We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat!!”
Review of Ship Wreck Pub and Inn - CLOSED

Ship Wreck Pub and Inn
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We ate here twice and both times the food was so good. Loved the atmosphere and the staff was super friendly. I wish I didn't live so far away cause I would be here all the time!!!!! One time my husband and I both had the prime rib and also two mixed drinks each and the bill was only $56. I was impressed. If you ever get to Shippensburg stop in here. You won't be sorry. The food is delicious!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariq16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our meal”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stopped here for a late lunch on a Sunday afternoon with my Wife and Son while visiting Shippensburg university. We were very happy with the food and service. Seems a lot of the negative reviews here are from people who liked the Market Cross Pub and were disappointed to see it gone. Never been to Market Cross so I can't compare.

I had the Fish Tacos (made with rockfish), my wife had the Salmon BLT and my son had the Buffalo Chicken sandwich. We were all very impressed with our food. I liked the beer selection and took advantage of the $2 Harpoon IPA bottles with my meal. We found the prices were reasonable for food that tasted fresh and wasn't Sysco frozen meals.

We enjoyed our meal and will most likely stop in again when in the area.

Also, the restrooms were clean. That's always a good sign.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilG328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food and large beer selection”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We go here about once a month with a group of friends, usually on a Friday night. It is not over ridden with college kids during the dinner hour. Family atmosphere with friendly service. The owner is usually walking around but doesn't approach every table. I find the menu limited with very few healthy choices, but everything I've had is excellent. Large beer selection, both bottle and on tap, keeps the hubby happy. Highly recommend the Shrimp and Andouille Ravioli, and the steak and scallop appetizer, can't think of the name.

Parking is in the lot next to the building, or on the street. We've parked in the business next door with no issues as well.

There is also an attached small bar that sells 6 packs to go and more of a bar atmosphere as compared to the restaurant side. They have microbrews and you can do a mix a six.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SubaruTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Definitely a local hangout. The waitress was the epitome of perfect. Food was served fresh and hot. We were able to watch our hockey game and we loved their prices of food and beer. I'd recommend them if you're in town there. Hands down.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch in Shippensburg...”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

After a bicycle ride on the CVRT my husband and I ventured into Shippensburg and to this restaurant because it is rated #1 on this site. We were NOT disappointed as our lunch was extremely good! They serve different weekend specials every week which is supplemented by a wonderful menu. The grilled chicken and spinach wrap was yummy as was the chicken kabob. Lisa, our server, was extraordinary and was very attentive, knowledgeable. We will definitely return to this restaurant as it deserves to be #1!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Wreck Pub and Inn also viewed

 
Shippensburg, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing