We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a relaxing stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mill Stream Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Smoketown B&B and Inns
Montpelier, VA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a relaxing stay...”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is our second visit to the Mill Stream Country Inn in Lancaster, PA. This hotel is a bit off the beaten path, but not in relation to proximity to all the fun things to do. It sits in a large field with a gorgeous stream running behind it. Many of the rooms face the rear and have chairs at the hotel and in the field for guests to sit in peaceful bliss. My husband and I escaped this past weekend and walked in the field and along the stream. It is very quiet, which is nice. If I still had young children, this would be my choice of location since the kids can play ball and run around in the acreage behind the hotel, without any concern for the road or traffic. The rooms are very clean and attractive. We prefer to stay on the second floor so we can walk from our room straight into the lobby for breakfast. Note: There are 3 stories in this hotel but no elevator. If stairs are an issue, ask for the bottom floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    45
    22
    4
    7
See reviews for
39
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delmar, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have stayed at Millstream Country Inn for many years. This time we brought our 2 grandchildren to see Noah at Sight and Sounds.. We stayed on the 2nd floor which we prefer.. The room was surprisingly the same room that we stayed in last year. As usual, it was very, very clean and quiet. Also, I noticed that they had new carpet. The grounds are so beautiful especially in the back. The lady and the manager that checked us in were extremely nice.
Millstream comes with what they call a Continential breakfast but more like breakfast. There is an older lady that fixes waffles that are delicious. The kids always look forward to this when we stay here. We enjoyed the pool immensely. It was obvious that the grounds and the pool are very well maintained. Pool could use more lighting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
216 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The package deal was a worth every penny. The cost was $315 for 2 adults and 1 child ( 2 nights). The package consisted of breakfast, dinner (at a restaurant a few miles away), 2 hr Amish Bus tour, $10 shopping coupon and cookies. The hotel was clean and located in a peaceful setting. The downside was that the room we stayed is in need of new mattresses and pillows. The breakfast was decent ( waffles were very good) but the brochure in the room advertised biscuits with gravy, there was gravy but no biscuits ( english muffin was a poor substitute). All in all, a good value in Lancaster.

Room Tip: A room in the back overlooks a nice field and stream
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JFK49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My family and I have stayed at the Mill Stream over the last 5-6 years. We've stayed here for the location and the breakfast thats included. The last few times we've noticed the "worn" look to the rooms. The carpet was dingy and felt soggy, we didn't dare walk barefoot.The decor was dark and dated:borders on the walls, dark printed, heavy quilted spreads and threadbare wing chairs do not say "fresh and clean".The efficient houskeeping staff does their best with what they have to work with and we tip them.The owners need to put some money into updating the rooms.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if you've got alot to carry ask for the first floor. If you want a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTWENTZCESTMOI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swannanoa, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at Mill Stream Inn early this weekend. We found it very clean, comfortable and at a good price. We booked a package that included a tour and 2 meals which we found enjoyable. Our only complaint was that the pool closed at 9:00. We enjoyed watching the Amish buggies go up and down the road in front of our room. We stayed on the frontside and it was very quite and enjoyable. A definite do over~!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank messer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Stream Country Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Isn’t the Amish Farmland tour fun? We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you wanted more time at the pool. For swimmers, we can never keep it open late enough; for guests eager for mesmerizing country quiet, we can’t close it soon enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently stayed one weekend night and I was quite disappointed in the fact that the 2 hr bus tours are only offered in the morning so a perk I was looking forward to became unavailable to us. Secondly, our in room booklet of hotel facts told us that Sunday breakfast was now being offered at their bird-in-hand restaurant. Didn't realize that this breakfast was not complimentary and it was subpar to other hot buffet breakfast meals that we have experienced in Lancaster. These two items made this stay not what I had expected.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SAHM0f3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Stream Country Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We’re really sorry for the confusion. A complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is offered seven days a week for all guests at Mill Stream Country Inn. Our complimentary farmland tours are offered Monday through Saturday mornings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here Saturday thru Monday Memorial Day weekend. Nice, clean rooms. Only complaint I have is that there isn't a coffee maker in the room. Room was clean. Beds were comfortable. Nice continental breakfast with hot waffles, fresh locally made yogurt, pastries, cereal, juice, etc. Staff was friendly, they even looked up directions for us online. Internet is only available in the lobby, wish it was available in the rooms. The rooms are cleaned daily, which is nice. They offer a free 2-hour tour of the Amish area with stops at some of the local Amish businesses. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The front rooms face the road, the back rooms face an open area behind the motel (they might be a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Public Relations Manager at Mill Stream Country Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We’re glad that you had a nice stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Although we don’t have in-room coffee makers, we do feature our special Bird-in-Hand blend of coffee in our breakfast room. We also wanted to let you know that free WI-FI is available in all our rooms so please connect with us next time if you have trouble connecting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smoketown
1.2 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Bird in Hand
452 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lancaster
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#15 of 39 in Lancaster
382 reviews
3.0 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,017 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cherry Lane Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Stream Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Stream Country Inn

Property: Mill Stream Country Inn
Address: 170 Eastbrook Rd (Route 896), Smoketown, PA 17576-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Smoketown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smoketown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mill Stream Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Mill Stream Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Stream Country Hotel Smoketown
Country Inn Smoketown
Smoketown Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing