We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exquisite Experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smethport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Smethport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We walked in the door Wednesday evening and our first thoughts were Amazing and Awesome! Host and Hostess Ross and Jovanna met us at the door and welcomed us into their finely-furnished mansion and we felt at home immediately. The mansion, one of several surviving from the lumber and oil booms of the 1800s, has been lovingly cared for and exquisitely furnished with many antiques, paintings and other interesting pieces. Jovanna showed us coffee, hot chocolate, wine and snacks that were available at any time in the main room. Then she led us to the front bedroom, the Dr Freeman room. The room was furnished with a large comfortable queen bed, fireplace, big screen TV, wireless internet and a totally modern bathroom. The room, although overlooking the street, was very quiet and dark and we enjoyed a restful night. Jovanna prepared an extraordinary three course gourmet breakfast that we totally enjoyed in the elegant dining room. The coffee was the best and there was plenty of it as Ross kept filling our cups. He had tested coffee for over a year and found the best to serve. I had to agree that it was very fine. Although we couldn’t stay long in the morning, we were glad that we took time for Ross’s short history and tour of the house. One interesting bit of history is that Henry Hamlin, one of the town’s residents, was at one time the wealthiest banker of a private bank in the US. His daughter was resident of this mansion after her marriage to Rev. John McCandless. We regret that we did not have time to sit and relax in the cozy rooms downstairs but will have to think about when to return and hear more history as well. Note for dinner: We ate dinner the evening before downtown at the Corner Pizza Company. This is not your average pizzeria but a very impressive restaurant with artisan pizzas as well as fine entrees. The staff was welcoming and professional and food was served in a reasonable amount of time for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: I doubt if anyone would have a complaint against any room here! We had a tour of the house and the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 406 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

Just stayed again at the Mansion Bed and Breakfast in Smethport. I don't know how but the visit was even better than the first. Breakfast was amazing, the room was amazing, the bed was amazing and on and on. Even more special was the fact that the snow was brushed off my car in the morning. All comforts are considered. You can't stay anywhere else!!

Janet

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My roots are in Smethport. We have stayed at the Mansion District Inn twice and will stay there every time we go up. It is truly an amazing experience. The rooms are very comfortable and we are always welcome to enjoy the downstairs fireplace and beautiful furniture and surroundings. Coffee is always available. Breakfast is unbelievable. Jovanna is a wonderful chef. I have never eaten anything so delicious in my life. I looked forward to breakfast every day. Shortly after we started breakfast, Ross began sharing the history of Smethport and surrounding areas. We found it very interesting and learned so much. He is very knowledgeable and makes it exciting. We will continue to spend time in Smethport and would not spend it anywhere but the Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast.
Thank you Ross and Jovanna!
Karen Edwards

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had a wonderful holiday stay and enjoyed all that the wilds of PA had to offer. Ross and Jovanna are great hosts with a wealth of knowledge about the area. Breakfast couldn't have been better and the amenities top notch. Thanks again, Chris Sapinsky

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csapinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Experience extraordinaire from bedrooms to the living areas to the gourmet kitchen and gourmet breakfasts. Owners live on site and have refinished and decorated with exquisite tastes which meld together the period era and modern conveniences. The owners each use their own honed skills to the max. Jovanna is a gourmet chef with trained staff under her watchful eye serving 3 course breakfasts befitting the most discerning tastes. Ross utilizes his skills as a craftsman combined with Jovanna's tastes with a team approach that works wonderfully to every detail. We had up to 9 of extended family staying over the course of 3 days. Ross was a history teacher so the lessons on the local history that directly relate to this stately mansion are molded in story lessons at breakfast. Let's put it this way, there is no doubt we will stay again when visiting family and friends in the area. I just hope my timing coincides with the occasional cooking class offered. Yes you will experience some new tastes and beg for recipes. We experienced the 1st of season snow storm and Ross not only cleaned off all the drives but all the guests cars right down to scraping windows as well as offering valet service. Not sure how the chickens faired outside on the estate grounds but the aviary inside is music to the ears. Who knew Smethport has such riches today for us to experience that only the elite blue bloods of the day could envelop themselves in. We now do!

Room Tip: This is a B&B so its not a kids place or a resort with pools. Its more than a place its an exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

First time staying at the Mansion District Inn and can't say enough good things about the experience. Ross and Jovanna are extremely gracious hosts and are more than willing to share the history of the home, the town and the area. Breakfast was outstanding and the room above expectations. We will certainly be making a return trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucestandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I've stayed at the Mansion District Inn on numerous occasions over the past few years. It is a great, historic home that is well maintained and well run. Each suite is different, but all are very comfortable. The hosts, Ross and Jovanna, are very welcoming and make visitor comfort their first priority. Bring you appetite because every morning the gormet 3 course breakfast will amaze you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 905 W Main St, Smethport, PA 16749-1040
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean County > Smethport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Smethport
Price Range: $105 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion District Inn Suites Bed & Breakfast is situated in the heart of historic Smethport, PA's Mansion District; deep in the Pennsylvania Wilds. Experience exquisite Victorian opulence in the magnificent 1891 Hamlin-McCandless mansion. Enjoy your gourmet breakfast beside the fireplace in the spectacular Golden Oak dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing