We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than before”

Good 'N Plenty Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Smoketown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: At Good 'N Plenty Restaurant, we are pleased to offer our guests family style dining, menu dining, a takeout program, an award winning bake shop and an extensive gift shop. Bring family, friends and neighbors to enjoy our traditional Lancaster County home cooking. See and taste why we have been chosen as one of AAA's Top Ten BEST "down home dining" restaurants in North America as well as voted "the best" local PA Dutch restaurant. We look forward to serving you!!
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better than before”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I was not overly impressed with my last visit but I went there on 8/9/14. I had roast beef, very tender and not chewey. Fried chicken, very tender and juicy. Crispy skin. Mashed potatoes and gravy, corn, peas.. All was good. I did not eat all that was offered. Lemon aide was very sweet but so good I drank at least 6 glasses. Did not care for cheese cake. Not no bake but a lesser quality. Servers were fantastic.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen L, Owner at Good 'N Plenty Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for coming back and we will pass along your comment to our servers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    256
    160
    47
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Went to this restaurant with a bus tour. There was no wait. and the homestyle meal was the best meal I had on this trip and we had one meal in an Amish home. It is country cooking at its best. Fried chicken, mashed potatoes, green beans, coleslaw, homemade breads, noodles, several desserts and many other food choices. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a nice gift shop there too. There was no bar or outdoor seating that I could see. ** Could not click off those while rating this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen L, Owner at Good 'N Plenty Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are very happy you enjoyed all our restaurant offers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good 'n plenty”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Food is absolutely delicious and fresh. Been twice already and I thought the first time was good but maybe it was because I was hungry. I was wrong. Fried chicken was juicy and crispy. Butter noodles were fresh and delicious. Come try this place and you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank jonathan_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen L, Owner at Good 'N Plenty Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thanks so much Jonathan - we look forward to serving you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Fried Chicken!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

It's a smorgasbord. If you're into private dining, this place is not for you. When you are seated, be prepared to share a long table with several groups from around the country. We were seated with groups from Vermont, NY, etc.; with not buffer. The meals are all-you-can-eat, but with a set menu for the day. It is served to you family-style. And they will top off the meal with a nice choice of desserts. The food quality is above average, feels home-cooked, and will fill you up. I particularly liked the fried chicken and ham.

It's a great environment if you're into meeting new people and enjoying a family-style meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen L, Owner at Good 'N Plenty Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you David - so glad you liked our food!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't Miss this one of a kind Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Gather friends or family, and make the time, and experience the full family style dining in traditional surroundings. The food is Lancaster County country food at its finest. Make sure to eat lots of fried chicken, roast beef, buttered noodles, and real mashed potatoes, along with chow chow, its the best. Save room for the cracker pudding at the end.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen L, Owner at Good 'N Plenty Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you Elton, so glad you enjoyed your experience and we appreciate you sharing it with others. We look forward to serving you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good 'N Plenty Restaurant also viewed

 
Ronks, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 

Been to Good 'N Plenty Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing