We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glen Rock
1 review
“Wedding Weekend”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Beautiful location. Lovely, historic old inn. Rooms & bathrooms a bit small, but very clean & comfy. Wish we had another day to explore grounds & do some activities. Wedding under tent very nice! Gorgeous weather was a blessing!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Traveler8146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Traveler8146: Thank your staying with us at the historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort. One of our most fortunate assets is our location. Right on the scenic Delaware River with the Kittatiny Mountain as a backdrop. Come again when you can stay longer and explore the 70,000 acres of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area that borders our resort. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    270
    147
    66
    61
See reviews for
348
325
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We come here 2-3 times each year. We try to come in all the different seasons and always enjoy our stay here. Would recommend Shawnee to everyone!!
The golfing experience is always top-notch. The pro shop is great and very accommodating with tee times.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Hello William H. Thank you for choosing Shawnee and being a great advocate. The golf here is a great experience and I will pass along to our staff your comments. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Excellent Place to stay and enjoy. The class and old world charm that is here is a true rarity.Familys would love to stay here. The plastic, glitz, bells and whistles that the other, cheap hotels offer is not needed here. This is a true, rare, family place to go and stay. The inn has been open since 1911 not like most places that change names and service so often,and forget you the very second you check out. The Shawnee Inn stands strong and far out paces others in class,value,service, reliability,and nostalgia.

Room Tip: Rooms are neat and clean with old world charm.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very happy with the environmental practices here.The Inn has it's own environmentally grown garden, as well as specially selected wood for it's camp fires and smores roasts.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear John F. : We are so glad that you were able to make it to Shawnee and truly appreciate your review. Though we have golf in our name, we do believe we are an excellent place for families to stay and enjoy quality time together. We are delighted you loved the old world charm and our sustainable practices. We look forward to seeing you later in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The golf course and the people who operate it were fantastic. The rooms were fine and the food was great. The beds were comfortable and clean. The front desk folks were excellent to work with and the concierge was very helpful.


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Steve M: Thank you for relaying your experience. We appreciate your positive comments. I will pass along your accolades to the golf staff and grounds crew. We are very fortunate to have an excellent golf course and a comfortable, historic Inn to stay at while you play. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I just experienced our first stay at the Shawnee Inn. It was a very pleasant three days. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. Tara, the Guest Service Manager, went above and beyond what is normal to make our stay memorable. There were numerous activities (free) that we took advantage off, but we also enjoyed just relaxing on the beautiful veranda watching the river roll by.
We will diffidently be returning, probably with a Road Scholar organized trip.
P.S. This place is a golfer's dream.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the free hike to the Delaware Water Gap overlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Jeffery R: Thank you for all your comments, but especially the "this place is a golfer's dream." The island layout of this course is really so unique and the history is amazing. Thank you for noticing. I will pass along your nice comments about Tara. She is terrific and a great asset to our resort. We really concentrate on offering activities that allow our guests to enjoy the beauty of our area and the great outdoors. We hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our time was short, but that didn't stop us from seeing that this was a very well run hotel in an incredible location. Exploring the grounds, sitting on the porch and possibly taking in a round of golf would make any stay worth while!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
LukeJ: Thank you for writing about your brief Shawnee experience. We hope you will return when you can stay longer. Our location is very special, as well as our staff. It is a beautiful place to take a walk, sit by the river and contemplate, or simply spin around and around on our expansive front lawn until you fall down. Oh yes, and the golf is excellent too. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The room was clean and comfortable, although the bathrooms are extremely small. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Great golf! this is an old Inn in the Poconos. Although dated, it is very charming and a great family destination.

Room Tip: If possible, get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear GregS: Thank you for relaying your Shawnee experience. In 1911 they did not believe in huge bathrooms like the ones constructed today. We are trying to maintain the integrity of the history of the building. The bathrooms are one of the areas that definitely have our attention and we are working on manageable solutions. We prefer historic to old and are trying to do what we can so that our guests do not have to be inconvenienced by the age of the property.
This is a great family destination. Thank you for saying so, We really encourage families to recreate together with the activities we have planned and the programs we offer. Visit again. If you love great golf play our Championship course at Shawnee and we have another course, Great Bear Golf Club which is a Nicklaus design.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee on Delaware
14.5 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,426 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
16.7 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,169 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort

Property: The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
Address: 100 Shawnee Inn Drive, P.O. Box 67, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shawnee on Delaware
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort in the Pocono Mountains - Discover the historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, a unique destination for golf, skiing, vacations and meetings. Located only 75 miles from New York City in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania, the resort is set amidst the splendor of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area. Championship golf, breathtaking views, and some of the finest dining in the Pocono Mountains are only a small part of the Shawnee experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Inn & Golf Hotel Shawnee On Delaware
Shawnee Inn And Golf Resort
Shawnee Hotel On Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing