We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smoketown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Road Guest Home
Ranked #1 of 2 Smoketown B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the first two nights of our drive through America. When we arrived Dave and GAil were out but the door was open, a note left and we were told to make ourselves at home. Dave and Gail could not have been more hospitable, my only complaint would be the lack of tea/coffee making facilities, however this could be the American way. Breakfast was just simple continental style, cerel, yogurts, toast and jam and cake. Adequate though. Amish country should not be missed, a very interesting area and experiencing their way of life a pleasure.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Although we have been to Amish Country in the past this was our first stay at Gail & Daves Old Road Guest Home. What a truely wonderful place to stay. Gail suggested that we engage a personal guide and, maybe a dinner at an Amish home. We, all, thought that both would be interesting so Gail made the arangements and, as expected, both the tour and Amish dinner were interesting and enjoyable beyond out expectations. The Old Road Guest Home felt like home. The rooms were good size with very clean bathrooms. The coffee and light fare in the morning started our days off for us. After our daily tours, we spent every afternoon and early evenings enjoying the peace and quiet of the back yard and were quite surprised in seeing the blanket of fire flies every evening about dusk. I recommend this place highly.

Room Tip: Our room was in front and quiet. There is a top floor room in the back with it's own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tffob3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

As soon as we entered this quaint home (and it really is the owners' family home), we felt very welcomed. The livingroom was spacious and very comfortable. Our room on the first floor was comfortable. Nice to have our own private bathroom, albiet a bit small. But it was immaculate with all the amenities. The owners, Gail and Dave, were very hospitable and very helpful in spending time with us showing us interesting places to go, which we took advantage of. The continental breakfast each morning was just right to start our day. Gail was most kind in refreshing our room by making our bed and bringing new towels. The only negative for us was the soft mattress. All in all, we would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Virginia USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

i highly recommend this Guest House. I recently stayed there as part of a group of 12 ladies. The hosts are very welcoming, offering helpful suggestions for things to do during our stay. The living room makes a great place to gather at the start and at the end of your day. Each bedroom has its own bathroom....a definite plus for us ladies!!!
Excellent and convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafterdgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is my second visit to the Old Road Guest Home. It is a welcoming and pleasant environment with very gracious proprietors.

I first came there last year because I wanted the charm of a guest home but with a room with two twin beds. They have one room with this option, which is very nice. It is on the ground level, which is helpful if you're travelling with a person who needs to avoid stairs.

They have a pretty garden in back with several chairs/benches, which can be pleasant to sit in to read a book or just enjoy the view.

It is close to the Lancaster outlets but far enough away where you feel the Lancaster County charm.

An added charm is that you can sit on the porch and see an occasional Amish buggy drive by and hear the clip-clop of the horses hooves.

I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the ground level (for those who want to avoid stairs). One has two twin beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Comfortable, clean rooms. Warm friendly and very helpful hosts. Beautiful gardens and large backyard. Ample parking. Perfect location. Excellent value! Highly recommended. Will stay here every time I am in this area!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth VA
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is my second time staying at Old Road Guest Home, and it certainly felt like home without any of the work of being at home. The hosts, Dave and Gail,are so friendly and helpful, and the "home" is beautiful inside and out. Our group of twelve women rented the whole house for three nights and all of us hated to leave.

Room Tip: If you want single beds, there is one room downstairs with those. Otherwise, all rooms have queen b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smoketown
3.1 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Amish Country
Comfort Suites Amish Country
#14 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#2 of 3 in Bird in Hand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Road Guest Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Road Guest Home

Property: Old Road Guest Home
Address: 2501 Old Philadelphia Pike, P. O. Box 74, Smoketown, PA 17576
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Smoketown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smoketown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing