We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small town diner”
Review of Summit Diner

Summit Diner
Ranked #1 of 67 Restaurants in Somerset
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
North Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Small town diner”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

It was good, nothing fancy, local's enjoy it and so did I. I had the fried chicken, it was fried from frozen but it was good. They do have a large selection of homeade pies that are very good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MoMan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    101
    33
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland,ct
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice diner, worst meal ever had!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were looking for a meal after a very long trip. We are not gourmet eaters but we certainly appreciate a good meal. My husband had the meatloaf dinner and I had the pork chops. Too bad the food did not match the decor. Meatloaf so bland, hardly warmed. My pork chops, ended up to be one, not as advertised, dry obviously frozen pork pressed meat. Unbelievable bad.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlandfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Cool 52 year old diner”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Enjoyed a good breakfast here on 12/16. The diner is 52 years old and looks to be in great shape. Very clean and nice waitresses. Typical diner breakfast. We'll be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cebakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum, MD
Level Contributor
246 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Retro Breakfast”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We received a warm welcome when we arrived. Our waitress was very friendly and efficient. There is a breakfast special available weekdays before 10. You can get it after 10 as well, but the price goes up a dollar ( from $3.99 to $4.99, I think.). I think it includes eggs, hashbrowns,meats, and even pancakes if I recall correctly. My husband is a big eater and tried the "Scrapyard," which consists of eggs, sausage, hash browns, scrapple and toast. It was such a huge meal, he couldn't even think about eating again until dinner. I had the french toast with a side of sausage. The sausage was outstanding. We did get some pie to go, but it did not impress us as much as the breakfast.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonesieLinthicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penna.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good old-fashioned food and friendly service”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you like the nostalgia of a silver diner, complete with tiled walls and boomerang formica booths inside, you'll love the Summit Diner. Decent food and friendly, attentive waitresses.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank urbanite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summit Diner also viewed

 

Been to Summit Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing