We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“I very nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Gardners, Pennsylvania
1 review
“I very nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at the Best western last night and it was wonserful. Great service and beautiful clean and fresh smelling rooms. I enjoyed my stay very much for it only being one night. I will be comeing back to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that your next visit is as pleasant as your last. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    96
    40
    31
    27
See reviews for
138
99
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shippensburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Easy to get to and nice place to stay at. Would definitely go back.The woman who checked us in was polite and helpful to find a place to eat. he room was clean and well appointed with amenities like a microwave, and free internet

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josiah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay as well as the many amenities that our hotel offers. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Front desk was slow at check in. Rooms were adequate. Walls are thin so you can hear everything from the other rooms and hallways. Breakfast was nice, eggs, fruit, waffles, cereal and coffee and starts at 6 a.m.
Noticed mouse/rat poison traps outside of doors. Didn't see anything inside.
They have smoking rooms on the 2nd floor and the hallways smell. First floor was fine no smell.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel as this is the best souce for guest feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our deluxe continental breakfast. However, we apologize that your stay was disrupted by certain issues. I will be sharing your feedback with my staff so that together we can work to correct these problems. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The good - they have a small indoor pool and a nice hot tub - very relaxing after a hard day. The bad - the room was dirty: hair in the tub, lots of dust bunnies along the walls, stained coverlet on the bed, and a ripped curtain. The hotel could use some major cleaning. Also, at every turn there is a huge tip jar or a tip envelope which I found annoying. There was no way I was going to tip the cleaning crew! The desk staff was verty nice and admitted they were having problems with employees that don't want to clean - so why not let them go and get folks that can do their job?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabbico11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I will be sharing your comments with the staff immediately. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our indoor pool and that the front desk staff was courteous to you. We apologize for our room's cleanliness not being up to standard at the time of your stay. We will work hard to ensure that we improve in these areas. Please do not hesistate to give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Montezuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Found the motel easily about 1/4 mile off I-81 so it was away from the major interstate and quieter than many others. The woman who checked us in was polite and helpful to find a place to eat. There was also a swimming pool and whirlpool available. The room was clean and well appointed with amenities like a microwave, and free internet (which seems to be a standard now.) Although we did not have a table to use as a dining table (we ordered in), I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great breakfast because of good folks taking care and managing the place. Prices changed in less than three weeks in every catagory I looked at and we stayed in a lesser room for a few dollars more on this trip. A touch aggravating and how making up two doubles is cheaper for them than one king or queen I will never understand. Second stay had some trash under the bed stand lip and a puddle between the toilet and bath tub, indicating a pretty superficial cleaning, and the first stay had an inoperable alarm/radio. But everything else was good. Cooling/heating unit was quieter than most in both rooms as weree the small fridge. Beds were comfortable, pillows a bit wanting. Off the highway by a mile plus, and this helps this location be a bit quieter. Still easy to find and get in/out. Noticed another guest had a hard time extending for an hour to acccomodate changing time for a wake. The managemnet excuse was lame and this was a mistake on their part, especially on a holiday weekend. Probably wouldn't stay if I needed flexibility.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DAVID K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shippensburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shippensburg
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Shippensburg
Courtyard Shippensburg
#2 of 6 in Shippensburg
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shippen Place Hotel
Shippen Place Hotel
#4 of 6 in Shippensburg
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
11.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chambersburg
BEST WESTERN Chambersburg
#9 of 16 in Chambersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
17.0 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle South
Days Inn Carlisle South
#2 of 27 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
Address: 125 Walnut Bottom Rd, Shippensburg, PA 17257-8131 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western + Iniative, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shippensburg
Shippensburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing