We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Campground”

Pioneer Park Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pioneer Park Campground
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on our way to Gettysburg. We stopped here to visit relatives since my husband is from Johnstown. I wanted a campground close to the PA Pike, which this one is. Sites are large and with the gravel drives and quite level. It had rained prior to our arrival and most of the roads and sites were quite muddy. Not a good thing if you are travelling with dogs. Campground doesn't seem to have very good drainage as water was still sitting in numerous areas the next day. Staff was very nice and friendly. Restrooms were clean. Good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donna613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Pioneer Park Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 25 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our "maiden voyage" in our RV was from Alabama to Somerset - Pioneer Park. We were welcomed and set up in a wonderful campsite. We had rain everyday, to no fault of the campground. We stayed over July 4th and had a wonderful display of fireworks! The pool was cool and inviting, the staff was most hospitable and always the fellow campers were most friendly. I would recommend Pioneer Park to anyone wanting a wonderful experience in those beautiful Laurel Highlands! Thanks Bill and Staff for making our vacation the best we could hope for (except for the rain)! We'll be back! Bud, Ruth & family!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

One of the nicest campgrounds we have ever stayed in. We had a great time. Staff was great, and the facilities are 5 star. The park is surrounded by lakes and tall pines. A beautiful park, more like camping in Minn. than Pa

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Love the campground, our site is nice and just about flat. Great view of the lakes and activities areas. We have 4 kids and 2 dogs and everyone has fun here. The kids love riding bikes around the area and we love to walk over and play tennis anytime. The people seem to be very nice and the service from management has been excellent. We even had a bit of trouble with our new travel trailer and they recommended a good maintenance person. The pool is not open yet but the kids are excited for it. Our kids love fishing in the lakes and because of the location there are tons of state parks and activities to do all around the area. We really like this campground.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimCarlKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

After visiting Pioneer Campground on many occasions, I found it to be the cleanest and has the friendliest employees in the state of Pennsylvania. Not to mention the great fishing and the best water facilities around.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went with a group of 18 people for the IBO Worlds Archery Tournament. We made reservations a year ago before our trip for one of the “cabins”, they are really a trailer on wheels with log siding (hitch and all!) They do not sit on the ground like they look in the picture on the website, please see the pictures I took for the real thing! When we checked in we were told that the cabin would not sleep 8 people even though it states that on the website and in the brochure and we would have to find another place for some of us. They finally did let us stay there but it is VERY small and was VERY crowded for our party (4 adults and 4 kids). The brochure & website are full of false advertising, please read it very carefully. For instance the pool is NOT heated. It is nice but definitely not heated! The staff is extremely rude, unfriendly and unhelpful, and there is an 8 pm curfew for everything! Even if it is still light out no one is allowed to ride bikes, they lock up the pool, mini golf and paddleboats. Even the free activities, including basketball, volleyball, shuffleboard, horseshoes and tennis courts are unavailable after 8pm. Our kids (9, 11 & 13) were told they would have to pay for a lost tennis ball that went over the fence into the pond or they would need to rent a paddle boat for $2 to go retrieve it! One day it rained in the morning and after it cleared up around 5pm, we went up to the pool around and were told it was closed until 10 am the next day because the lifeguard was sent home early. They would not even let us swim at our own risk with 3 adults to watch 4 kids! When I went up to the pool I was asked snottily by the manager if I had parked by the pool I hadn’t. If you want to use the laundry facility or the pool you have to walk from your campsites you are NOT allowed to drive your vehicle around the place, it must stay at your campsite at all times (unless leaving the park) I later overheard one of the staffers chew out a lady who had driven up to the pool, in front of her kids! He said that she was not allowed to drive up to use the facilities and must leave her car at the campsite at all times! Check out the fine print of the brochure it says that! I would not recommend this place to anyone!! And I will never stay there again. We will be returning next year for another tournament and we have already made reservations at the Seven Springs Resort which BTW is less money!!! It is the WORST place I have ever stayed and we camp with our own camper multiple times every summer. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: The cabins not really a cabin, are overpriced and VERY small!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank MammaLax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here in Aug 2012. This was our third campground in our travel trailer. Ended up being a chilly weekend but great for fishing. The stocked lakes were great. We caught several fish and got alot if bites. My 10 year son never got bored here. The basketball court, tennis court, shuffleboard, and mini golf were all in very nice condition. Also very nice for biking around campground and lakes. Our site was a nice size and had a nice view of children's lake, but had trouble getting level. Had to use boards and our steps were very high from the ground. Noticed alot of campers had additional wooden steps. Only other drawback was everything closed by 8-8:30. Even the game room. Definatly will stay here again and may even consider it for a seasonal site after we try a few other campgrounds.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniram74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
7.3 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#5 of 12 in Somerset
163 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
221 reviews
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
12.0 mi away
Foggy Mountain Lodge
Foggy Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stahlstown
47 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Park Campground

Address: 273 Trent Rd, Pennsylvania Turnpike Exits 91 & 110, Somerset, PA 15501-5638
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Somerset
Number of rooms: 341

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing