We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Shippen Place Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We needed a place to stay for one night. Most places off the highway were twice the price. Shippen Place had really reasonable rates - around $80 + they gave us a 10% discount for being AAA members.

Desk staff were very helpful, room was clean and well-appointed. Two beds, coffee machine, even had a mini fridge which was a big help for us. Basic, but clean and exactly what we needed. Comfy beds.

We did not eat at the attached restaurant, but it's nice that there's a place right there to grab a drink or a bite - you can also order room service.

If you're staying in the area, this place is a no-brainer.

Room Tip: we asked for a room in the back (not overlooking the street) because we heard that street view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrooklynKitKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 188 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and nice hotel. Service was very nice. Wish there would have been a pool, but we were still overall quite satisfied. It is a college town and that does mean drunk college kids so I was woken up by loud knocking and banging. If the hotel had done something about keeping those guests orderly, it would have been a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

What a cool hotel in a great town, that is what I would say if I had to sum it up. A few of my co workers have stayed here in the past and I knew nothing about this hotel until this week. The location is good because they are right near good eating places, local bars and cool mom and pop stores. The town seems to have a lot of history that is obvious as you drive through the town which is lined with older red brick buildings. the people seem very nice throughout the town and in the hotel. The hotel has a restaurant and bar with a nice outside patio where you can enjoy food and drink as well as the inside. The hotel has some age to it, however, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. One warning, if you do stay here request non street front room. The traffic starts at 4 am and if any emergency vehicles go down the main street that the hotel is on, it will rock you right out of the bed! As for the price of the hotel, it is right on, great price for a nice room. No pool and off site exercise equipment, however it is a nice town to walk through if you rather than a treadmill.

Room Tip: Don't take a street front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregg j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The staff and accommodations were great. Rooms were clean and quiet. But the food was not that great. My sister ordered a side salad (Caesar) $2.00 and I order a Dinner salad (Caesar) $8.00.

They were exactly the same size and ingredients.

I did say something to the waitress. But she did not offer any kind of explanation. Also she was new on the job.

Besides that everything was great. We stayed a total of 4 nights. Our room was kept very nice the first 2 nights. But the room attendant we had for the last 2 nights was a little lacking.

But all in all we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent the night while my daughter visited campus. I was pleasantly surprised to see how well kept everything was. The rooms are clean and the service friendly. Nice little breakfast as well. I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therockof89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stopped on our way back home to NC; the rate was great. The Front of the hotel is not taken care of. The lobby smelled stale and it needs a good cleaning; the carpets and furniture needed to be replace or cleaned. It was not a very bright and clean looking place to stay. The hallways needed to have a good cleaning and the ice machine had mold where the ice comes down.

The elevator doors and inside the elevator was not clean....tiles were broken.

We were so tired and look for another room at the local B&B but there were no rooms.
We needed to stop.

We were not positive about the rooms; but to our surprise the rooms were nicely updated.
The room was clean...I don't know what will happen in the future. The girl at the desk was very nice to let us check the room out first before we would finalize our stay.

If they would just make improvements to the above that I have mentioned it would be a very nice place to stay.

It could really be a little gem to stop over or stay to visit the area.

We would not go back to stay at this hotel; unless improvements were made.

Room Tip: The reason why I gave Cleanliness poor was not the room cleanliness but the rest of the common areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bklyngirl293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My college room mates and I spent an evening at Shippen Place. It seemed like there were many Shippensburg Alumni staying there also, probably due to the fact that it's an easy walk to everything downtown (especially the bars!) The hotel is small and seemed very clean. The front desk clerk was very accomodating and was able to give us 3 rooms side by side. The small restaurant and bar were very cozy. My only complaint was that the elevator was very slow. Great place to stay when staying in Shippensburg.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kisskait80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shippensburg
1.7 mi away
Best Western Shippensburg Hotel
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Shippensburg
Courtyard Shippensburg
#3 of 6 in Shippensburg
106 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shippensburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Chambersburg, PA
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#9 of 16 in Chambersburg
317 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Chambersburg
Best Western Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Shippen Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Shippen Place Hotel

Address: 32 E King St, Shippensburg, PA 17257-1308 (Formerly Shippen Place Hotel)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Price Range: $61 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn & Suites Shippen Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Shippensburg, our hotel is conveniently located to all that Shippensburg has to offer. Our hotel hosts a popular restaurant and cafe right in the lobby. Our 100% smoke free hotel includes all the amenities you need. Free continental breakfast, WiFi everywhere, Business Center, Free Limited Parking, Offsite Full Gym and Dry Cleaning Services M-F. All our rooms include refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, 32" LCD Tvs with DirecTV HD channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Shippen Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing