We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Shippensburg Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“okay for the price”
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We were driving back from a funeral and stopped for one night. The place was clean, but the carpets were worn and stained. Okay for one night, but I would not plan an extended stay.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    111
    51
    34
    30
See reviews for
157
122
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

I expect a Best Western to be of better quality. While the external amenities were fine, the room itself was a one star in my book. First of all the sheets and towels were well worn and beyond their useful lives. Both were thin and the bath towels were actually fraying. The mattress was stiff and once again a one star bed. The tile in the bathroom was missing grout in places and the hook on the back of the bathroom door was no where near straight.

The continental breakfast was as minimal as could be to be considered breakfast at all. We passed it up

  • Liked — Check-in was good
  • Disliked — quality of room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank RichmondVATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

I travel for business so I don't often have a choice of what town to visit. For the last 3 months, Jan 08-Mar 08, I have been traveling to Shippensburg PA. Shippensburg is a lovely little town full of history and a state college.

I stay at the Best Western Hotel just off Interstate 80 exit 29. The building looks new and the parking lot is freshly paved. Even though it is less than 1 mile from the Interstate, it is quite and there is not a lot of traffic noise. There is some nose from adjacent rooms and the second floor if people are moving about. I could hear people talking on the phone during my stay.

Amenities include an indoor pool, sauna, weight room and a computer for general use in the lobby.

The rooms are adequate in size, except the bathroom, which is so small that a mis-aligned toilet seat in one of them prevents the bathroom door from closing. There are an ironing board, blow dryer and single cup coffee maker in the room.

Expendables, like soap and shampoo, are stocked in the room only once during my stay. If I run out of shampoo or soap I have to bring my own or ask at the front desk for more. It seems the owners are very cost aware.

There is breakfast every morning near the lobby. It consists of a wide variety of coffees from a machine, juices, bread, beagles, small muffins, cereals and fresh made waffles. The waffles are very popular. You pour the batter in to the waffle iron then close the lid and in 2 minutes it is ready.

The furniture in the rooms is mostly uncomfortable. There are stiff, heavy small upolstered chairs in various stages of disrepair. The matresses look as though they were purchased used from another hotel. The TV has only 30 channels and no channel guide. The last time is was there only one light bulb was woring in the room. The sink and bathroom bulbs were ok. In one room I stayed in the message light was flashing on the phone. I called the front desk and they said it was from a previous visitor. A few weeks later I had the same room and the light was still flashing.

There is free wireless Interent but I have not taken advantage of it so I cannot rate it.

There is a WalMart close by as well as gas stations and fast food. The truck stop up the street has good food. Most places to eat are in the larger town of Chambersburg about 10 miles further down I80 from Shippensburg. There are a lot of hotels there as well.

The summarize, the building and parking lots look new. The hotel is clean and smells fresh. The furniture looks old and is uncomforatble. Breakfast is good. It's quite.

One last thing to mention is that if I call for a reservation and a specific clerk answers the phone, my reservation will be lost. It has happend 3 times with this clerk and even with a confirmation number my reservation has not been made. This includes reservations made through American Express and my personal phone calls to the hotel to make reservations.

My guess is that the owners have recently purchased this hotel but it's not a place to stay if you like hotel life. For those on a budget who can live very modestly, this would be a good hotel.

  • Liked — It was in Shippensburg, my destination
  • Disliked — accomodations seemed too "Thrifty" for this type of hotel.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Elgog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

We stayed here at the last minute while traveling from Canada to Florida. We got 3 rooms with two double beds each at $ 79 a piece. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable but the sheets were paper thin and kept coming off the bed during the night. The blankets were very thin as well. Although this was what appeaered to be a new hotel, there was no elevator to the 2nd floor. There were no vending machines on the 2nd floor, you had to go downstairs to get ice and sodas. There was a indoor pool that appeared to be fairly clean. Each room did have a small dormitory type refrigerator. The towels were very thin--the kind used in college dorms. The complimentary breakfast was relatively bland---it did have the 'make your own' waffles but there was only one kind of cereal and no juice on the morning I was there; they did have a machine that made five or six different kinds of coffe (latte, coffee with cream; black; etc.). The staff was minimally friendly at the desk, they kept asking us 'how many people in the room' at check in---perhaps it was due to the translation--the person who checked us in did not appear to understand English very well--but they seemed overly concerned that we would have too many people in the three rooms. There were six of us in three rooms (one adult in one room, two adults in the other, and one parent and two small children in the third room). For a last minute room while traveling on the road without an advance reservation, this hotel was all right. Not luxury by any means, but acceptable.

  • Liked — On the highway, last minute availability
  • Disliked — No elevator,
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2005

We stayed at the Amerihost in Shippensburg, and found it to be of excellent value in a surprisingly quiet location, set back from the highway. The room was immaculately clean, and the staff more than willing to be helpful. This establishment shows real pride of ownership. What a surprise to come off of the Interstate and find respite here in a pleasant place for 2 days, while visiting family here.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizzydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersville, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2005

For a small independent, this hotel will not fail to please! It is just outside the town of Shippensburg, and within a mile or so of I81. Shippensburg University is less than 2 miles. Beautiful pool, sauna, whirlpool and exercise facilities. Carpets are new in the rooms. Spotlessly clean with internet connections via wireless or connection modems--your choice.
While dogs are permitted in some rooms, there was no related problem that I experienced. Continental breakfast choices were adequate with fresh bagels, cereal, juice, fruit, and coffee. Front desk was helpful.
Pick up a coupon booklet at the rest stop on I81 a few miles north of the hotel exit for an even more reasonable stay! As a business traveler, I will return. I am usually not satisfied when staying this cheap, but AmeriHost proved that they can produce satisfaction for less dough!!

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank gumrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shippensburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shippensburg
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Shippensburg
Courtyard Shippensburg
#2 of 6 in Shippensburg
88 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shippen Place Hotel
Shippen Place Hotel
#3 of 6 in Shippensburg
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
302 reviews
11.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
17.0 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle South
Days Inn Carlisle South
#5 of 26 in Carlisle
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shippensburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shippensburg Hotel

Property: Best Western Shippensburg Hotel
Address: 125 Walnut Bottom Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257-8131 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Shippensburg Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Shippensburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shippensburg
Shippensburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing