We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in Time”
Review of Skytop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skytop Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skytop
Certificate of Excellence
Seneca Falls, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is something that one would think didn't exist any more. The staff was attentive and friendly and efficient. The dining was exceptional and served with a flair. Our rooms were comfortable and clean.

All in all it was a great weekend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear domcot,

Thank you for sharing your recent Skytop experience with me. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are so fortunate to have such a wonderful staff who take such pride in providing caring and attentive service to our guests. I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to them as well as our chef and his crew.

I hope you have a wonderful fall and that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    339
    103
    96
    69
See reviews for
485
394
2
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
'Nige
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here for two nights for a corporate event. Fantastic location with lots of activities for the outdoor type. Good selection of indoor games in the bar area as well.

The food was good quality and fresh, and service from the staff was friendly and helpful. The only point which lets this place down is the old decor - in the public areas it is great, and is an integral part of the places charm, but the hotel bedrooms could do with updating to the 21st century.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IfitsMonday...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear IfitsMonday,

Thank you for providing me with your comments in relation to your corporate event. I do agree with you that our rooms do need a facelift and actually starting next year we plan to begin a complete rehab of our guest rooms. Our public areas and meeting areas are state of the art and offer meeting attendees and our social guests a great opportunity to either have a place to work or a place to relax. I hope you have the opportunity to return with your family to Skytop in the near future. There are so many activities here that make a weekend getaway a wonderful experience.

I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I arrived here on Columbus Day when most people were checking out. Initially the front desk people were not very nice , and checked us in through stern joyless faces. Perhaps they were exhausted after a busy holiday weekend. We got into the room and we were not very excited, actually disappointed, as it was small, the bathroom was tiny, not much of a view, and the tv was at a right angle to the bed. The next day we went down to the front desk and they were nice enough (different crew than at check in) to give us a much better room for the same price. This made all the difference in our enjoyment. The second room was much better. They have an old heat and air system which is, according to the room directory guide book, really either on, or off. I don't think you can really set a desired temperature. We turned the heat off and opened the windows to get the room comfortable for us.

The setting is beautiful, and there is lots to do, although some of the activities were at additional charge. The pool was nice with a good hot tub. No children were there this time of year, but I could see that they would have a good time.

The food was good, which is important since you are paying for all meals with the price of the room. Men are required to wear a jacket for dinner.

The place has an old world feel and it is definitely not an updated, modern place by design. So if you need modern amenities, it is not for you. If you want to go back in time to another era then it will be perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beach2mountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear beach2mountains,

Thank very much for taking time to post your Skytop trip experiences on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay. There are so many things to do and although there were not as many children at Skytop as in the summer, it is such a remarkable family destination. I will pass along your kind comments in relation to our food to our Chef. Food is an important component of Skytop in that your room rate includes three meals a day as well as many other activities. I am disappointed that your first room accommodation was not to your satisfaction. However, I am delighted that were able to find you another room that suited your needs much better. Yes, we are an historic hotel and fortunately many of the architectural peculiarities of Skytop are very charming.

I hope you have a great fall and see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Skytop is a great place to take a family because there is such a variety of activities for all ages. There is a very nice 18 hole course but also indoor and outdoor pools. Besides lawn bowling, volleyball, horse shoes, badminton, trails to walk, there are special events for children. Face painting, laser tag, ping pong, indoor miniature golf and a big list of children's activities are available. Our room was fairly small but quite lovely and the staff was always very helpful. Food was delicious and beautifully presented. The scenic views are lovely and the grounds are beautifully decorated with lots of flowers.

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the gardens in the back of the hotel or one that overlooks the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppyphh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear poppyphh,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay at Skytop. Skytop is truly a great adventure for the entire family. Over the past several years we have taken great pains to provide activities for every age group and we plan to keep adding to the excitement. With our enhanced ski area this year and with the cooperation of winter weather, you should have some new, fun and exciting things to do.

Have a great fall and I hope we get to see you soon!

Sincerely yours,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I recently stayed here for a business meeting and was impressed from minute one. Amazing property rich in history, with nice rooms, great food, and amazing service. If you like the classic Northeast resorts (which are a dying breed) this is your place. I put it in the same league as The Sagamore (LK.George), The Mohonk Mountain House (New Paltz, NY), The Cranwell (Berkshires), etc. I noticed it is very family friendly as well, great game room for kids and adults, and nice Tap Room for Mom and Dad. Happy trails!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourbirds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear fourbirds_11,

Thank you for sharing your Skytop experience with me. Our Executive Conference Center and extensive amenities make Skytop an ideal destination for corporate groups. As you noted, Skytop takes pride in being an historic hotel and is a member of the Historic Hotels of America. We take a great deal of pride in this distinction and do our best to blend tradition with modern convenience.

I hope we can welcome you back soon as a social guest! Have a great fall.

Sincerely yours,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Skytop Lodge in Skytop PA is my husband's and my new favorite get- away! It is a gorgeous old style Pocono Mountains resort, with gorgeous property, comfortable spacious rooms, and excellent food in the main lodge dining room.
It is the best place to get away from NYC and just relax! The staff are wonderful, kind and friendly. they couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome.
I would highly recommend Skytop Lodge for a relaxing, rejuvenating get-away.
Thank you for a fabulous vacation.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are probably the most spacious, but our middle of the hall room was very large for my t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyG614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Patty G,

Thank you for your providing me with your comments regarding your recent stay. Skytop is such a wonderful vacation destination, particularly if you want to get away from the city. It seems in just a couple of days you can be so rejuvenated and ready to go. We are fortunate to have such a beautiful lodge only a short distance from New York.

I hope you have a wonderful fall and that we see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our second time at Skytop and we had a blast again. There's so much to do here that we have a list started for next time! The staff is top-notch. A few areas for constructive criticism: as someone else said, the pool was cold, which was especially a bummer because the sun wasn't strong enough to make the air temperature hot so the chilly water felt good; also the corned beef was dry on 2 occasions and every so often items at the buffet line weren't hot enough; and this isn't anyone's fault, but we were excited about hitting the pond and beach to try the trampoline and paddle-boarding, and it was closed both days we wanted to go because the geese had made the pond their home this year and due to the waste, there was a dangerous level of bacteria. But because there's so much to do at Skytop, there's always a back-up plan.

Room Tip: If there are snorers in your party, try booking two adjoining rooms. The one can be bigger and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Melinda G,

Thank you for sharing your comments in relation to your recent stay at Skytop. We are fortunate to have such a wonderful staff that consistently provide our guests with caring and attentive service. I will be sure to share your comments with them. It makes us so proud that we have done such a good job with providing our guests with a great experience. Please excuse our problem with our swimming pool. We had an unexpected breakdown with our heating system. It took one or two days to get the part replaced which we did as quickly as we could, and now we are back to normal operating conditions. Additionally, I am sorry that we had to close the beach due to the geese. The beach is such a great spot to spend a day.

I hope to see you again next year. Have a great fall!

Sincerely yours,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skytop
10.9 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
7.8 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skytop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skytop Lodge

Property: Skytop Lodge
Address: One Skytop, Skytop, PA 18357-1099
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Skytop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skytop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skytop Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naturally InspiredExperience the ultimate retreat by visiting one of the most esteemed lodges in the country—Skytop. This grand historic estate features the very best in accommodations, fine dining and limitless recreation including the new Adventure Center at Skytop.You and your family can explore 5,500 pristine acres of inspiring natural beauty while enjoying a range of seasonal activities. Choose from the adventurous—like clay shooting and downhill skiing—to the serene—like nature hikes and full spa services. No matter your age, personality or desire, Skytop Lodge can make your next trip an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Skytop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skytop Hotel Skytop
Skytop Resort All Inclusive
Resort Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge Skytop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing