We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel in Unique town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Shippen Place Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had a bit of a problem finding this hotel~it's on the main street, but not too well signed. The driveway I swear is about 6 ft wide, so don't attempt this one in your SUV! The surface parking lot is a bit cramped but doable.
The hotel, though, is very nice. My friend made the arrangements for us, and raved about the folks she talked to on the phone.
The front desk clerk when we checked in was very pleasant but not knowledgeable about the area.
The room was lovely, and included a fridge, which was great. The hotel looks to have been renovated recently, and hallways etc are plush and clean.
The room also smelled clean; I've been to SO many non-smoking hotels which reek of smoke. This one does not in any way.
The restaurant was full and unable to accomodate us, but suggested other options down the street (which we did not use).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LORI F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 188 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

I selected this place for a one night stay while driving through the area, based on Trip Advisor reviews. I was not disappointed but a few small problems came up. The pros: it has the feel of a boutique hotel in a large city, with a welcoming, modern lobby, right on the main street of the town. There is ample free parking out back. The rooms were large and exceptionally clean with nice decor. The price was right. The bar and restaurant were excellent, but it is not open for breakfast. A few steps down the street is a good diner, though. On a Sunday night, with few if any other patrons dining, my sister and I enjoyed the sight of Amish horsecarts (not the black boxes, these were "convertibles" for stepping out) flying switftly by the restaurant windows, which overlook the main street.
The cons: At check-in, I asked the desk clerk if the rooms stocked lotion (my face and head were peeling from a week-long stay on the Outer Banks) and she assured me they were. However, only the barest of toiletries were found: a skinny bar of soap and a small vial of shampoo. I checked with my sister in another room and she was similarly under-supplied. The next morning, on checking out, I asked the other desk clerk if I could have some lotion, and was told that they do not have any. Admittedly, a venial sin, but more significant was the constant noise from the ventilation/heating/cooling system vent in the bathroom. It sounded like the engine on a diesel submarine and I had to close the door all night to avoid it. Thirdly, my room had a connecting door to another room, one inhabited by strangers. I heard their voices and the TV despite my piling extra pillows against it to mitigate the noise. Also, my room (403) overlooked the street and this being US Route 11, the truck noise started early.

Overall, this was a good alternative to the econobox chain motels found around all Interstate exits. It had a lot of charm and showed pride of ownership you won't find elsewhere. Just be careful to select your room and bring your own lotion!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street could be noisy in the AM. Avoid a connecting door to another room unles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived in Shippensburg late in the evening, so when we called into Shippen Place downtown last minute, we were expecting it to be much more expensive than it was.
And when we'd paid the nice lady at the desk and gone to our room, we were pleased to find it was clean, comfy and correct. Even the bar downstairs is lively, reasonably priced and has great beer.
Can't fault it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tadzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were on our way to the skyline drive/blue ridge pkwy, needed a place ot stay for a night. I read the reviews on tripadvisor and I'm glad i did. The room was very clean, Bobby at the front desk was great and we had sandwiches at the lounge in the hotel. The breakfast was adequate and the area was very clean. Our bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and well maintained!! If we were ever back in that area, we would definately stay again!!!

Room Tip: Parking is behind the hotel in their own lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waitmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our room was clean and spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable. We had 2 TVs and a kitchenette in our suite with a pull out couch. The bar was fun late night and the breakfast was adequate....typical continental. The location is convenient to the university and the downtown area. For the price, it can not be beat!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wirfelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night---very clean and very friendly staff. Restaurant was a little pricey--but food was very good. Very quaint, not much to do in walking distance. Very nice that there was a continental breakfast available free. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osie--kath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Shippen Place MANY times over the past years, as we have friends and family in the area. The staff have always been polite and welcoming. They have undergone new management and a huge refurbishment this past year, so it's all looking very fresh. There are 3 kinds of dining, the bar, the patio in good weather, and the inside restaurant, and the food is of a high standard. This year we had friends come to visit us and also other family stayed there for a wedding, and they ALL said what a great place it was to stay. The buffet complimentary breakfast is more than enough for most people, hot waffles if you want them and good coffee. The lobby is always welcoming and a great place to wait for or visit with friends. They do hire local university students at the desk, so you have to be a little patient with some of them as they are training, but nothing wrong with that. It is also a popular place for small conferences and many of the people I saw there for that reason, all seemed pretty happy with it. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilden18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shippensburg
1.7 mi away
Best Western Shippensburg Hotel
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Shippensburg
Courtyard Shippensburg
#3 of 6 in Shippensburg
106 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shippensburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#9 of 16 in Chambersburg
317 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Chambersburg
Best Western Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Shippen Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Shippen Place Hotel

Address: 32 E King St, Shippensburg, PA 17257-1308 (Formerly Shippen Place Hotel)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Price Range: $61 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn & Suites Shippen Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Shippensburg, our hotel is conveniently located to all that Shippensburg has to offer. Our hotel hosts a popular restaurant and cafe right in the lobby. Our 100% smoke free hotel includes all the amenities you need. Free continental breakfast, WiFi everywhere, Business Center, Free Limited Parking, Offsite Full Gym and Dry Cleaning Services M-F. All our rooms include refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, 32" LCD Tvs with DirecTV HD channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Shippen Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing