We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shippen Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shippen Place Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Shippen Place Hotel is located in the downtown area of Shippensburg . Shippensburg University is less than 3 minutes away. You will be surprised to find this modern hotel in the old downtown area. It is clean and modern. The front desk staff are very eager to help and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.. My room was on par to any big chain hotel without the price.
The hotel even has a restaurant called the The University Grille which serves geat food. If you just want a light snack the hotel has a cafe .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janceyjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccaheefner, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests. It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel. Please do consider us again on your next trip. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Shippen Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 179 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here two years ago and my impression was of a mediocre borderline subpar hotel. In two years this hotel has vastly improved; thus the main reasoning for my "Excellent" rating (it also helped that my rate was $77/night for a room equivalent or better than most Hilton, Marriott, etc. brand hotels). It appears that the interior (lobby, rooms, and halls) have been renovated. The lobby is very nice with its leather chairs and sofa; nice chandelier. Attached to the lobby are the new University Grille (with an adjacent bar) and Espresso Bar. Outside eating area when the weather is nice. My room with King size bed was much better than I expected. Extremely comfortable mattress and good climate control system. Nice comfy chair and ottoman to read, relax, or watch TV. Room is equipped with a fridge and microwave. The bathroom, while clean, did not appear to have received a significant upgrade as the rest of the room. Nonetheless, it was fine and functional. Plenty of shower hot water and that's what matters the most! Upper front facing floors have a decent view of King Street and nearby Shippensburg University. Parking lot in the rear of building with a clear, well lit back entrance. Parking spaces are a little narrow in my opinion. Shippensburg is a nice town with a few decent dining options, including the restaurant onsite. Carlisle and Chambersburg are not too far away either for other options. Overall, highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keystone_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccaheefner, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us. It’s good to hear from a repeat customer like you to appreciate the changes. We are committed to delivering the highest level of service, it is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was not a chain hotel so we weren't sure what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised and pleased with our accommodations. Front Desk staff was efficient and very helpful. Breakfast, which was included, was good. My only complaint, if I may have one, is every time we we went outside to the parking lot, through the rear door, we were met with clouds of smoke from the smoker's station. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccaheefner, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience. We are committed to delivering the highest level of service to our guests, your feedback will help us correct and improve our services to better achieve our primary goal. It is so nice to hear that you were pleased with our accommodations and that our Front Desk staffs were efficient and very helpful. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My room was right above the hotel bar and the music is blarring and people are outside and inside yelling around. This has lasted until past 1am each night!. No consideration for the other people in the hotel. The breakfast is very spars, with most of it being breads and cereal. They do have a waffle maker but no meats or filling type foods. The only good thing that I have to say about the hotel is that it has free internet and was cheap, but that was because of the corporate rate the company I work for, has. Very disappointed for all the hype.

Room Tip: Ask for it as far away from the bar area as possible.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked a suite so our daughter could visit the college. The hotel is very good but could be excellent with just some attention to details. For example, the bathrooms are really too small. Then, no towel hooks on the back of the bathroom doors and one soap bar? For three people and then no shampoo/conditioner? The breakfast was lame. While the hotel is priced moderately high for what you get, its not unreasonable to expect some attention to the entire package.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

If you are staying in shippensburg this is the best place to stay
Clean rooms, good restaurant and bar.
Not a ton of extras, no pool or workout area but nice atmosphere for a night stay. I don't know if there is WI FI but I did not need it

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is reasonably priced well maintained hotel in the middle of the downtown. The staff was polite and efficient. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean and well kept. The restaurant in the hotel is convenient but the prices are just a little high and the food delivery was slow on a slow night so, the restaurant is nothing special, order a pizza or something else delivered instead. Parking was very close, well lit and easy in and out...and free. Internet service was good too. I don't plan to return to Shippensburg soon but when I do I hope to find Shippenplace still the same for a stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shippensburg
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Shippensburg
Courtyard Shippensburg
#3 of 6 in Shippensburg
100 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shippensburg
1.7 mi away
Best Western Shippensburg Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#8 of 16 in Chambersburg
310 reviews
9.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
10.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shippen Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shippen Place Hotel

Address: 32 E King St, Shippensburg, PA 17257-1308
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Price Range: $74 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shippen Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Shippensburg, our hotel is conveniently located to all that Shippensburg has to offer. Our hotel hosts a popular restaurant and cafe right in the lobby. Our 100% smoke free hotel includes all the amenities you need. Free continental breakfast, WiFi everywhere, Business Center, Free Limited Parking, Offsite Full Gym and Dry Cleaning Services M-F. All our rooms include refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, 32" LCD Tvs with DirecTV HD channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shippen Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing