We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smethport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Smethport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hospitality”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My daughter and I spent 1 night at the Mansion District Inn on the way back from dropping my son at college. MDI is exceptional in every way - the public rooms are dramatic, yet very comfortable. Our bedrooms (we had the third floor suite) were amazing - terrific antique furniture, incredibly comfortable beds, total quiet. And I can't say enough about the hospitality of Jovanna and Ross. They are the most welcoming innkeepers that I have encountered over many years of staying at B&Bs, both extremely interesting themselves, and also very interested in their guests. As we were the only guests at the inn that night, Jovanna gave us a tour of all of the rooms and we were able to choose among them, which was very accommodating. We immediately felt totally at home in their lovely inn. Ross and Jovanna were also very knowledgeable about the Smethport area, as well as nearby towns. The breakfast was outstanding - homemade biscotti, broiled grapefruit and pancakes with local blueberries - easily the best meal of our trip. I plan to stop in Smethport and MDI whenever I have the chance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howdypartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansionDistrictInn, Manager at Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
We loved your spirit of adventure and discovery to evolve an initial college trip into a creative road experience. We feel honored that your family's sojourn incorporated a visit to Smethport, Pennsylvania Wilds and the Mansion District Inn. - Ross & Jovanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
202
13
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Do NOT pass up on this wonderful gem! The hosts, Jovanna and Ross, are absolutely lovely, and if you do choose to stay, be sure to take advantage of the breakfast each morning. Seriously, the breakfast is out of this world. 3 courses, all homemade recipes, and with fresh ingredients right form the garden that will keep you filled until dinner. The Mansion itself is furnished in beautiful Victorian decor, and just taking a tour of the Mansion is a treat in itself. The rooms offer all of the amenities any person could need. Free wifi, flat screen tvs, a/c, refrigerators (with complementary beverages), extremely comfy beds, and even bathrobes. The shower in the Freeman room is incredible, and the Hamlin suite features a full kitchen with a breakfast bar. The kitchen had every appliance/tool you could think of to use to cook, along with complementary teas/coffees/cocoas. For all that you get, the price is very reasonable.

Whether you're just passing through and need a place to rest your head, or you're staying for weeks at a time, the Mansion District Inn B&B is the perfect place in town.

Room Tip: The Freeman is a single room, but is the most updated- the bathroom is fantastic (especially the sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansionDistrictInn, Owner at Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks so much, Elizabeth, for your kind comments about the Mansion District Inn. We really enjoyed having you as a guest at the Inn. I'm really glad you enjoyed Jovanna's breakfasts. She is a "food artist" that blends unique flavors and experiences with visual artistry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millerstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We chose this B&B for our 45th Wedding Anniversary as we were traveling through Northern Pennsylvania. It was a unique and beautiful mansion filled with interesting furnishings. Both Jovanna and Ross treated us like family and as if we had known them for years. Our room was very comfortable and private and the bed linens were super soft as was the mattress. Breakfast was a treat and they made us feel so special. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emlenton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stay at B&B's always and this one is one of the best. We were welcomed by Jovanna and Ross so graciously and felt at home instantly. They were so informative about the area and sights to see and the history of the area. Even making dinner reservations for us. The inn is a treat for the eye so be sure to wonder about and look closely at all it has to offer. The Dr Freeman room was warm and welcoming with a very comfortable bed and the most fantastic shower you could ever want. Breakfast was a real treat. Homemade biscotti, roasted grapefruit (it was wonderful), applewood smoked bacon and omelets made with goodies from the garden. Outstanding B&B!!!!!

Room Tip: Easy to locate in Smethport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muncher53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I only stayed one night, but we really enjoyed our stay. The bed was very comfy, and the room was beautifully decorated, with exceptional linens. There was a small fridge in our closet with drinks in it, and there were snacks in a central upstairs hall. Our room (the Freeman room, I think) had a shower with about 9 nozzles so you could get a back massage or a rain shower or whatever you like. There was a hairdryer and sundries in the bathroom cabinet, and an interesting book to read on the mantle above the fireplace. The fireplace is adjustable to have a glow with no heat, if you like, in the summer. The room had an individual air conditioner, and it was nice and cool when we arrived (even though I don't think the rest of the house was as cool in temperature). The whole house is beautiful, from the lovely wide wrap around front porch with seating (see photos) to the beautiful solarium overlooking the back garden. The solarium had a birdcage with finches and canaries in it. They serenaded us over breakfast, which is in the next room. The dining room had amazing wood everywhere. The food served for breakfast was prepared fresh for us, and served in three courses. First, a soda bread with blackberries and maple syrup drizzle, second was the fruit course - grilled grapefruit, which had a great flavour, and the third course was an omelette with our choice of ingredients, and more fruit, and was garnished with a flower.
Our hostess was very helpful with suggestions for what to do in the area, and did take my food allergies into consideration when making breakfast.
There is parking around the back of the property, but it was not signed (we just guessed correctly). I think there is street parking in front as well.
My only caveat is to try to plan your arrival time within the expected time, as we were earlier than we thought we would be, and we had to wait on the porch for a little while (not a hardship, as it is a nice spot). (see photos)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansionDistrictInn, Owner at Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thanks so much for your constructive suggestions.

We have ordered signage for the parking area so there will be no confusion.

As innkeepers its sometimes tricky to balance guest arrivals and the need to purchase supplies. We usually slip out sometime after breakfast for a shopping trip and schedule our arrival to be prior to our guests arrival at the inn. We budget our time to make sure we are back at the Inn prior to the suggested time of arrival pre-determined with our guests. We keep our cell numbers handy to our guests on the porch so we can communicated.

Thanks again for your visit to Smethport and the Mansion District Inn. We love sharing our area with our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Your review (200 character minimum) I am a Smethport native, and I chose the Mansion District Inn and B&B to stay at during my mother's 100th birthday celebration. All I can say is my husband and I loved it. Jovanna and Ross are so wonderful. The breakfast is an "event" as Jovanna described it to me. I am a pretty critical guest and have been in dozens of B&Bs across the US--these folks are great. We will be back. OH--love the dogs, love the chickens, love the birds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were just looking for a clean, comfortable place as a base for a long weekend, and found so much more. The inn is comfortable, beautifully furnished, the art plentiful and interesting, the rooms have everything you could possibly need, the innkeepers are gracious and attentive. I'd be happy to spend a month reading books while sitting on the porch. We are a couple, but the inn would be just as wonderful for families, friends or single travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smethport
14.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Bradford
148 reviews
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford
14.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bradford Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olean
20.5 mi away
The New Lantern Motel
The New Lantern Motel
#1 of 2 in Allegany
44 reviews
18.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 905 W Main St, Smethport, PA 16749-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean County > Smethport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Smethport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion District Inn Suites Bed & Breakfast is situated in the heart of historic Smethport, PA's Mansion District; deep in the Pennsylvania Wilds. Experience exquisite Victorian opulence in the magnificent 1891 Hamlin-McCandless mansion. Enjoy your gourmet breakfast beside the fireplace in the spectacular Golden Oak dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing