touring Flight 93 Memorial and FL Wright's fabulous structures in the Pa mountains. We felt as though we visited FRIENDS....how wonderful!

Room Tip: a private bath is a wonderful thing-as is the gorgeous view as you awaken
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbrfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

My partner and I traveled to Pennsylvania to visit Somerset county so that I could share with him the hometown where my great-grandparents lived all of their lives. Because they have passed away and their house has been sold from the family, I thought it was important to stay somewhere that it felt like coming "home" after our exploring, instead of simply crashing in a chain or cheep hotel.

Brenda and Frank, the hosts at the inn, certainly have created that "home" atmosphere I was looking for. Brenda worked with me to book a room that was best for our stay and our tighter student budget. They showed tremendous generosity by offering food and drinks and use of the beautiful family space both indoors and out. And they showed Pennsylvania hospitality by having clean and comfortable spaces to use and being genuinly interested in us as people, and not just as paying guests. My boyfriend fell in love with their shy lab, Cody, and I just enjoyed feeling like a part of the family for our visit.

Traveling in October was lovely. The trees were bright in their fall coats, and we were fortunate to have a perfect weather weekend. I highly recommend the Belsar Inn for anyone traveling to the Somerset area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We loved The Belsar Inn! This Somerset PA B & B is a newer brick ranch, with an expansive, beautifully landscaped backyard. There is a large patio with several outdoor recliners that overlook the backyard, where we spent a perfect evening.

The interior is modern, spacious and is immaculately clean throughout. Guests have use of a living room and another large room with a huge TV. We instantly found the atmosphere to be relaxed and friendly; the hosts themselves told us they wanted to create a space in which visitors could unwind and visit.

We stayed in the Robinson Room, which has a king bed with a very comfortable mattress, nice quality linens and a large, full bath. A full, hot breakfast was served each morning, and Brenda even packed bags with snacks for us when we left for the day.

Brenda and Frank were extremely gracious and easygoing hosts who genuinely seem to enjoy people. Young daughter Marisa was charming and Cody, the shy chocolate Lab, made friends with us in short order, too. Somerset is a fair-sized town but at the Belsar we felt the warmth of true rural hospitality!

The landscape of the Laurel Highlands is uniquely beautiful and there is much to see nearby, including the Flight 93 Memorial, the Johnstown Flood Museum, Frank Lloyd Wright’s Falling Water and more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Well, it's a cliche but 'a home away from home' describes this B&B brilliantly. Go into the kitchen and make a cup of tea any time. Enjoy the beautiful garden with a hammock big enough for two. Eat breakfast family style if you choose; or not if you don't. Play with the dog (a chocolate lab). Relax in a jacuzzi tub. Watch telly in the living room. Use the excellent wi-fi.

My partner and I booked in at this establishment for two nights and ended up staying three while visiting the area primarily to see Fallingwater. The owners, Brenda and Frank, are friendly, super helpful and natural. All in all, I think this is the best B&B I have found in the US. A couple of rough edges I can totally put down to the fact that the proprietors are rather new to the business. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Belsar Room is the most expensive but worth paying the extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SwamiPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 12 in Somerset
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Somerset
Days Inn Somerset
#5 of 12 in Somerset
574 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Inn
#12 of 12 in Somerset
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Somerset
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belsar Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belsar Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 515 Felgar Rd, Somerset, PA 15501-7208
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset
Price Range: $75 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Belsar Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belsar Inn Bed and Breakfast in Somerset, Pennsylvania is located less than a mile from the Somerset Turnpike exit. Our bed and breakfast features comfortable, cozy, yet luxurious accommodations including a Jacuzzi, king and queen size beds, breakfast and afternoon tea with snacks. You can watch your favorite television show on our 73” smart TV in the family room, or relax in your room watching your favorite show. You can also enjoy a variety of movies available on Roku in our family room. You may borrow a book from our library and read in front of the fireplace in the formal living room. Morning coffee or afternoon tea may be enjoyed in the gazebo or on the patio with a view of the outdoor gardens. The Belsar Inn is close to the Pennsylvania Turnpike and a close proximity to Seven Springs, the Flight 93 National Memorial, Fallingwater, and many other attractions. Book your stay with us to see beautiful Somerset County, Pennsylvania! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Belsar Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing