We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The price was right” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn Shippensburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Shippensburg
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The price was right”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

A set of clean sheets was what I wa looking for. No cigarette smoke and the ambient temperaturewas such I didn't need heat or AC. I checked in when serivce was quick at ~4:30 PM. I didn't see any BBs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    6
    5
    15
See reviews for
11
5
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I guess a non-smoking room is defined as a room that hasn't been smoked in in the last 2 hours because my "non-smoking" room reeked of cigarettes. Upon further investigation I found that the smoke detector was disabled. The heater sounded like an airplane. The slanted bed was uncomfortable. And, to top it all off, the hair on the toilet was a nice touch. I would not stay at this rodeway inn if you paid me to. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcwarner103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lonaconing, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
150 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I didn't want to complain about a $45 motel room. Service was fast and friendly. Coffee was hot and free. That alone would normally rate a 3. BUT. The room was ice cold and took all night to warm up. There was a a moldy smell when we first walked in. The tub was mushy in the middle. Thought I would fall through the floor. OH. And there was a speck of BLOOD on the wall of the shower - like someone nicked themselves while cleaning it. I bring my own pillows and a blanket for the bed and one for a cover so I won't complain about the linens.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask them to turn the heat on at least an hour before you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sujoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We arrived around 10:30 at night and waited until someone decided to come to the window. The service was terrible and that should have been my first clue. Very unprofessional! It was below zero outside and we just wanted to get warm and sleep. The room was freezing...no heat on and it took all night to warm up. The carpet was nasty and so was the bedspread and sheets. There were stains on the pillowcase. It was awful!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Volmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We stopped at this Motel when our car blew a tire and the PA State trooper recommended getting off at the Shippensberg exit. The rooms were fine and I was actually impressed that some things like the bathtub/shower area looked new. The rest of the room did show its age but for a last minute stop the rooms were acceptable. There is a continental breakfast available which only featured white bread and plain English muffins. The orange juice machine was out of juice. Again, I wouldn't seek out this motel as a destination but in this emergency we had a relatively clean place to lay our heads. One thing I noticed was that the white face towels all looked dirty. Every one in both rooms had a dingy appearance.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mc Caysville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

It's not the best place to stay, but funds were tight and I needed a cheap hotel room. We had some issues to attend to in Chambersburg, one city over, and all the hotels over there were far too pricey. At first, I was a little apprehensive once I saw the location and the condition of the inn, but once inside the room, all was calmed. The room was small, but very clean and on the front side, facing the interstate. Plus, we were right next to the front desk, so that was a plus. The owner tried to work with us if we had issues and overall, it was a good stay. I will say I don't like being that close to the road, but it was worth it. I would stay here again if I was up there. By the way, this was in July of 2012.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlliHexen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We were late in booking a room and this was the only place available. I reserved two rooms. One for my parents and one for my hubby and I. My parents were given a room on the back side of the hotel, which was remodeled. We were given a room that was not remodeled. It was so filthy. I wiped a clorox wipe on the bathroom counter and it was brown! There were hairs lying on the bathroom floor and on the toilet and in the tub! The floors were filthy. After reviewing our room I decided I would much rather sleep in my car than stay in this place. When approaching the front desk with our issues, I was told that the room WAS cleaned!! The floor WAS vacuumed,...and they didn't want to give me my money back!! They did MINUS a fee!! I wouldn't take my shoes off in that place let alone lie on the bed! It was by far the dirtiest hotel I ever stepped foot in! If the room were FREE I would have refused it! If I could give it negative stars I definately would!! We were going to stay in this room in 2009 not the date it shows above and it was in May.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAK012973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shippensburg
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shippensburg
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Shippensburg
Courtyard Shippensburg
#3 of 6 in Shippensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shippen Place Hotel
Shippen Place Hotel
#2 of 6 in Shippensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
11.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
8.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#6 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Shippensburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Shippensburg

Property: Rodeway Inn Shippensburg
Address: 10 Hershey Road, Shippensburg, PA 17257-9407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Shippensburg 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Rodeway Inn Shippensburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing