We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect/Relaxing time away with Family”
Review of Skytop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skytop Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skytop
Certificate of Excellence
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect/Relaxing time away with Family”
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Could not have asked for a more perfect environment to catch up with Family and relax. Every need we had was answered by the staff. Golf was excellent, hiking trails were terrific and the colors unbelievable. The food was outstanding and the service was very attentive and in a family atmosphere. There was an activity for every age that kept everyone occupied. Fabulous time was had by all. This will be a definite repeat for all of us.
Thank you Skytop.

Jim M.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skidusty88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    339
    103
    96
    69
See reviews for
485
394
2
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2010

The Skytop experience is beyond compare!! The physical setting in breathtaking in any season and the amenities and activities provide something for everyone! We have made many trips to Skytop over the years. Our kids were young when we first starting visiting and they have wonderful fond memories of the activities staff helping them to learn to ski and ice skate. My husband and I often come to Skytop for a welcome retreat from our hectic lives. We always know that the food, accommodations and service will be consistently excellent. The atmosphere is relaxed and unpretentious and we can chose to hike, golf, swim, boat, fish, skate, ski, climb a rock wall...or cozy up on the back porch with a good book and enjoy the idyllic mountain scenery and beautifully kept grounds. My husband says that as soon as we cross the bridge over Skytop Lake, he can feel his stress floating away.
Therefore, it was never any question that we would host a recent family reunion at Skytop. We loved the chance to introduce the next generation to the Skytop experience. Our reunion was large and the planning and execution of all aspects of the reunion weekend were seamless thanks to the wonderfully capable and caring staff. All of our needs (rooms, meals, celebrations etc) were met beyond our expectations and a great time was had by one and all.
If you haven't experienced all that is Skytop....you need to ....TODAY!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njlynn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

I've been going to Skytop since 1981. My children and grandchildren look forward to their annual visits. They are on the go from the minute they arrive. When younger, it was swimming, fishing, lawn bowling, hiking, horseshoes, bike riding, and tennis. The grandchildren, now in their teen years, are avid golfers and play 18 holes a day. The food is excellent, with plenty of choices for "picky" grandchildren. The rooms are redecorated periodically and are very pleasant. The views from around the property are often spectacular and the place is a photographer's joy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

My wife and I took our two children (8 and 11) to Skytop Lodge for the Spook-Tacular Haloween weekend. It was absolutely fantastic - the kids LOVED it. The property emphasizes attention to families, which is very nice. There is an activity room on the ground floor that has ping-pong tables (a big hit with my daughter), a mini-golf course (a bit hit with my son), video games, and billiards. Outside is a badminton court, archery range (a big hit with both kids), playground and other things we didn't have time to see. The room was large enough and the bathroom was fine. As noted by other reviewers, the rate included three meals per day in the main dining room (there were other plans as well that didn't include all the meals, I believe). For dinner, men are asked to wear a collared shirt and jacket and women and children are requested to dress appropriately - that was a very nice touch. Even so, the overall feel of the property is casual and fun. For the Spook-Tacular Weekend (the property has several themed weekends throughout the year), Pocono Paranormal Research was there. The first night they hosted a bonfire outside and told stories about some of their investigations and had others tell their stories as well. The second night, they hosted a "Ghost Hunting 101" talk and then took groups on mini ghost hunting trips through the lodge. They had investigated the lodge in 2009 and took us to the "hot spots" using their equipment (if you've seen "Ghost Hunters" on the SyFy Channel, this was the same type of thing). It was GREAT - the kids were thrilled. The property also has a "grand march" in the lobby every Saturday night were the staff and guests all dance through the lobby in a long line. During the Spook-Tacular Weekend, everyone did it in costumes. There was so much to do that my kids only spent about an hour in the pool which is usually their preferred activity (the property has indoor and outdoor pools). There were many other activities, but we didn’t have a chance to do them all. We have stayed at many other luxury properties that may have had larger bathrooms, bigger rooms and five-star dining which were fantastic as well, but they set out to be a certain type of property. I rated Skytop Lodge the highest in every category because it's the best in everything it intends to be - a fun resort that does everything it can to cater to families. (There was also a military appreciation event there during that weekend which is reason enough to provide Skytop with the highest rating.)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. From the moment we checked in, we loved the place. They upgraded us to a suite that was very roomy and comfortable. The stay comes with 3 meals a day. However, its no ordinary food. The food is fabulous. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all very gourmet. Breakfast and lunch has a buffet, but you can also order off the menu or do both - they don't care. The grounds are beautiful. There is a never ending list of activities to keep you busy. Everyone that works there is friendly and outgoing - not so common these days. We've traveled the world and have stayed at the finest places. Skytop is right up there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochester_NYTrunkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broad Channel,NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Although some what expensive the food, scenery and staff made this a great trip. The grounds are well maintained, the staff are friendly and very accomodating & there is plenty to do, or nothing, if you prefer to just sit and relax.The hiking trails vary in difficulty and are well laid out if you jusy want to go off and explore on your own. Because of it's size it is difficult to cover the entire property, the UTV excursion (take the two hour tour) covers a lot of ground which enables you to help decide what areas you may want to revisit.
The dinner dress code may not be for everyone, but it does help to add to the charm and makes it more than a vacation. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Skytop is an amazing place. the scenery is magnificent. the food is very good. the staff is great also. plenty for all to do. felt very safe, comfortable. wish we could've stayed longer!
can't wait to go back. both of my children said it was their favorite place to go and can't wait to return! Sled dog excursion was so much fun.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tierney1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skytop
10.9 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
7.8 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skytop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skytop Lodge

Property: Skytop Lodge
Address: One Skytop, Skytop, PA 18357-1099
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Skytop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skytop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skytop Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naturally InspiredExperience the ultimate retreat by visiting one of the most esteemed lodges in the country—Skytop. This grand historic estate features the very best in accommodations, fine dining and limitless recreation including the new Adventure Center at Skytop.You and your family can explore 5,500 pristine acres of inspiring natural beauty while enjoying a range of seasonal activities. Choose from the adventurous—like clay shooting and downhill skiing—to the serene—like nature hikes and full spa services. No matter your age, personality or desire, Skytop Lodge can make your next trip an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Skytop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skytop Hotel Skytop
Skytop Resort All Inclusive
Resort Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge Skytop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing