We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three strikes you're out!”

Mal's American Diner
Ranked #20 of 29 Restaurants in Skippack
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
Restaurant details
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Three strikes you're out!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I try to give everywhere the benefit of the doubt and when I have a poor experience, I like to give a place another try! This is the 'neighborhood' diner in Skippack and we wanted to love it but after three visits over the past year, we just can't. The atmosphere is bleak. The coffee and food never quite achieve mediocre and the service is uninspired.

We've crossed this one off our list for good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    15
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
357 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stopped here for lunch on my way through Montgomery County.

The outward appearance is upscale, but the interior is strictly diner, though it is clean and well-kept.

I sat at the counter and ordered a bowl of chili, which was very meaty and flavorful. At $4.50 for the bowl, it was a good value.

I then had a grilled chicken caesar salad, which is available with a few different options. I had mine with spinach (instead of romaine lettuce) and blackened chicken. It was a very nice salad with plenty of fresh spinach leaves, an nicely blackened chicken breast that was cut into strips, and a decent caesar dressing.

Service was quick and friendly. Total cost for my meal, with a soft drink, was $18.29 plus tip.

I would stop here again. It was raining or I would have sat at one of the outdoor tables. Maybe next time?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester,PA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lots of food with no flavor!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Coffee insipid. Eggs Benedict had eggs not fully cooked, english muffin not toasted at all and the sauce was totally tasteless and unworthy. Cheeseburger was worst I have ever had. The meat was nasty and not worthy of a "diner". Very disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
149 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“We like it for breakfast or brunch”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

It's busy and crowed, but the food is fine for casual dining. Prices are acceptable and the service friendly. We like the large breakfast menu and the kids's selections.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank QuakerBoy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good ol fashioned diner”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Old fashioned diner in a small town! Cute place with good food. Good standby when visitors are in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wyde1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mal's American Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mal's American Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing