We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Smethport
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Smethport Motel(Smethport)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Mid-Town Motel(Port Allegany)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn(Bradford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westline Inn(Westline)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
400
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastmansion districtlocal historybreakfast was deliciouswealth of knowledgebiscottiwonderful stayeach morningout of this worldperfect hoststhe entire experienceworth the tripfresh eggsjacuzzi tubkinzua bridgehistory lessoncookies
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 407 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We can't say enough good about our experience at the Mansion District Inn Bed and Breakfast. Ross and Jovanna are exceptional hosts who are not only invested in making a stay comfortable and memorable, but they are also invested in the community and so can provide the traveler with connections that ensure his or her time in Smethport is exceptional.

The home, setting, bedding and dining are as good as you'll find anywhere, but as with any B&B stay, the innkeepers make the stay.

If you're looking for a little-explored but wonderful location to hideaway at for a few days, you can't beat a trip to the Inn and Smethport.

Sam, Niki and Colter Dean

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deansam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansionDistrictInn, Owner at Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

We love to share Smethport, the PA Wilds region and the McCandless Mansion with our guests. It's our goal to treat you to a one-of-a-kind experience that you'll want to share with your friends and family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our stay was one we'll not forget! If your into antiques, you'll love it. The Porter's are
fascinating hosts & aim to please. We have never experienced such luxuriest bedding.
The songbirds in a bright sunny window are a delight to see. This was a unique
experience and makes for good conversation back home.
The Snyder's

Room Tip: Choose a mid-priced room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank felicia46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast was an absolute delight in every way. The Porters treated us like family, and were very accommodating to our special dietary needs. The breakfast was lavish and leisurely. The home was immaculate and our room was very comfortable - full of interesting furniture, décor, artwork and reading material. It has a wonderful feeling of the past, but all of the amenities of modern technology. We also found the room rates to be extremely reasonable.

One day is not nearly enough time to experience all of the rooms and fascinating surroundings. The enclosed porch with all of the lovely birds was just delightful! The town of Smethport is lovely, and the Porters are a wealth of information regarding the history of the Mansion and of Smethport.

There are a variety of rooms to choose from in the Mansion. If you need your own kitchenette or prefer a Jacuzzi, those are available.

The Mansion District Inn is the ideal model of a Bed & Breakfast in every way. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Look on line and if you have any questions, call the Porters, who will be more than happy to help you.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This stunning mansion provides a wonderful glimpse of the past glory of the lumber/coal/railroading region of Pennsylvania with all the modern comforts, The terrific innkeepers (Ross & Jovanna) are gracious and knowledgeable. They will not only serve you a truly wonderful 3-course breakfast, but also help you with local dining recommendations (and reservations), and tips on area sights.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansionDistrictInn, Owner at Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Our goal is to envelop our guests in rich 1890s Victoriana culture with a 21st Century twist. Each aspect of your stay is to be part of a unique-of-a-kind experience. We want each breakfast to be an anticipated event. The Smethport-Pennsylvania Wilds region has deep local history waiting to be discovered. Thank you for joining us in Smethport for your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Very nice house and very welcoming owners. They went out of their way to make our stay special. The Smethport area is very nice and has a lot to offer. You won't find a better place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews