We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,391)
Filter reviews
1,391 results
Traveler rating
671
413
125
109
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
671
413
125
109
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room golf course the cottages tea room ping pong adventure center ice skating zip line indoor pool hiking trails game room lawn bowling outdoor activities cookies horseback riding grounds are beautiful all ages
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,391 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2019

We spent two nights at Skytop in the main lodge in a Premium King Garden room. We enjoyed our stay and left feeling refreshed. The setting of Skytop is lovely. All of the staff were warm and friendly.

Our room was comfortable, a decent size and had a nice view of the garden in back. When the flowers are in bloom, the gardens must be beautiful. The other, front, side of the hotel also would have great views of Skytop Lake and the mountains. If I return, I would try to get a room with such views.

Our room had updated bed linens, drapes and bathroom, which was small but very functional. Some of the furniture seemed a little worn, but overall the room was very nice. A nice bonus for me was that plush robes are provided.

We did not have neighbors for our first night. On the second night, we had neighbors on both sides. The walls are thin so we could hear them initially. But I think everyone was respectful of the thin walls and kept noise to a minimum. We slept without interruption.

The lobby of the main lodge is charming. We love historic hotels. There are several dining options on-site. We ate our dinners in the Windsor dining room as they were great about accommodating a dairy allergy. Our first meal was just average. Our second meal was quite delicious. The breakfast buffet also was very good. Breakfast was included in our room rate. Otherwise, the buffet appears to cost $25/pp. If you prefer a lighter breakfast, there is a small coffee shop with pastries.

There are a myriad of activities at the resort, particularly on the weekends. I can only imagine the number of activities as the weather warms up. We did two hikes at the resort. You can get the trail map online or at the front desk. It lacks some detail but you can figure it out on the trail. Our first hike was 10 miles. We went to Goose Pond and then swung by the Indian Ladder waterfalls on the way back. From there we followed the Waterfall Ramble, which included a stream crossing to access the Trout Stream trail. Fun hike. The next day we visited the Leavitt Waterfall, maybe a 4 mile loop.

We also did the History Tour for $10/pp. We really enjoyed learning about the hotel's past. There is an observation deck that is accessed from the 4th floor of the main lodge. It was created during WWII so that volunteers could watch for enemy airplanes. From the deck, you get wonderful 360 degree views of the landscape.

We did not use the small spa on the 4th floor of the main lodge. But I went up and checked out the waiting area after hours. The lounge area seemed dated. I think the hotel should consider building an addition with a spa. It would be a nice enhancement.

Bottom line: We had a lovely, refreshing stay and were never bored.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank debg926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

So happy you enjoyed your time with us. You captured Skytop very nicely. We have much to offer for the Summer so we hope to see you return soon and enjoy!

All the best,
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

We stayed at Skytop Lodge in April, and it was wonderful. It's a bit like stepping back into time. The staff is top-notch, the decorations are classic, and the atmosphere makes you want to turn off your electronics and soak in the beauty.

There is soooooo much to do. We spent a lot of time outdoors, hiking, playing games, and just sitting in the beautiful scenery. The restaurants were good, the pool was very enjoyable, and the game room was great for the kids.

Room tip: We stayed in a lodge room overlooking the lake. It was beautiful, and roomy enough for a family of 4.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenJ2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

I appreciate you taking the time to write your thoughts about Skytop. You touched on all there is to do and our fabulous Activities Dept. is very appreciative. Their goal is to match our guests needs with all of our outdoor and indoor offerings, and it appears we were successful.

Ready to welcome you back!!!

All the best,
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

My family and I have been going here for many years and always have a wonderful experience. My only complaints are that during busy holiday times , well, it is busy and many little kids (my kids are all older). It's also rather costly. But, again, it's worth it. The rooms are comfortable, the wait staff are responsive and helpful, and the food is always very good.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jsmcd8218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

Thank you for sharing your comments about our Team. Our goal continues to be to exceed expectations and create long lasting memories. It appears we have had success. I will certainly pass along your comments to the Team.

Come back soon!

All the best,
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

We went for 3 nights with our daughter and family. We range in age from 3 to 70. There were activities for all of us. We went on 4 hikes, did art projects, rock climbing etc.
We stayed at the Inn near the golf shop. A 5 minute walk from the main lodge. It had king sized bed, twin size sleep sofa, a gas fireplace and a balcony. We had a large buffet breakfast in the main dining room every morning. We ate in the restaurant in the inn, and the main dining room, as well as the Tap room. The food was good. The service people were very friendly and made you feel welcomed as soon as you walked in the door.
Their is a concierge to help plan activities. There is an indoor and outdoor pool. There are seasonal activities like tennis, golf, ice skating, ice fishing, archery
We were all Impressed and plan to return with friends and family

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank LeeMahwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

I was thrilled to read your review and very appreciative of your comments about our Team. It appears our team of memory makers were successful. We certainly are looking forward to your return!


All the best,
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

While we were very pleased with the outdoor space, service and pool, there was no on site eatery for healthy fresh or organic food. We tried everything Lakeview , Tap Room, Windsor Dining, even Ice cream place and Bar. Finally, last day, we ate off site and were finally nourished. The food at Skytop is terrible. Especially if you have young children, bring lots of healthy fresh stuff you can keep in fridge, even if just good bread and peanut butter.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank Meadowedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

I was happy to read you were pleased with the destination, but certainly disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations regarding food and beverage. I'm very proud of the Food & Beverage Team because of the commitment and creativity to the culinary arts, but will certainly pass along and strive to be even better!

All the best,
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews