We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a treasure”
Review of Skytop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skytop Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skytop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Beautiful and majestic old stone lodge nestled in the middle of the Poconos. The best activities one could ever ask for--gorgeous lake and trails to hike. Made us want to bring the grandkids and come again in the summer. Stunning views of the mountains and Fall foliage brought us here and we were not disappointed. Oh-if you are used to plush hotel rooms and cutting edge meals, bring your adaptability gene a it is a bit of a time warp in that regard but wouldn't life be boring if all places were cookie cutter the same? The character of this place far exceeds its dated furnishings and unimaginative food(which is tasty albeit forgettable).

We will return and we are fussy!

Thank you Skytop staff...we know many of you are invisible to us yet helped to make our stay magical.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I could only stay 1 night, but we enjoyed every minute we were at Skytop. We had a good lunch buffet and then took a bike ride to the water falls. We saw a great heron at the falls...lots of good pics. We spent time reading on the porch and then had a lovely dinner. We probably would have gone to the hot tub after dinner, but the pool closes early. That is the only change I would make...keep the pool open until later. Because the resort wasn't very crowded we did not have a breakfast buffet...instead everyone ordered off the menu. I had eggs Benedict which was filling. The food choices always seem to include unique things...I think there was a trout dish with caviar. I told a friend about Skytop because she would love to see all the fun things on their menu. Foodies will enjoy the selections! We also played tennis and used their exercise room...it was great to have so many choices included in our room rate. I booked using a travelzoo voucher and was told at the time of making the reservation that there would be a $45 addl fee to cover gratuities and taxes. I still got a great deal and was happy that I never needed to carry around my wallet to make sure I had tip money. We also went zip lining...I will write a separate review for that on the adventure center's TA page. If u have the time...I recommend zip lining. We had great weather and the trees were just starting to turn colors...so it was a good time of year to visit. I hope to visit again....kudos to the staff...it's a great place!

Room Tip: We had room 316 which had views of the lake....nice, clean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kendrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

It was a surprise birthday gift getaway and such a pleasant surprise. The grounds were breathtaking. There were trails available for the novice and experienced we chose just a couple to try which were just fine for us. This was our first visit to this lodge and I found the front desk lacking immensely. Services were fine but again except the front desk. I wasn't impressed with their assistance. Every time we asked stopped to ask a question or something they were unpleasant regarding anything. The rest of the staff was cordial and pleasant they made our stay enjoyable. Definite return visit in our future.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Visited Skytop Lodge this weekend for a zipline adventure course. My hubby and I had no idea what to expect, and we were not disappointed. The location of the Adventure Center is a little hard to find (don't turn in to Lodge at all but go down road for another 3/4 mile), so we were late for our session. But they were very relaxed about it and let us in anyway. Got geared up and headed outside for a quick demo on a very easy course. Scary, but then laughable after we had finished and saw how small it was, and remembered how nervous we had been at the start. Our guide Adam was awesome, and really went slow and took care of us. The course was extremely intimidating for most of us, as we were mostly middle aged and not used to adventure courses! But being fully harnessed and always attached helped to alleviate our fears a little. The course was advertised as a zipline adventure, but really was a full-on ropes course high up in the trees (not too high though, maybe 15 - 35ft). The zip lines were the easy part, just hold on and enjoy the ride! The obstacles from tree to tree were physically demanding and SCARY!!! Which equals super fun and makes you feel like a rock star to accomplish. Overcoming fears is an amazing feeling, especially for this mother of 2 :) I highly recommend this zipline adventure course.....keep your eyes out for a Living Social deal!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank schwamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I visited Skytop Lodge in September it was great experience the food excelent. I would like to go back with my family and Gr. kids in the summer. There is a lot of activities to do,
I believe that in the summer I will enjoy the beach and do more activities

Room Tip: I was the Lodge the view was beatiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faceb00k319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Skytop is a beautiful lodge set in the Pennsylvania mountains. The staff is extremely friendly and the grounds are spacious. Loved the beautiful lobby. Enjoyed a walk around the lake. The grounds are kept very well-- flowers were abundant and colorful. Golf course looks great even though we did not play. The lodge has any type of activity you could want to do. I would recommend this lodge to everyone - families, couples, girls getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Loved our stay at Skytop. Perfect place to have a family reunion. Accommodations for 20 plus people and the option of the main lodge or cottages makes it appealing for families or singles. The dinning room is perfect for large gatherings. The grounds are breathtaking. The unending list of activities and the value of the all inclusive stay makes this place great!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 70MelLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skytop
10.9 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,473 reviews
7.8 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,540 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,315 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,064 reviews
13.7 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skytop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skytop Lodge

Address: One Skytop, Skytop, Barrett Township, PA 18357-1099
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Barrett Township > Skytop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skytop
Price Range: $190 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skytop Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naturally InspiredExperience the ultimate retreat by visiting one of the most esteemed lodges in the country—Skytop. This grand historic estate features the very best in accommodations, fine dining and limitless recreation including the new Adventure Center at Skytop.You and your family can explore 5,500 pristine acres of inspiring natural beauty while enjoying a range of seasonal activities. Choose from the adventurous—like clay shooting and downhill skiing—to the serene—like nature hikes and full spa services. No matter your age, personality or desire, Skytop Lodge can make your next trip an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Skytop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skytop Hotel Skytop
Skytop Resort All Inclusive
Skytop Lodge Skytop
Resort Skytop Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing