We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay, if you don't mind the price”
Review of Skytop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skytop Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skytop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2007

My wife and I recently stayed at Skytop Sat - Tues. I booked our room kind of late (2 weeks) through the Skytop website. The website only showed rooms available for Sun - Tues. I wanted a King room and online availability was for the Golf Inn. I booked the room even though the price seemed VERY high ($690 a night with American plan).

My e-mail confirmation told me we had received a 'free' upgrade to a stream cottage room.

For the next several days I attempted to call Skytop to see if I could arrive on Saturday. I was never able to reach a person at their reservation line even though I called different times of day over several days. The operator who directed my call warned me that I would probably not get a person on the line. Not a very good way to run a reservation desk if you ask me. Maybe OK for a $100 a night Holiday Inn, but not for $690 a night.

I got a call back after a couple of days and spoke with a woman about our reservation. She told me that our room was not available on Saturday, but that we could stay at the main Lodge on Saturday and then move to the cottage on Sunday. She also told me we could have the Lodge room for $425. I also asked about the Family Fun package, we would be golfing once and wanted to go shooting once. The package would cost us more than just paying for the golf ($150) and shooting ($100) so I skipped the package.

We arrived on Saturday about 2PM and our room was ready. The room in the Lodge was quite small. A single queen sized bed, a bath with just a shower stall (too small for a tub).

The next day we moved to the stream cottage and it was a vast improvement. This room was extremely nice, obviously a recent addition to the resort. We got a huge room with king size bed. A bath with a enormous tub ( my wifed loved it). A surround sound system with TV, VCR and DVD. And a gas fired fireplace. A porch with cushioned rockers, looking over the golf course. If you have the money, this is the room to stay in.

We enjoyed the meals at Skytop. The staff was friendly and helpful. All the food was good, the only exception was the Grouper fillet I had on the first evening. The fish was too salty and overcooked. I avoided fish after that and was very satisfied. At dinner you get an appetizer, soup, salad, entree, and dessert. Entree seelctions usually included a choice of fish, beef, chicken, other meat (like venison), and a vegetarian pasta. I had roast sirloin and a breast of chicken that were quite good.

For breakfast we kept to the buffet. Standard buffet fare with an omelet station. Plenty of fresh fruit.

We also had a light lunch at the buffet. The last day we golfed and grabbed food at the golf deli which was also on the meal plan. Got a couple hotdogs, chips, cookies and drink. Actually wish I had found this out earlier since I liked the lunch here.

We also enjoyed grabbing a lemonade and cookie at the afternoon tea service every day at 4PM.

An activities guide is printed for the week that lists any special activities. Each day has some kind of excersize class, a nature hike, maybe a kayaking class, and an evening music group, usually with dancing.

We went on a short nature hike with the resort's nature guy, John. John was very friendly and knowledgable about the local wildlife. Mostly he found frogs and salamanders on our hike.

On Monday it rained hard all day, so the scheduled events were cancelled. John did an indoor presentation on spiders, and they showed the movie 'Cars'. Overall the place ground to a halt when it rained.

Golf was very good, the course is not terribly challenging and was pretty quiet when we played. My wife loved the deer that kept roaming the course.

Shooting was great. The two guys who helped us were very patient and encouraging for a couple that never shot before.

Overall the resort was beautiful. It was not very busy while we were there, except for Saturday when they had a couple of weddings. There were a good number of children, but we still had an adult weekend. Don't be worried that this is a children's resort.

The staff was overall very good. The only place I felt pressure for a tip was at the golf course.

My only real complaint is the cost. I was asked by the staff how I felt about my stay and I mentioned the cost. His response was 'you'd pay that to go to DisneyWorld'. True, but this was no DisneyWorld.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CTTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,175 - 1,181 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2007

My family and I have been to this resort twice for family reunions. The first time was better than the second, We stayed in a cottage and it was amazing ! My second visit was not quite as good. I stayed in the hotel and paid a lot of money for a room that was not worth it, and the bathroom was very small. The food was not the best, although the breakfast and lunch buffets were very tasty! I loved the golf course though, and all of the wonderful activities made it worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lime9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

I agree that the location is beautiful and perhaps the reason the resort can begin to feel that $450++ dollars per night is warranted. HOwever, for the lodging this hotel is not a 5 * rating. I am thinking that perhaps we were given a poor room since our experience is nothing like what others are stating.

We stayed in the INN. Big mistake. The room was the SMALLEST hotel room we have ever stayed in. When we booked, the reservation operator assured us it would be 'spacious' for our family. The room was attractive but very WORN. The bathroom was in need of major repairs. The tile was dirty, the toilet unlevel and shaky and the tub/shower was broken where the faucet did not work correctly.

The bed linens were scant and worse then staying in a 1 * hotel. We had NO mattress cover with a small and ripped sheet.

Meals are included here. We ate dinner in the inn and the food was suboptimal. I believe they cook in bulk and let the food sit. VERY poor for the money we paid for our stay.

I have to say, I am terribly dissappointed and expected SO MUCH MORE.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank smgcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Just returned from an outstanding 40 person family reunion and wanted to give some tips for anyone planning the same. The lodge is historically elegant and a perfect place for staying (versus the golf inn and cabins) because we could always find someone in our group relaxing in the Pine Lobby or sitting out on the veranda on a rocking chair. The activities desk is on the lower level so we could easily book times for, archery, paddle etc. They have a wonderful map that gives you a lay of the land so you don't have to waste time wandering around in awe of all there is to offer. Lake swimming is behind the golf inn, canoeing, kayaking and rowboating is on the lake as you drive in. We had family dining together and were able to book hayrides to a lake lunch and evening bonfire as well as have and private dining in the Library ( we were also able to enjoy big band dancing in the Pine Lobby after private dinner). We scheduled all our golf and skeeting shooting times a couple months in advance, which is terrific given the number in our group. We had a ball skeet shooting, the instructors were terrific as everyone one of us old and young hit a clay!! The website is loaded with activities that are all inclusive with a reunion. Mountain biking to Indian Ladder Falls is a must as is a beautiful hike around the lake. The golf course was in great condition and everyone was very accommodating. We have been to Skytop 5 times now during all seasons and have never been dissapointed as the staff aims to please. The rooms vary in size but the beds were extremely comfortable and most views outstanding. Skytop summers take you back in time where everything is peaceful and lovely. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank climbeverymountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

We booked a 5-day vacation at Skytop last summer.

The place is breathtaking -- you really know you're on vacation when you get there. Service is terrific.

We stayed at the Inn and enjoyed it. The short walk between the Inn and Lodge is lovely -- if going over for a meal, it's the perfect way to build up an appetite and to wind down from the meal thereafter. The Inn's own restaurant is also great -- more of a sleek, modern resort restaurant feel than the Lodge's dining room, which is a bit hectic.

The summer facilities and recreational options are tremendous. We enrolled our son in the day camp and he had a terrific time.

The staff was also very helpful and flexible when we needed to check out early.

Stayed: August 2006
6  Thank vacationer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

My immediate family and extended family (mother, four brothers, their wives and children) have been visiting Skytop yearly for four or five years every winter for family reunions. This is really a great location for a family reunion with lots to do for adults and children. We stay in the cottages where we have adjoining rooms and let the kids play without disturbing other guests. The main hotel is very impressive, old but well kept up. We have not stayed in the main hotel. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. The meals are fun for a large group. We sit together and have the same waiters for the entire stay. They get to know the preferences of the kids and do a great job keeping them fed. After they finish eating (5 minutes or less) they disappear downstairs to the playroom area with golf, shuffleboard, ping pong etc. leaving the parents in peace.
The outdoor activities are the highlight with a great beginner's ski mountain for the kids, hiking trails, snow shoeing, skeet and many other activities. I highly recommend for a family gathering.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DEfamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2007

This resort is beautiful. We loved the historic lodge and grounds. Lot of activities but also a great place to relax. We enjoyed the spa treatments and all meals were excellent. Also, the lodge has a really nice bar with a vast selection of wine, beer, and single malt scotchs. This is a great resort for couples and for families. We look forward to going back in the Fall or Summer when the trees and flowers are in bloom or the leaves turn. Also, enjoyed the dinner at the Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank swiftlysaid38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skytop
10.9 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,487 reviews
7.8 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,548 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,329 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,079 reviews
13.7 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skytop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skytop Lodge

Address: One Skytop, Skytop, Barrett Township, PA 18357-1099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Barrett Township > Skytop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skytop
Price Range: $182 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skytop Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naturally InspiredExperience the ultimate retreat by visiting one of the most esteemed lodges in the country—Skytop. This grand historic estate features the very best in accommodations, fine dining and limitless recreation including the new Adventure Center at Skytop.You and your family can explore 5,500 pristine acres of inspiring natural beauty while enjoying a range of seasonal activities. Choose from the adventurous—like clay shooting and downhill skiing—to the serene—like nature hikes and full spa services. No matter your age, personality or desire, Skytop Lodge can make your next trip an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, SAS Ticati.COM, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Skytop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skytop Hotel Skytop
Skytop Resort All Inclusive
Resort Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge Skytop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing