We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Gatherings”
Review of Skytop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skytop Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skytop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Skytop has been the home for our family celebrations for nearly forty years. Birthdays, a wedding, anniversaries, holiday specials and just for fun occasions. An exceptionally gracious environment with an exceptionally friendly, professional staff. Facilities, amenities and service continue to be of the excellent and on occasion particularized to your special needs. The cuisine has been consistently of the highest quality and exquisite taste. Skytop will continue to be a part of our family celebrations and for those weekend getaways.
Extraordinary.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Dear Patrick I,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are so fortunate to have families such as yours return to Skytop year after year. It is an honor to host celebrations and holidays for our long-time loyal guests, and these are relationships that we truly cherish.

I’ll be sure to pass along your kind comments to our staff. I agree that our staff endeavors to give excellent service to our guests in all areas. They will be so pleased to know that you return to Skytop because of the great service they provide.

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
There are newer reviews for Skytop Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2011

Have lived in the Pocono Region most of my life and dreamed of staying at Skytop. The stay became a reality recently, and it was bliss. Superb customer service ... Excellent American cuisine ... Plenty of Inge to do on property (have to try the new adventures course) ... And breathtaking views from every window. Particularly special for those who celebrate the outdoors and have a passion for panoramic vistas. So proud to know it's in my backyard. Would definitely pay more to stay at Skytop than travel to any other vacation destiination, and looking forward to our next stay in 2012. Extraordinary in every way....great value.

Room Tip: If preference is peace and quiet, request that your room be separated from family spaces if possible...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank befriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Dear befriday,

It’s great to have our close by friends enjoy Skytop. Our closest neighbors are our best friends! I hope we can welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I recently took a tour of Skytop's fairly new Dog Sledding service. I absolutely loved it and think it's a great addition to the resort.

Jarred, the "leader of the Pack" was great and it's obvious that he loves what he does. The Dogs are so great and Skytop is lucky to have such a great thing going for them.

I took a tour of the kennel, which allowed me to meet each one of the dogs. As a dog lover, it was a surreal experience.

I was unable to take a sled out at the time but will definitely think about it in the future. Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Dear Jay J:

Did you have a chance to meet the new members of the dog sledding family? We have been blessed with three playful, beautiful pups. You have to return to do snow sledding. Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful Fall Harvest Weekend stay at Skytop. The Saturday lunch stations for fine food and wines that lined the beautiful skytop Lake's edge was delightful as was the fine attention to detail. The surroundings inside the lodge are particularly relaxing and inviting to merely sit and relax with a gread book by the roaring fireplace. We shot skeet, played horseshoes, ping pong, golf, took lovely walks and thoroughly enjoyed the Tap Room ba as well as the Windsor Dining Room. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Dear Kim B:

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I will be sure to pass along your thoughts to our staff – we are so thrilled that you will be returning soon!

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

After searching for Inns/B&B/Lodges/Spas in The Catskills, Vermont and various places throuhgout the Northeast, my husband and I decided to spend a fall weekend at Skytop.

I had been on the grounds before, but this was our first stay. Everything about the weekend was amazing. The property is completely gorgeous. The lodge itself is located at the top of the property, with the cabins, inn and golfcourse surrounding it. The lodge is old, and resembles a very large castle. The interior is so well-kept, and has a very old-world feel.
There was a mix of young couples, older couples and families, as well as larger groups.

We stayed in a suite at the Inn, and were very happy with the large size of the room, the fireplace and the location (private balcony overlooking the 18th hole).

There are various dining options (all meals are included in your stay) and we chose to eat all meals in the main dining room. One of the best parts about our stay, was the mix of old-world & contemporary. There are no phones allowed in the main dining room, and men must wear jackets. To eat in a restaurant and NOT see people on their phones was so nice - and just the reason we chose to get away for the weekend - for relaxation and an escape. Chef Stevan Sundberg, who we spent some time getting to know, was fanstatic. Our meals were incredibly delicious (the menu changed daily) and varied (Oysters, Pumpkin Soup, Rainbow Trout, Rabbit Stew...) and the Sommelier, Jim Beau, helped us pair great wines with our dinner selections. There is a nice recreation/game area downstairs with arcade games, ping pong tables and min-golf. Also downstairs is the one bar, the Tap Room, which had a great selection of seasonal beer.

This past weeked was their Fall Harvest, which featured a Harvest Stroll around the big, beautiful lake with amazing seasonal foods and wine/beer/scotch pairings all along the way. They had a great variety of food (turtle soup, venison stew, salmon, brisket...) and a nice selection of wines/distributors to sample. We will be back next year for the Harvest Event!

Their spa, while small and not done up like your typical "Lodge/Spa" was excellent. We had hot stone massages and were very pleased.

There are so many activities for all ages at Skytop - and every day they post up a list of activities offered, along with the times each will take place. Some things, like fishing and skeet shooting, require advance reservations. We opted for skeet shooting and were taken a few miles away, up to the top of the mountain - where you could literally see the entire Poconos - all the way to the Delaware Water Gap...gorgeous! Our instructors were very safety-concious, and provided a really fun experience.

Overall - this is such a hidden gem in the Poconos - and really the only remaining classy lodge/resort remaining in that area. I would highly recommend Skytop to anyone looking to escape for the weekend and enjoy a relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Suite 112 at the Inn is fantastic. Quiet, corner suite overlooking the 18th hole. Choose the Inn fo...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nfountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Dear nfountain,

I am so delighted that you discovered Skytop Lodge and had a chance to experience our Lake Stroll Weekend. We are so fortunate to have this beautiful lake at the foot of the Lodge. Each year on the first weekend of November we host our Lake Stroll Weekend. In our sixth year now, this has become one of our most favorite weekends. I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to our employees and staff at Skytop. They are so caring and determined that all of our guests will have such a memorable stay. Please give us a call when you are looking for a quick getaway. Skytop always has so many fun things to do, whether it’s dog sledding in the winter or ziplining in the summer. Thanks for your comments and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

we had four couples spend a weekend to celebrate one person's milestone birthday. (65th). We could not have asked for a better experience. The food and accommodations were excellent, but the service was better than excellent. Every one of the 10 or 12 employees we met had a wonderful attitude, was extremely cordial and helpful, and did their respective jobs in a highly professional way. clair, the bat attendant at the Inn was superb. We met for cocktails each evening before dinner, and by the end of the weekend she almost became part of our group. HJigjly professional while being perfectly pleasant.
The wine and food "walk" around the lake was a true hit for all of us. We had 5 new shooters at the skeet range, and the staff there was extremely accommodating to first time shooters. Joe especially made the ladies comfortable even though some had never used a gun before.
All ion all, it was a splendid weekend.

Room Tip: we stayed at he inn rather than the main lodge, and found the separation made the rooms much quieter...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenmoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Dear glenmoyer,

Thank you for your very nice comments. We find so many of our guests enjoy the many activities at Skytop spending the day together. Hope you have an opportunity to return soon!

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Spent Halloween weekend at Skytop for a conference. The facility has a wonderful old world charm. The rooms were a bit dated, but that's okay. The staff was fantastic. It was a great place to be for the unexpected early snow storm of the season. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weluv2travel7408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Dear weluv2travel7408,

Halloween was quite a weekend with eight inches of unexpected snow. Our staff rose to the occasion and really provided our guests with a great stay. Hope you have an opportunity to spend Christmas with us – Skytop was made for Christmas!

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skytop
10.9 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,461 reviews
7.8 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,529 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,305 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,045 reviews
13.7 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skytop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skytop Lodge

Address: One Skytop, Skytop, Barrett Township, PA 18357-1099
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Barrett Township > Skytop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skytop
Price Range: $194 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skytop Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naturally InspiredExperience the ultimate retreat by visiting one of the most esteemed lodges in the country—Skytop. This grand historic estate features the very best in accommodations, fine dining and limitless recreation including the new Adventure Center at Skytop.You and your family can explore 5,500 pristine acres of inspiring natural beauty while enjoying a range of seasonal activities. Choose from the adventurous—like clay shooting and downhill skiing—to the serene—like nature hikes and full spa services. No matter your age, personality or desire, Skytop Lodge can make your next trip an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Skytop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skytop Hotel Skytop
Skytop Resort All Inclusive
Resort Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge Skytop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing