We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Becoming a favorite :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ship Wreck Pub and Inn - CLOSED

Ship Wreck Pub and Inn
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lewistown
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Becoming a favorite :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have eaten here 3 times in the past 3 months, so if that tells you anything, we haven't been disappointed yet. Our son attends college and plays football for Shippensburg University. When our extended family visits, this is a place we can go and enjoy a visit. Lots of room... great, friendly staff, and the food is great...
We especially enjoy the burgers and hot turkey sandwiches :)
I would definitely recommend this as a stop to anyone in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WheelerFamily805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were quite surprised by our delicious lunch after reading the average reviews. The wings were excellent with homemade sauces. The salads were really fresh and full of meats,vegetables and cheese as described. The homemade salad dressings were excellent too. The mozzarella sticks were the best we've ever had! Freshly sliced and breaded and lightly fried with really good marinara. Service was great and we will definitely go back when we visit our son at SHIP!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rdcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a disappointment.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

First of all I tried to order the special of the day,scallops but they were already out(6:30pm) so I ordered the chicken sandwich. It was terrible. It was not even half of a breast and the toughest I have ever had in my life. I could not eat it. The roll it was on was so tough it could not cut it with the butter knife they provided. After setting it aside a waitress came and took it away but never asked about it ,as if it is discarded by most people. An
other person in my party had the pulled pork. It was very dry. She waited 15 minutes before the waitress returned to check on us. After saying it was very dry the waitress returned with a plastic bottle of their bbq sauce.
The one item that was good was the crab dip. Other than that everthing on the menu seemed like it was off the Sysco Systems truck.
I went away hungry and ended up at the Burger King. Their chicken sandwich is much better at half the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tctftlauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Standard pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

There is ample seating area and nice choices on menu. Service varies depending on waitress and number of people in party. Drinks and timely visits from waitress could have been better. Crab cake dinner was good.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ShipDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chambersburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting! Garbage would have tasted better!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

Went to Market Cross Pub for the first time. I know good crab dip, and after tasting Market Cross Pub's crab dip, it was as if I got a bowl of hot sour cream with pinch of crab meat tossed in. Tasted disgusting! I had a hot roast beef sandwich, that when served, looked like dried up roast beef in the toasted sub roll, it looked unappetizing with the roast beef dried up. You only get chips with your sandwiches, and if you order fries extra, you are paying about the same price as dinner. If you just want to get drunk, fine, but careful on your wallet spending for disgusting food. They are suppose to have a chef, but the name of the chef is never talked about nor could I find out his / her name on the menu. I don't believe they have a chef, cuz one would not prepare such disgusting food.

Helpful?
1 Thank blrtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Wreck Pub and Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing