We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shawnee on Delaware
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary
owlie16
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed May 18, 2009

If you need a place to relax, disconnect and be one with nature please look no further! This was our first B&B experience ever and it is going to be hard to top. My husband and I were celebrating out three year anniversary and had never been able to go away anywhere, he found this place and as soon as we got there we were flabbergasted. This place is hidden in the woods and gorgeous, time goes by super slow as you walk, lay on the hammock and look over the ridge, or eat one of the innkeeper delicious cookies. One night was certainly not enough and we intend to go back as soon as we can for a longer period of time.
We stayed at the Riverview room and stared at a thunderstorm at night. The bed was super comfy, and in the morning the smell of the best coffee I've had in a while lures you downstairs to the amazing breakfast about to be served. I did some yoga by myself in the studio because Leslis had to run an errand, but she's also turning that yoga studio into what I can imagine to be a dream studio suite. If you head here make sure to eat at Antelao's for dinner. Yummy homemade meals and an amazing staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owlie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
125
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2009

My boyfriend and I went for 2 days and everything was perfect. The staff isfriendly, the breakfasts are delicious...the rooms are nice and cozy. Be sure to take advantage of the yoga classes in the mornings! We definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vin200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Our second stay was even better than the first. Spring was starting to blossom, a yoga class was available which I took full advantage of, the hospitality was so warm and inviting, and the food is excellent. We knew when we first stayed last fall that we'd be back. And the nearby restaurant, Antelao's, was a good as we remembered it to be. All is all, this B&B is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Their web site describes the place very well. Also, there are only a couple other houses within a quarter mile. The house is set back from the road about 400 feet, down about 15 feet, which creates feelings of visual and aural privacy, as the road noise from the occasional car goes overhead. Spacious yet intimate architecture: a one-of-a kind Frank Lloyd Wright built-on-the land type of structure that fits into the ridge-line. Copious wrap-around multilevel decks downslope fitted to hillside. Lots of outdoor sitting space, hammock, ponds, birds, wildlife. I have severe allergies to dust, mold, pollens, etc, and found this maple wood-floored house to be immaculately clean. I breathed and slept very well. It's a "shoes-off" policy once inside, so bring slippers or clean-soled indoor footwear. Coffee ready at 7:00 a.m. Breakfast at 9:00 is huge. Both the owner and innkeeper I found to be pleasant, welcoming and very industrious. Owner is expert yoga practitioner and it shows in more ways than one. Of the two dogs, one barks some in the morning, but they are quiet sundown to sunup, as they're getting older. The setting encourages contemplation. Good place to consider the days of your life, alone or with friends. Summer can be crowded in the Delaware Water Gap. Off-season quietude of this place I found restorative. Good place to unplug the mind and return to earth-body realities.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kip_Leitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2008

We had an AMAZING time at this bed and breakfast. The site is stunning, overlooking the ridge with Delaware river below. The house is very spacious with all the amenities and our room was quite big and airy. There's a lot of attention to detail here from the beautiful prints on the walls to the delectable, multi-course breakfast. Also, the owner and manager were incredibly helpful when we needed advice about the surrounding area. This was truly the nicest B&B I've ever stayed in!!!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank annwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2008

I have been to Santosha three times and if you are searching for somewhere to get away from it all, look no further. This B&B has three rooms and while it is filled with all the comforts of home, it gives the ultimate peacefulness and quiet that is often so hard to find. The views from the establishment are beautiful- you'll feel one with nature. The innkeeper, Leslie, is most hospitable and gracious (and her dogs are great too!). The breakfast are healthy and satisfying. You will leave Santosha with a renewed sense of self and you will be making plans for another visit. Tip: Take advantage of Leslie's yoga classes or relax in the whirlpool for an additional zen rush.

  • Liked — The peace and quiet of its location and its great mountain views.
  • Disliked — Wish there were choices for breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lyon0822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2008

What a perfect weekend getaway. From the beautiful grounds with muses all around, to the yoga studio with huge windows to see the mountains surrounding, to the hot tub to the wonderful staff who cooked us an incredible breakfast each morning. The house is in perfect gorgeous condition. I just booked a stay there beginning one day after our wedding (obviously looking for perfect serenity if possible!)

  • Liked — The house and decor and general energy in the space
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank arzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee on Delaware
4.2 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
103 reviews
14.8 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,412 reviews
4.6 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
242 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
1.3 mi away
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Shawnee on Delaware
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary

Property: Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary
Address: 121 Santosha Lane, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18301
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shawnee on Delaware
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 72 miles west of Manhattan, nestled in the heart of the Pocono Mountains, Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast is a secluded sanctuary overlooking the Delaware River valley. With 4 rooms available for accommodation, exclusivity and privacy are key elements of your relaxing getaway. Wake up to start your day with an amazing home cooked breakfast, then explore the beauty of the region or just relax on the front porch with your favorite book. However you define your retreat, we will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing