We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service. Needs updating and a good cleaning” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
East Hanover, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great service. Needs updating and a good cleaning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I just returned from a one night stay at the Shawnee Inn. The service was absolutely wonderful. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. The restaurant, The River Room...omg AMAZING. Great value and delicious.

My only concern was the cleanliness of our room. It definitely needs some updating (wallpaper peeling) but there was a lime on the floor next to my bed and some gross hairs on the toilet. I took pics but can't figure out how to upload them to this site. I know President's week is a busy week, but the maid service seriously needs to do a better and more thorough job cleaning the rooms.

I'd love to stay here again, but the cleanliness is the only thing making unsure.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWall114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear JWall114: I appreciate the time you took to relay your experiences at our resort. I will pass along your accolades to our River Room staff and remind them to keep it up! I am working with the housekeeping staff and assure you that the cleanliness issues that you faced are being addressed. Our maintenance staff has been made aware of the wallpaper issues and will work to rectify this issue. We hope to see you here again and appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    262
    141
    65
    59
See reviews for
339
318
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Our family just stay at the beautiful Pocono Resort. The surrounding scenery of the resort and the Pocono area is beautiful. The rooms are very nice, comfortable and clean. We stay here once a year as a family ski trip. Just down the road is a family friendly ski area, which is owned by the resort. The restaurant in the resort is great, and the have an awesome breakfast buffet. There are plenty of attractions to keep you interested in this beautiful are of Pennsylvania.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gforce61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Gforce61: The word you use consistently in your review describes the ski experience perfectly - family. Shawnee Mountain is a very family oriented ski destination and has terrific lesson for those learning to ski and those that want to improve their skiing (or snowboarding). Our location a few miles from them make us a good choice for families looking to have that "first time" ski experience. Our beautiful location doesn't hurt either. We hope to see you back again around the campfire for some smores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Our family of seven (children aged 8-15) stayed at the Inn over the President's day weekend. The rooms are clean, if a bit dated, with incredibly small bathrooms - toilet seat literally touched the side of the bathtub. However, for a hundred year old property it is well maintained and pretty clean. The restaurant was surprisingly good for Valentine's Day - the staff was great and the food was very good. The issue with this place is the noise in the rooms and hallways and management's total lack of regard for those who would like to get a good night's sleep. The walls in the rooms are paper thin - nothing they can do about that. However, both nights we stayed there, there were loud guests up and down our hallway. One room had way too many people in it, and allowed their children to slam doors, run up and down the halls and scream and yell al night - at midnight it was till going on. Another room featured a long profanity-laced tirade from one occupant to another regarding some perceived slight - I have never heard the f-word uttered so many times, and i work on New York City each day. Throughout all of this, repeated calls to the front desk yielded only one visit from an employee who clearly had no interest in solving the problems. He was condescending and downright nasty to the guests who simply wanted some quiet well past midnight. totally ineffective - the noise continued unabated until well into early morning hours. no one from management ever followed up with us despite our specific request to do so when we checked out - apparently they are extremely busy doing something else.....I would never stay here again, particularly with children. Management allows a frat house atmosphere (or worse) to continue unabated with no regard for the majority of their guests who simply want some peace and quiet. Terrible experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear John J - Thank you for taking time out to relay your experience. I apologize for what occurred on the evening of your stay. I make no excuses. You should have had a more restful time and it was our inability to keep other guests quiet that made for a less then optimal stay. I will reach out to your privately through Trip Advisor, and I know that management has reached out earlier this week to speak with someone regarding the incident. We do care. I am glad that you enjoyed the restaurant and found the staff to be responsive. I am embarrassed by your experience because I believe you did find a great place. Of course I am biased, but believe I can show you a different side our resort. Again, I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Shawnee Inn. The setting is beautiful and it snowed while we were there which made it more magical. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. We enjoyed our meals in the River Room. Our bathroom decor was a little dated--wallpaper needs to be replaced or removed. The front porch would have been nice to sit on if there were some outdoor heaters and music playing. Overall we enjoyed our stay and I would recommend the Shawnee Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Lisa B -
Thank you for taking time out to review our property. We are very fortunate to have a magical setting on the banks of the Delaware River. Thank you for the suggestion regarding outdoor heaters and piped music. We are consistently looking at ways to improve our guests experience. I hope to see you back at Shawnee in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertson, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

If you're looking to get away, but need to stay close to New York, I highly recommend Shawnee. However, be prepared. The food in the area is subpar, and any nightlife is non-existent. The resort itself is located within 10 minutes of Shawnee Mountain for skiers. However, in the winter months, it's sort of quiet, as there aren't many guests. This is great though, if you're really looking to unwind. The onsite restaurant is OK, but the bar up the road from the property is a little better. The activities were great, including a campfire each night with s'mores. The pool and jacuzzi are also a great way to unwind after skiing. I'm curious what the summer months bring, with even more activities and an outdoor pool.

The room itself was comfortable, best night's sleep I've had in a while. But it is a little outdated, including the bathrooms with a step up. The cookies during the turndown service make it all better though.

Skip the brewery tour. If you're looking for craft beer, just hit up the Tap Room while it's open or the bar up the road. The spa was great though and always has deals, so make sure to plan a spa day on your trip.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river. It's a great view.
See more room tips
Green Features: There's plant life in the room, and the maid service is pretty good about replacing the towels only when necessary.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Christine P: Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not find any food that you enjoyed. We believe that dining is an integral part of any stay and will work with the culinary and service staff to improve this part of the Shawnee Experience. The middle of the week is unfortunately a quiet time - rest assured we wish it were busier. You have pointed out some of the aspects that we are proud of and our repeat guests enjoy - campfire, smores, our beds and ShawneeCraft Beer (not necessarily in that order). The warmer weather brings hiking, biking, river trips, tennis, sand volleyball, archery and much much more. Please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. Staff was extremely friendly even going as far as to reopen the store at a bit after 10 to look for some Advil for my uncle. Granted the store didn't have any but the effort was greatly appreciated. Alder (one of the employees) was probably my favorite person I met the whole trip. If you enjoy the local outdoors he's the one to ask for advice. The whole place is clean and well kept if just a bit dated. Since it is a historic inn that might be expected.

We had a tube style tv, wish it was updated to a flat screen.

Overall this is a great property and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rwheeler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear rwheeler007 - Thank you for your comments. It is never easy to hear dated, but when you work at a historic resort you're right - some things may be dated on purpose. However, the TV is not one of those things and we are looking to change our final few tube televisions to flat screens in the next few months. Better hurry and stay soon if you want to catch a historic show on a tube TV! Just kidding. Thank you for the accolades on Alder and the remainder of the staff. They are truly our best asset. Please visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Wife, 4 year old and I stayed for two nights. Booked here to ski at shawnee mountain. Historic Inn was just great. Room was comfortable. Beds were really awesome and pillows were top notch. I brought my pillow from home and didn't need it. Didn't like no mini fridge or microwave but we brought a cooler and it worked ok with the ice machine to refill. Room was clean as was bathroom and I didn't feel icky walking in bare feet. Room is a bit small but it was sufficient. Great tv with decent channel selection. We brought snacks from home which worked well. The staff clearly works hard to keep the resort clean and in great shape.
2 miles to skiing and an easy ride. It snowed the day we were coming back from skiing but it was so close no issues although we passed a car crash lucky the inn was close.
Ate at the Gem & Keystone Pub at the entrance two nights. Great food and really close.
Back at that resort the pool was clean, big and relatively warm. Hot tub/jacuzzi also was just relaxing. There is a snack shop on premise.
Although this was a winter trip we will definitely come back in the warmer weather. It's beautiful, historic and a great location getaway. Our 4 year old was happy and had a great time.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haringdr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear haringdr27 - I am so delighted that you had a great stay at the Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort.
Thank you for your comments. Our historic resort offers a charm and atmosphere that is hard to duplicate. I hope that we will see you here again in the future. Please reach out to us if you have any questions or special requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee on Delaware
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
14.5 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
2.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort

Property: The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
Address: 100 Shawnee Inn Drive, P.O. Box 67, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shawnee on Delaware
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort in the Pocono Mountains - Discover the historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, a unique destination for golf, skiing, vacations and meetings. Located only 75 miles from New York City in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania, the resort is set amidst the splendor of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area. Championship golf, breathtaking views, and some of the finest dining in the Pocono Mountains are only a small part of the Shawnee experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Inn & Golf Hotel Shawnee On Delaware
Shawnee Inn And Golf Resort
Shawnee Hotel On Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing