We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shawnee on Delaware
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I relaxed at this fantastic B&B for a winter get away. The food was outstanding and fresh, our room was warm with comfort from the moment we walked in. I recommend this B&B highly, plan to go back next year to ski the weekend away again :)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leusnerj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 158 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Meticulous, Immaculate, charming place to chilax. What I did: slept late in the perfect cozy bed. Was in a great dilemma getting out of bed, but who could really resist the smell of freshly made breakfast with freshly baked pastries and coffee wafting up to the room. Then i hit the hot tub and dressed. Then took a brisk walk to the Shawnee Playhouse to catch a matinee. Walked to the local brewery a few steps away for a three beer sampler. Came back and enjoyed the grounds. A stone's throw to Delaware Gateway Park with all its activities and beauty. Leslie pointed me in the direction of the charming downtown area and to a different hiking path each day.

Each afternoon, i sat on the veranda overlooking the fall foliage filled park valley and I read and wrote in serenity and beauty.

BUT really the piece de resistance is Leslie and her staff. Smiles and graciousness abound. Every detail is really anticipated. Leslie and Santosha get it. A perfect vacay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous, I really enjoyed the sunrise room. Bright and roomy and charming, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here to attend a wedding at the Shawnee Inn which was about 5 minutes from this B&B. We love staying in B&B's . It is a great way to make friends and learn more about the area. The experience at Santosha was made special by the people who own and those who work at the Inn. You immediately felt welcome; like one of the family! Leslie , the owner, was like a true friend hosting you in her home. You had access to the living room with the big fireplace, the books, the hot tub, the back porch with its' magnificent views,the yard and more. Tea and coffee were available all the time, there was a small fridge to keep things in, beautiful flowers found their way into our room from the garden and the breakfasts were "special". The place was peaceful but also very close to anything you wanted to do or see. Our room was small and cozy. The larger rooms were upstairs and their was one above the garage that had a kitchenette. The price was excellent and the feeling of "coming home" was really special. We will definitely return !

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely...depends on what size you want and what you want to spend. None will disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I just needed a quick getaway to recharge and Santosha ended up being perfect. We stayed in the Sunrise room and we were very happy wtih the size of the room and bathroom. The whole house has a very zen vibe, but is not minimalist or stark feeling by any means...it was VERY well-appointed with high-end, comfy furniture and linens and super clean. The house was full, but we rarely ran into other guests-the home is VERY large! The hot tub was great after a long hike during the day. We brought our own wine and enjoyed some quiet time on the deck, which is stunning and overlooks an amazing ridge. Nobody was around, it was quiet and just what we wanted. The breakfasts were scrumptious and so fresh and I had the feeling that Leslie would have kept cooking if we so desired (but everyone got full pretty quickly!) There were no TVs which was exactly what we wanted, but the house had wi-fi, which was also great since our cell coverage was spotty (and we left little ones back home with grandparents!) I'm going on and on, but I really can't say enough about how fantastic Santosha is-book it and enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOANNE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I have three kids under seven and have only been away from them once or twice and for very short periods of time. After looking at a host of options for a night away for our anniversary, we chose Santosha. Now granted, we had some luck here -- the weather was breath-taking late-summer sun, and Leslie was not overwhelmed with guests.

I will just say that the SECOND we pulled in, we felt relaxed and at ease. I am not a big "karma" guy, but it was just this cathartic sense of peace. We lounged on the hammock and even fell asleep -- no one was there yet.

I will not go through all the details, but we had a nice dip in the outdoor hot tub and went to a Peruvian place for dinner. The food was awesome and the owner waited on us. Plus, it was BYOB which we love.

The next morning, breakfast was wonderful -- fruit/homemade granola/yogurt, smoothies, breakfast pizza, pastry ... loved it ... and we had the most enjoyable conversation with Leslie ...

Of course, hours later, we were back to the reality of soccer games and whiny kids, but that 16 hours was exactly what we needed to remind us that we could still hang out ALONE. ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bshactman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Trust all the stellar reviews. It is truly a peaceful and perfect getaway. We wanted to escape to celebrate our anniversary and we decided on Santosha. It met every expectation and has helped me walk in to the busy-ness of September with a healthier soul.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessmatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Lovely, lovely, lovely. So relaxing with comfortable beds, great views and the breakfast is amazing. We have been to Santosha 4 times now and you will not be disappointed! The innkeeper is super sweet and they are accommodating to us vegetarians:)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee on Delaware
14.8 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,494 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Crescent Lodge & Country Inn
1.3 mi away
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Shawnee on Delaware
961 reviews
16.2 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast Sanctuary

Address: 121 Santosha Lane, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shawnee on Delaware
Price Range: $145 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 72 miles west of Manhattan, nestled in the heart of the Pocono Mountains, Santosha on the Ridge Bed and Breakfast is a secluded sanctuary overlooking the Delaware River valley. With 4 rooms available for accommodation, exclusivity and privacy are key elements of your relaxing getaway. Wake up to start your day with an amazing home cooked breakfast, then explore the beauty of the region or just relax on the front porch with your favorite book. However you define your retreat, we will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing