We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort & Class with History”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smethport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Smethport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We count ourselves lucky to have had the opportunity to stay here a few times over the past year, and we are so thankful we found this gem. It's not just that the rooms and beds are so comfortable (they are) and that the home is beautiful and full of wonderful conversation pieces (it is). It is the personal touch that the proprietors put into everything they do that makes it so special. Sitting with coffee or a glass of wine and chatting with Jovanna and Ross about the history of the Smethport area or their present-day plans is a treat for sure. And the crowning touch is the picture-perfect, healthy and fresh breakfast, which is artwork itself. After visiting a more rural part of Smethport for the past 20 years, meeting Ross & Jovanna and staying at the MDI has given us even more great memories to cherish of this beautiful region. Hope we'll be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jovanna P, Owner at Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

We are so glad to hear our home is your home away from home. We love to share the mansion with guests whether they are first time visitors or repeating guests such as yourself. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 405 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I arrived at Mansion District Inn B & B and were offered a lovely suite on the 2nd floor instead of our booked suite on the 3rd floor. Jovanna was an excellent hostess and her breakfasts were prepared to look extremely good and taste even better. As Ross was away visiting family she entertained us 'Ross' style with her knowledge of the history of the area and this particular B & B. There was a bottle of wine, coffee and tea available for all the guests to help themselves and our suite was spectacular, with a bedroom, kitchen, bathroom and living room. Jovanna was available to answer any questions we had and gave us excellent recommendations for things to see and places to eat dinner. We also loved the fact that she kept chickens in her backyard. We would definitely make a return visit if we find ourselves in this area again.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms on the second floor are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My daughter and I were welcomed not only by Ross but also a small blackboard had a message on it welcoming us. From there on it was trip down history lane with Ross sharing his endless knowledge of local history. I write for a magazine and his information was very helpful in filling is some blanks for me. I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone planning a trip to or through Smethport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keysyrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Ross and Jovanna have a house by the museum that is a delight. Stayed for two nights and slept like I was at home. Was back home for a reunion and got a chance to catch up with both of them for about a half hour during check-in. Will be my destination for all future trips to Smethport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanness1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We are repeat visitors to the Inn. You will see my other reviews, but wanted to add that this place still continues to really care about the visitors they serve -- first time or repeat guests. We did stay in a different room this time (top floor) and really enjoyed the two bedroom suite. The special touches always make it nicer with drinks, comfortable beds, snacks...etc. We had a friend staying in one of the self-service suites (annex to the Mansion) and that was equally as wonderful. I checked it out during the stay, and staying at the annex was very peaceful and near the lake. Great studio apt with a full kitchen and a ton of space. It was likely as enjoyable as the Main Mansion --- and you can add breakfast on at the main house if you desire. Hands down the nicest and most interesting B&B in McKean Co -- and from most that we have stayed at. Great, great stay.

Room Tip: We've stayed in a variety, and honestly like them all for their unique touches. The upstairs 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlc232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Inn on our Honeymoon, which was completely unplanned, but the best choice we could have made! Not only were Jovanna and Ross extremely accommodating to us being last minute and all, but Jovanna even helped us plan the rest of the trip! The breakfast they prepared the next morning was exceptional, and the history of Smethport and the mansion Ross told us of was very interesting. I cannot say enough things about how wonderful our stay was!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the MDI and my wife and I and our two children had a relaxing experience. We loved Jovanna's cooking and Ross was an outstanding host. We felt like part of their family and will return in July of 2014 for another "reunion."

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 905 W Main St, Smethport, PA 16749-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean County > Smethport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Smethport
Price Range: $105 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion District Inn Suites Bed & Breakfast is situated in the heart of historic Smethport, PA's Mansion District; deep in the Pennsylvania Wilds. Experience exquisite Victorian opulence in the magnificent 1891 Hamlin-McCandless mansion. Enjoy your gourmet breakfast beside the fireplace in the spectacular Golden Oak dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing