We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For what Somerset offers, this place is likely the best...but with room for improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Somerset
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“For what Somerset offers, this place is likely the best...but with room for improvements”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

First off, this is my third time staying here in roughly 2 years, so before I get into details on my stay I definitely see it as a place worth staying when in the area. With that said, Somerset lodging options consist of primarily "dumpy" hotels/motels other than the Hampton Inn and maybe one or two other places.

On all 3 stays I've had here, I'd rank it anywhere between 3 and 4.....out of a possible 5. Each stay was fairly consistent with similar goods and bads each time. Front desk staff were friendly and efficient. They seemed to have no problem striking up conversation with customers and seemed down to earth. The rest of the staff I encountered were not so friendly.

Our room itself was a decent size and for the price we paid we feel like we got a solid deal for the peak of the summer season. Cleanliness wise the room was in fair shape. I did notice a solid accumulation of dust above the fridge and microwave. The bathroom seemed clean with plenty of towels on hand. The bed (KING) was huge and comfortable.

On the not so clean side were the hallways which were in serious need of vacuuming and the elevator which needed some mopping and wiping down badly.

The lobby area itself is small for a Hampton Inn and I knew it was setting up for trouble come morning. The hotel was booked up pretty well and the free breakfast was a madhouse with nowhere near enough seating for all guests. There were people eating on the floor in the lobby, near the elevators, etc. I just worked my way through the crowds, grabbed some food and went back to my room. The breakfast area/floor was messy with the people slopping food and beverage all over the place. This hotel really needs to consider more space for its guests otherwise mornings are often going to be chaotic like this. Also, I'm still trying to figure out the point of an outdoor pool in Somerset, PA? I bet it is usable 3 months out of a year...at most.

Anyway, if you can look past the chaos at breakfast and some cleanliness issues (primarily outside of your room), then you'll have no problem staying here. This definitely ranks as one of my least favorite Hamptons I stay at, but it's good enough given what few options there really are in the area.

Room Tip: If the hotel seems booked pretty well, prepare for chaos at breakfast. Get down early if so, or prep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pars1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    228
    81
    26
    13
See reviews for
230
173
37
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

For an overnight property, this is one of the better Hampton Inn out there, not that they are many poor ones from Hilton. Factor in the included hot breakfast and amenities and you've got yourself a great deal. Beds were comfortable, bathroom clean. Close to restaurants and conveniently located near interstate in a quiet town.

Room Tip: Top floor ensures peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotel was full fire alarm went off in hallway but not in rooms...some guests exited building some stood in lobby and some never left rooms...guests could re-enter building while alarm was still sounding...alarm was silenced...no direction given...people went back in on their own...if this was a real emergency there would have been lives lost!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xgbisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and comfortable. The hotel appeared booked, but the staff and breakfast space were overwhelmed and unprepared for the numbers at breakfast... Not typical Hampton in that regard ! The hotel is just 20 min from flight 93 memorial

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_viajera84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My family was in Somerset for my niece;s wedding at the Hayloft which was close by.
The rooms were great! The beds were comfortable, even the roll=away my daughter had was comfortable. Nice big bathroom w/ large tub w/shower. We were there for 3 nights and each morning was a great hot breakfast and each day they had hot homemade oatmeal, which was delicious, not from a packet. You could put different toppings from fruit and nuts to brown sugar etc.Our family and friends all stayed on the 3rd floor and had a great time, In the Afternoon the hotel provided fresh hot popcorn, and a variety of fresh baked cookies. It was a great place to stay, and for our family to sit and socialize, in the lobby/b'fast area anytime of the day without going out of the hotel. The staff was great and very accommodating..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

A roadside hotel right off the PA Turnpike exit...but you enter into a time warp of 30 year old design and decor. A bed and relatively clean - staying for more than some quick shut-eye would be a chore. ( and you have to access the site via an unlighted windy road through the hills even though you see the hotel at the side of the turnpike exit!)

Nothing to recommend about this place but the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FranMan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had reservations 4 months early. Nothing like arriving for your 1st day of vacation ... along with 50 kids. Noise was horrible (which could be heard through the walls) along with banging doors. Front desk says, "Sorry, we're sold out" so there was no moving away from the noise. Breakfast - BAD. Processed eggs and canned fruit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
217 reviews
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#5 of 12 in Somerset
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Somerset
Days Inn Somerset
#6 of 12 in Somerset
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Somerset

Property: Hampton Inn Somerset
Address: 324 Laurel Crest Rd, Somerset, PA 15501-1076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Somerset
#2 Business Hotel in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Somerset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Somerset Hotel Somerset
Somerset Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing