We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mill Stream Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Amish Country(Lancaster)(Great Value!)
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
39
50
27
4
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
50
27
4
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamish countryhard boiled eggsrooms are cleanmake your own wafflesolder hotelbit datedwe've stayedamish tourthird floorbus tourcontinental breakfast islancaster countya great place to stayshort drivebirdcerealattractions
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 131 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We only booked the Mill Stream because our first choice had no vacancies. What a blessing in disguise! We'd certainly return. First, it was a relatively simple route from Baltimore. Then, we found ourselves in an immaculately kept, quiet place between busy streets and quiet farmland. The property is very modest (small room, no coffee maker) but well kept, on a lovely treed stream, on a street mixed with agricultural interests, residences, and other small hotels. Best of all, we actually encountered the Amish, either sharing the road with buggy drivers and robust, well maintained horses or occasional Amish walkers. Amish folks owned or worked where we stayed and shopped. The property offered a 2-hour, complimentary bus tour that is not to be missed (the driver's compensation is gratuities) although one must drive to an affiliated hotel maybe two miles away to take the tour. Other tours and museums were in town. Good Amish food (Good N Plenty) was right next door - or one could drive a few minutes for more of the same. If not Amish food, then pizza, Olive Garden and others were within a 10-minute drive, no more. But you will need your car. Complimentary continental breakfast was good and featured locally made yogurt, etc. There is a pool. Good location for the quiet pursuit of history and light intercultural exchange.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We'll be going to Mill Stream at the end of July. We've been going there for the past 5 years. Last year we booked online & Mill Stream was full so we booked at another place not so great. We went to visit Mill Stream & they HAD rooms available (online mix-up??) , so we checked out of our hotel & went "home" to Mill Stream! Yes, it's like a home away from home! Everyone is friendly & helpful. Justin helped us out at reception & Sarah in the dining room is always ready to answer our questions. Breakfast is good for us - just what we'd usually have at home - nothing extravegant. The rooms are very clean. The maids/ "girls" are friendly & very efficient. If you need anything, they'll get it for you (or tell you where to find it). We spent alot of time by the pool - talking & making friends with other guests who were just as pleased. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear - just to be able to watch the stream & the children playing! No elevator, so 2nd or 1st floor is better, but a little exercise to get to the 3rd is good too.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrannieAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I were on a mid-week 1-night get-away to the Lancaster area. After doing some research from home, we decided to make a reservation at this Inn. This was our first time staying here, and boy were we happy with our choice! We enjoyed this place very much. Of course, we can only comment on our 1 night, but our visit was a good one. The Inn is located on a small, quiet road, but still close enough to all of the happenings. The grassy grounds are very pretty, and the property appeared to be very well-kept. You can tell from the outside that it's more of an older, more quaint place, but that was just fine with us. The front desk folks that we encountered were pleasant. Our room was very nice. It was basically a typical 2-queen bed motel room, but it was clean and attractive, and in my opinion was a little more spacious than lots of motel rooms I've been in. And the room included plenty of amenities - upholstered chairs (more like what you'd find in living rooms) and nice little wood table rather than the small cheapie type of table and chairs that you see at lots of places, small frig, small microwave, hair dryer, telephone, radio/alarm clock, ironing board and iron, and a well-operating TV. Actually, my husband said that this place offered the largest array of available cable channels that he's ever seen at a hotel/motel/inn (and that's saying alot for him! LOL). Also, our room had the bathroom sink and vanity area located outside of the actual bathroom, which we really like alot (I've seen comments from people who don't like this - but we find it offers a good opportunity for one person to have privacy in the bathroom while another person uses the sink/vanity area). Our room faced the front/road, and the outside of our room had nice chairs where you could sit and relax and take in the vehicles (and buggies!) quietly going up and down the road. The hotel also offers an outdoor pool (and they also provide pool towels!) - the pool is a little small, and folks with kids should note that there's no "shallow" end (the lowest entry point is 3 feet), but we visited the pool area for about an hour in the evening and it was very enjoyable. The Inn also offers a "deluxe continental breakfast" each morning, and this turned out to be more extensive than we were expecting. In addition to the usual cereal, breakfast breads, and fruit, they also had belgian waffles, homemade biscuits and sausage gravy, locally-made yogurt, and hard-boiled eggs. Ttheir breads seemed to be more of the "home made" type. And at breakfast they also offered cookies made fresh on the premises each morning. We were pleasantly surprised at all of the breakfast offerings, and we enjoyed everything that we tried. Also, complimentary coffee and hot tea are available all day long in the lobby (until the lobby closes, which I think it around 9pm). And, of course, you get to top all of this off with the 2-hour bus tour that's included with your stay (which we enjoyed very much, as well). All-in-all, it's a really nice place which offers a nice variety of amenities and extras. We enjoyed it alot, and would highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: On the website it offered a choice of a front room or a back room - the front rooms face out onto the front of the property and the road - the back rooms face out onto a neighboring Amish house and a small mill stream.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travlbug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Although the hotel is older and not as fancy as others in the area the setting and view were fantastic. We arrived an hour before dusk and my kids ran around on the enormous grass area along the stream catching fireflys as darkness came. From the balcony I watched my California kids enjoy this new experience and I watched an Amish couple next door as they cut their field of hay. The next day we enjoyed the Amish tour that came with our hotel stay. We had to wait until the afternoon for our tour because the earlier tours were full. I wished I had known to call and reserve spots ahead of our check-in for a morning tour.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamafranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel has been around forever and it has some good as well as not so good points. The location is nice, on a quiet road, about a mile from US 30, the main road in that area. The staff is friendly, the rooms are small but reasonably comfortable. Those are the good points. Now for the not so good:
The rooms are small and old, the beds are old and worn, the bathroom is small and the wash area is outside the bathroom actually adjacent to the living area/bedroom. The TV is outdated and small I guess the owner never heard of HDTV. The towels are horrid and the worse we can recall using in any hotel, ever and we travel a lot. I guess there are more concerned about guests stealing their towels but if someone stole one of their towels and maybe used it to dry their car, guaranteed it would scratch the paint. The included breakfast is sub standard but acceptable. We've stayed at this hotel many times over the past 30 years and will continue to stay there when we can't get a reservation at our first three choices. We do enjoy the quiet, bring our own towels and have breakfast nearby and like I said this place does have its good points. If the owners read this review I would like to make a suggestion: Either lower your rates or improve your room amenities.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same except for 2 suites.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews