We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Applebutter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Applebutter Inn
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Applebutter in for our anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised by how quaint and wonderful the Inn was. After reading the reviews below, I was somewhat hesitant, but found the Inn to be just wonderful. Our room was very clean and well taken care of. The Inn is so quaint and cute, it was adorable. Our breakfast was delicious. The cook was just wonderful and served our meal quickly and with a smile.
We never saw the Innkeeper, but that was fine, we were there to get away and be alone!!
We were very pleased with our entire experience. I would highly recommend the Applebutter Inn.
Carolyn Muckle

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

My sister and I just spent 3 nights at the Applebutter Inn. Checked out yesterday in fact.
Now, we're seasoned travellers, who like quirky places...old is good, as long as it's clean. It's that simple.

We checked in Saturday afternoon...well, we picked up a key left for us on the front desk...no one around. It was actually Monday before we saw anyone other than Betty, the sweet grandmotherly breakfast cook.

Our room...#8...Room dusty, cobwebs between beds, quilts that need to by dry-cleaned, stains on carpets and chairs, a faulty showerhead, a squeeky! bathroom door, a bathroom fan thickly coated in dark grey dust, spots of mold on the bathroom wallpaper, peeling wallpaper border, having used wet towels that were hung (by us) to dry, re-folded while wet and hung up for use the next shower. Mmmm, damp, musty towels - yay!

It was Monday night before we saw (the back of) the owner. He was "busy" looking at paperwork in the office. When you're ignored by the Owner upon entering his inn, that's a huge clue! All he had to do was turn around and say hello!!

But here's what has made us angry...We were visiting from out of the country...no cell phone service. When my mother tried numerous times to reach us at the Inn, she got no answer. Eventually she did get through and left a message with the owner. When she didn't hear back from us, she left another message with him. Oddly enough, we never received any messages...no sticky note on our door or left at the main desk - NOTHING!! We found out about it when we got home! Thanks a lot!

Courteous and Professional? Hmmm...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank llb11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2015

We are a small inn and we are often out doing things rather than just sitting at a desk. We use the same policy as many other Inns regarding towels. If towels are hung we do not replace them if they are on the floor we replace them. Regarding dust; we do outr best to keep up with dust but unlike a lot of other Inns we have lots of pictures and other items but we try and keep up as best we can. We are unaware of the ability to get cell service at the Inn but we do have a telephone line that can de used for outside access to each room with instructions in each room. If any concerns are brought to our attention we do our best to correct them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Applebutter Inn for one night while visiting relatives in the area. The room had obviously not been upgraded for some time. The bath towels were thin and stained. The silk floral wreath on the wall was old and faded and should have been replaced years ago. The quilt on the bed was so worn that the threads were unraveling. There were ants in the bathroom. We were expecting a quaint old Inn, not one where the decor and bedsheets were so old that they needed to be thrown out. There was a "tip" envelope on the dresser that was so old it was torn. Just a few upgrades would make this place worth a repeat visit. We had a hard time checking in, as there was no one at the desk. The resident cat was very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelgal038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband and I recently spent time in this quaint little inn (while taking advantage of the nearby shopping centre in Grove City). The inn was very clean and great attention to detail was given to keep it in alignment with the time periods of the rooms. We stayed in one of the larger rooms (The Flower Garden) which had a very comfortable king size bed.
One area which we did find a bit unsettling was that when we arrived at 6p.m. we were not even asked to register, and the gentleman behind the desk appeared rather reserved. After that first 3 minutes there was no one available at the front desk for the remainder of our stay. There always seemed to be a note on the desk stating that the person in charge had stepped out for a few minutes and if there was a problem we were to call a phone number left on the desk. We wondered if indeed there was an emergency who was on the premises running the Inn? Also , aside from a booklet in the room (mainly with menus from nearby restaurants) there was no one to question about the area. We did get this information however from the proprietor of a lovely restaurant next door to the inn. The last point I might make would to be to buy a new toaster for the poor woman ,who came in to provide breakfast in the morning (between 7-8:30). All in all, if you enjoy solitude (perhaps a day of reading) and a trip back to a more innocent time, this is a lovely lay over.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sazanneannne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

we visited for a long weekend just before christmas and had the most wonderful stay. four of us in two rooms which were clean and tastefully decorated. it was hard to find but very handy for slippery rock university. also a great base for visiting the mall and local shops. breakfast was a bit basic but dont hold that against this cute inn.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ippyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Applebutter Inn in late June for one night. We loved the room in the historic house, and the price was very reasonable at $99/night.

Location: on the main road heading south out of Slippery Rock, about one mile due south of downtown. Unfortunately, this beautiful old building is now surrounded by unsightly suburban growth (big box houses in new treeless developments).

The owner/manager is an oddball -- in some ways was friendly towards us (lent us the inn's umbrella for our long walk uphill into town on a rainy night). But he suggested we take the "scenic walk" entailing picking up a path off of Rocket Rd. rather than walk up the main drag. The path leads into the Slippery Rock U. campus. OK -- but the path was very hard to find and was thickly wooded -- a little bit stressful since we weren't sure that we had gone the right way! And if we had been wearing decent shoes, we would have been a mess, all the puddles we had to ford. However, this long route into town did eventually land us there. I think the guy might have some sort of passive-aggressive streak, though.

The room, the Old Forge, was beautiful and comfortable and full of interest.

The breakfast was served up by the kindest old woman, but was pretty disappointing. Coffee just OK, ONE slice of toast (!), with a bacon/cheese omelette that was burnt on the outside and used American cheese instead of real cheese. The other choices were simply "eggs" or french toast.

Altogether, I think I'd stay there again, if for no other reason than I couldn't locate another interesting place to stay in the town.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAHenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slippery Rock
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Slippery Rock
8.6 mi away
Monroe Heights Hotel
Monroe Heights Hotel
#4 of 4 in Grove City
195 reviews
7.8 mi away
Terra Nova House B&B
Terra Nova House B&B
#1 of 3 in Grove City
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applebutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applebutter Inn

Address: 666 Centreville Pike, Slippery Rock, PA 16057-3006
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Slippery Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Slippery Rock
Price Range: $110 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Applebutter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Nestled in the rolling green meadows of rural Western Pennsylvania, the Applebutter Inn offers a window to the past. Guests can experience the elegance of a more gracious bygone era, and still enjoy the luxury of today's comforts and pleasures. Breakfast is served at a quaint restaurant in town. There is a fabulous restaurant in the adjoining property. Each room is decorated with period antiques. There are several areas at the Inn where friends can meet, you can spend some quiet time, or just sit with someone special and watch the flames jump in the fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Applebutter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applebutter Hotel Slippery Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing