We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smethport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Smethport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DunmorePA
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at many B & B's while traveling by motorcycle. This place was not only magnificent in its beauty but also a great location with exceptional hosts. If you like the outdoors, north central pa is beutiful expescially by motorcycle. Smethport is just one of those great small towns with beautiful homes and convienient restuarant and a great central location when sightseeing. So for us it was perfect to just park the bike after a long day of riding and take in the granduer of this B & B and yet feel as comfortable as being in your own home!! The breakfasts by the way were wonderful ... I can't say my husband gets that good at home ...so Jovanna spoiled him with hers!! Ross is so interesting to talk to and they both make you feel comforrtable and are very accomadating. Our room was huge and our bathroom and everything was great ... even had a mini fridge in the room with complimentry beverages...it's just what you want in a B & B!!! This was a great find!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseDunmorePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
202
13
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We returned this month for another great stay while in the "Pennsylvania Wilds" area of the state. Smethport is such a hidden gem. We had some business to take care of in the area as well, but it's a great place to just relax and unwind -- especially this time of the year.

The Mansion and it's proprietors, Jovanna and Ross Porter, were just as hospitable and enjoyable to stay with as they always are. It's even better then being at home -- great and interesting rooms, tons of local history and information, fantastic breakfasts, extra amenities (snacks and beverages in room, tv and wireless...robes and extra blankets etc).

You may pay a little more in the area for the stay, but for an overnight or even extended stay (as ours was this trip), the comfort of this very beautiful home that has been thoughtfully restored with so much interest is something that we highly recommend. Even on the morning that we skipped breakfast, Jovanna left a basket of fresh muffins and fruit for us to take along during the day. The more you dig around this area, the more you'll come to appreciate all that it has to offer and this is a great spot to just unwind and relax and be pampered. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlc232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I arrived at the Mansion District Inns where I was given a tour of my first floor suite which was chosen specifically for me due to some physical limitations. From that point on, it was clear that accomodating the guests of the inns is paramount to these owners. The rooms were comfortable and efforts were made to ensure we had what we needed - including ample heat, cable television, wireless internet, and even a variety of sodas and other drinks in the refrigerator. It was a wonderful experience and I recommended this to my other colleagues the next day.

Room Tip: The downtown location was just perfect for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juju034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

The Inn is beautiful and well-kept inside and out, a very comfortable stay. The inn-keepers are welcoming, interesting and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerievm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in canada
Level 5 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We decided to take a fall leaves tour and went on the PA website. This B&B intrigued me from the moment we looked at their web site. I emailed them for availabiltiy and immediately received a response back from Jovanna with which rooms she had available and settled on the McCandless Suite. Upon arrival Jovanna was very hospitalble and accomodating and we felt very welcomed. The accomodations surpassed our expectations . Clean, comfortable, decorated with amazing detail...no matter where you look in your room or home there was always something to intrigue you. We loved the history of the house, of the homeowners and of the town..especially knowing that Wolly Willy came from here..took us back to our childhoods..lol.

Our breakfast with the other guest was delicious and friendly and filling..Coffee fantastic!!

We would strongly encourage you to make this a stay, the area and drive is beautifull and Ross & Jovanna Porter really make this house and town come alive with passion.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1windy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I have stayed at the Mansion Inn on several occasions since June. This bed & breakfast is owned and operated by Ross & Jovanna Porter, two of the most iinteresting and kind people you will ever have the pleasure to meet. Their beautiful and historic mansion never ceases to amaze and delight its visitors. Your breakfast is always top notch, with an opportunity to visit and chat with Ross & Jovanna. If you are fortunate enough to stay at the Mansion District, it will leave a lasting memory with thoughts of returning. I know I always do.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Friendly and engaging hosts, good food, and a great old house - what more could you ask for? We especially enjoyed the local history and the friendly and thorough help with directions to spots of local interest. It was also refreshing to talk to folks who were knowledgeable about local economic and political issues and actively working for positive change in the community.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave52619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smethport
14.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Bradford
148 reviews
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford
14.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bradford Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olean
20.5 mi away
The New Lantern Motel
The New Lantern Motel
#1 of 2 in Allegany
44 reviews
18.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Mansion District Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 905 W Main St, Smethport, PA 16749-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean County > Smethport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Smethport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion District Inn Suites Bed & Breakfast is situated in the heart of historic Smethport, PA's Mansion District; deep in the Pennsylvania Wilds. Experience exquisite Victorian opulence in the magnificent 1891 Hamlin-McCandless mansion. Enjoy your gourmet breakfast beside the fireplace in the spectacular Golden Oak dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing