We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“You can't beat the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shippen Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shippen Place Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You can't beat the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our room was clean and spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable. We had 2 TVs and a kitchenette in our suite with a pull out couch. The bar was fun late night and the breakfast was adequate....typical continental. The location is convenient to the university and the downtown area. For the price, it can not be beat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wirfelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    53
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
39
31
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tannersville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night---very clean and very friendly staff. Restaurant was a little pricey--but food was very good. Very quaint, not much to do in walking distance. Very nice that there was a continental breakfast available free. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank osie--kath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Shippen Place MANY times over the past years, as we have friends and family in the area. The staff have always been polite and welcoming. They have undergone new management and a huge refurbishment this past year, so it's all looking very fresh. There are 3 kinds of dining, the bar, the patio in good weather, and the inside restaurant, and the food is of a high standard. This year we had friends come to visit us and also other family stayed there for a wedding, and they ALL said what a great place it was to stay. The buffet complimentary breakfast is more than enough for most people, hot waffles if you want them and good coffee. The lobby is always welcoming and a great place to wait for or visit with friends. They do hire local university students at the desk, so you have to be a little patient with some of them as they are training, but nothing wrong with that. It is also a popular place for small conferences and many of the people I saw there for that reason, all seemed pretty happy with it. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilden18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I recently stayed at the Shippen Place Hotel when I was in Shippensburg for a business meeting. After reading the most recent reviews on TA, I had reservations (no pun intended) about staying here. I went ahead with my stay because of the hotels location and that it was recommend by the meeting organizers.

When I checked in, after having a little trouble finding the hotel parking lot (it is down what looks like an alley from Main Street), the lobby was a bit worn, but looked clean. The front desk staff was professional, but detached. I was checked into my room quickly, but the registration process was not flexible. The person in front of me wanted to change credit cards, and that seemed to be an issue for the staff member.

Once you get to the guest floor, it is clear that a renovation has been done to some of the spaces. The carpet in the hall was brand new, but there are still many scuff marks on the doors and walls.

In the room, I was prepared for the worst (based on past reviews). I found the experience to be the opposite. The linens were white and clean (although a bit worn), the mattress was new at the end of last year, and the bathroom was mostly clean. I thoroughly inspected the room for bed bugs and other issues, and did not find any evidence in my room. I did notice some dirt build up around the nightstand (queen-queen room, between the beds), and that that toilet bowl could have been better cleaned under the rim. The shower, however, did not show any signs of mold or mildew, a problem that plagues even top-line hotels.

A plus of the hotel is a free breakfast that included the standard hot make-your-own waffles as well as cold options. Negative, no fitness center, although they do offer passes to a gym down the street.

Even with this positive experience, however, I would consider the hotel to just be average. It is clear that the current owners have addressed some of the issues mentioned here, but the hotel still feels like a tired property that has great potential (especially in a university town that has visiting faculty and speakers).

Room Tip: On a busy night in the bar, I would want a room facing Main Street. I could see the bar patio being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houthalen, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

This place is really dirty and old.

The shower was so filthy that I went to buy slippers. I was affraid to touch anything, disgusting.
The tildes in the shower were also coming loose, so perfect for bacteria...

There was à disgusting old floor carpet, old and not fresh.

Staff was all but helpfull.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We waited at the front desk for someone to wait on us for what seemed like a few minutes when we knew personnel were in the adjoining room behind desk. Seems the front desk clerk was eating and didn't realize we were waiting! When we walked into our room I found ketschup on the walls, dirt on the sink top splash and so I took a washcloth and began cleaning. I took the washcloth down to the clerk and told them the room was dirty. The owner would not do anything for us. We made due but would have appreciated a cleaner room. Also found red spot on pillow. One night it seemed the airconditioner was stuck on one temperature for the whole floor and it was freezing!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G_ner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, FL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My wife and I had stopped there for lunch 2 years ago and were so impressed with the facility we routed our trip to spend a night at the Shippen Place in July 2011. Suite was $99. Accomodations were great. The food in the hotel dining room (The University Grill) were excellent. The best onion soup I have ever had. The calimari was lightly battered and cooked just right. The accompaning fresh marinara sauce ranks with the best. The service personnel throughout the establishment were top notch. An aside - we were told that LaQuinta is buying the place. I hope they don't mess with the restaurant. We will be back.

Room Tip: Suites have a jacuzzi (not a big one)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnNDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shippensburg
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shippensburg
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Shippensburg
Courtyard Shippensburg
#2 of 6 in Shippensburg
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
9.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#13 of 16 in Chambersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shippen Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shippen Place Hotel

Property: Shippen Place Hotel
Address: 32 E King St, Shippensburg, PA 17257-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Shippensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shippen Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Shippen Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing