We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a Kind !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smethport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Smethport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our stay was one we'll not forget! If your into antiques, you'll love it. The Porter's are
fascinating hosts & aim to please. We have never experienced such luxuriest bedding.
The songbirds in a bright sunny window are a delight to see. This was a unique
experience and makes for good conversation back home.
The Snyder's

Room Tip: Choose a mid-priced room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank felicia46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 402 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast was an absolute delight in every way. The Porters treated us like family, and were very accommodating to our special dietary needs. The breakfast was lavish and leisurely. The home was immaculate and our room was very comfortable - full of interesting furniture, décor, artwork and reading material. It has a wonderful feeling of the past, but all of the amenities of modern technology. We also found the room rates to be extremely reasonable.

One day is not nearly enough time to experience all of the rooms and fascinating surroundings. The enclosed porch with all of the lovely birds was just delightful! The town of Smethport is lovely, and the Porters are a wealth of information regarding the history of the Mansion and of Smethport.

There are a variety of rooms to choose from in the Mansion. If you need your own kitchenette or prefer a Jacuzzi, those are available.

The Mansion District Inn is the ideal model of a Bed & Breakfast in every way. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Look on line and if you have any questions, call the Porters, who will be more than happy to help yo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This stunning mansion provides a wonderful glimpse of the past glory of the lumber/coal/railroading region of Pennsylvania with all the modern comforts, The terrific innkeepers (Ross & Jovanna) are gracious and knowledgeable. They will not only serve you a truly wonderful 3-course breakfast, but also help you with local dining recommendations (and reservations), and tips on area sights.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansionDistrictInn, Owner at Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Our goal is to envelop our guests in rich 1890s Victoriana culture with a 21st Century twist. Each aspect of your stay is to be part of a unique-of-a-kind experience. We want each breakfast to be an anticipated event. The Smethport-Pennsylvania Wilds region has deep local history waiting to be discovered. Thank you for joining us in Smethport for your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Very nice house and very welcoming owners. They went out of their way to make our stay special. The Smethport area is very nice and has a lot to offer. You won't find a better place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband, myself and my mom had the 2 bedroom. It was perfect! Very comfortable. Jovanna and Ross were welcoming when we arrived. They made us feel comfortable, including introducing us to other guests. The breakfast was very good, "gourmet". Loved it. My sister-in-law and her husband were also with us and had the Dr Freeman room, which was beautiful. They were very comfortable as well. We

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyd1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansionDistrictInn, Owner at Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Great to have you visit Pennsylvania Wilds region, historic Smethport, and the Mansion District Inn. It's really important to be attentive to each of our guests experience while at the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If traveling anywhere near Smethport, PA you will not find a more enjoyable stay than with Ross and Jovanna in this magnificent late 1800's Victorian Mansion. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was the finest I have had in years!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansionDistrictInn, Owner at Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and thoughtful comments of the Mansion District Inn. Our goal at MDI is to give each of our guests a "one of a kind" experience by immersing each visitor in the lifestyle and opulence of the 1891 "owners" of the McCandless Mansion. Every detail is important to us and it is our goal to give you a totally unique lodging experience that you will want to share with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place has tons of character. The breakfast is so Yum you'll be glad you stayed here. Bed was comfy. Our room was on route 6 and there was some noise but they do all they can to make it comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebaAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansionDistrictInn, Owner at Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

The Mansion District Inn wants each guest’s visit to be an unparalleled, distinctive experience. It is our goal to immerse guests in the opulent lifestyle of Smethport’s elite in the 1890’s.

Recently there has been an increase in Marcellus shale equipment traffic throughout the western Pennsylvania. During the summer the air conditioners neutralize noise. It's now cooler and the air conditioners have been removed.

The comfort of our guests is extremely important to us. As a result of your comments we have been working on additional soundproofing measures as well as supplying optional white noise sound in rooms to provide a restful, consistent sleeping environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smethport
14.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Bradford
150 reviews
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford
18.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bradford Inn
19.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olean
20.5 mi away
The New Lantern Motel
The New Lantern Motel
#1 of 2 in Allegany
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 905 W Main St, Smethport, PA 16749-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean County > Smethport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Smethport
Price Range: $105 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion District Inn Suites Bed & Breakfast is situated in the heart of historic Smethport, PA's Mansion District; deep in the Pennsylvania Wilds. Experience exquisite Victorian opulence in the magnificent 1891 Hamlin-McCandless mansion. Enjoy your gourmet breakfast beside the fireplace in the spectacular Golden Oak dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing