We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentine's at Shawnee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marlton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Valentine's at Shawnee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Shawnee Inn. The setting is beautiful and it snowed while we were there which made it more magical. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. We enjoyed our meals in the River Room. Our bathroom decor was a little dated--wallpaper needs to be replaced or removed. The front porch would have been nice to sit on if there were some outdoor heaters and music playing. Overall we enjoyed our stay and I would recommend the Shawnee Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Lisa B -
Thank you for taking time out to review our property. We are very fortunate to have a magical setting on the banks of the Delaware River. Thank you for the suggestion regarding outdoor heaters and piped music. We are consistently looking at ways to improve our guests experience. I hope to see you back at Shawnee in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    262
    141
    65
    59
See reviews for
339
318
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albertson, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

If you're looking to get away, but need to stay close to New York, I highly recommend Shawnee. However, be prepared. The food in the area is subpar, and any nightlife is non-existent. The resort itself is located within 10 minutes of Shawnee Mountain for skiers. However, in the winter months, it's sort of quiet, as there aren't many guests. This is great though, if you're really looking to unwind. The onsite restaurant is OK, but the bar up the road from the property is a little better. The activities were great, including a campfire each night with s'mores. The pool and jacuzzi are also a great way to unwind after skiing. I'm curious what the summer months bring, with even more activities and an outdoor pool.

The room itself was comfortable, best night's sleep I've had in a while. But it is a little outdated, including the bathrooms with a step up. The cookies during the turndown service make it all better though.

Skip the brewery tour. If you're looking for craft beer, just hit up the Tap Room while it's open or the bar up the road. The spa was great though and always has deals, so make sure to plan a spa day on your trip.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river. It's a great view.
See more room tips
Green Features: There's plant life in the room, and the maid service is pretty good about replacing the towels only when necessary.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Christine P: Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not find any food that you enjoyed. We believe that dining is an integral part of any stay and will work with the culinary and service staff to improve this part of the Shawnee Experience. The middle of the week is unfortunately a quiet time - rest assured we wish it were busier. You have pointed out some of the aspects that we are proud of and our repeat guests enjoy - campfire, smores, our beds and ShawneeCraft Beer (not necessarily in that order). The warmer weather brings hiking, biking, river trips, tennis, sand volleyball, archery and much much more. Please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. Staff was extremely friendly even going as far as to reopen the store at a bit after 10 to look for some Advil for my uncle. Granted the store didn't have any but the effort was greatly appreciated. Alder (one of the employees) was probably my favorite person I met the whole trip. If you enjoy the local outdoors he's the one to ask for advice. The whole place is clean and well kept if just a bit dated. Since it is a historic inn that might be expected.

We had a tube style tv, wish it was updated to a flat screen.

Overall this is a great property and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rwheeler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear rwheeler007 - Thank you for your comments. It is never easy to hear dated, but when you work at a historic resort you're right - some things may be dated on purpose. However, the TV is not one of those things and we are looking to change our final few tube televisions to flat screens in the next few months. Better hurry and stay soon if you want to catch a historic show on a tube TV! Just kidding. Thank you for the accolades on Alder and the remainder of the staff. They are truly our best asset. Please visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Wife, 4 year old and I stayed for two nights. Booked here to ski at shawnee mountain. Historic Inn was just great. Room was comfortable. Beds were really awesome and pillows were top notch. I brought my pillow from home and didn't need it. Didn't like no mini fridge or microwave but we brought a cooler and it worked ok with the ice machine to refill. Room was clean as was bathroom and I didn't feel icky walking in bare feet. Room is a bit small but it was sufficient. Great tv with decent channel selection. We brought snacks from home which worked well. The staff clearly works hard to keep the resort clean and in great shape.
2 miles to skiing and an easy ride. It snowed the day we were coming back from skiing but it was so close no issues although we passed a car crash lucky the inn was close.
Ate at the Gem & Keystone Pub at the entrance two nights. Great food and really close.
Back at that resort the pool was clean, big and relatively warm. Hot tub/jacuzzi also was just relaxing. There is a snack shop on premise.
Although this was a winter trip we will definitely come back in the warmer weather. It's beautiful, historic and a great location getaway. Our 4 year old was happy and had a great time.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haringdr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear haringdr27 - I am so delighted that you had a great stay at the Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort.
Thank you for your comments. Our historic resort offers a charm and atmosphere that is hard to duplicate. I hope that we will see you here again in the future. Please reach out to us if you have any questions or special requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was quite charming. Our first room definately needed some sprucing up..our boxspring was exposed and there were several other items needing attention. We upgraded to their Legacy room for two nights and really enjoyed it. The menu in the dining room could use some healthy, lighter options but the food was quite good. Service was excellent. The resort could benefit from more activities geared around winter visits..ie tubing, better bar amenities, and an outdoor seating area with large firepit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Heather M. -
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the issue with your box spring. Rest assured that has been addressed. Our Legacy accommodations are exceptional. I recommend these rooms for anyone looking for a special getaway. I think we need to communicate a bit better. We are the closest accommodations to Shawnee Mt. which has tubing (and Skiing), right outside our front door is a large fire pit with seating. It is used nightly for smores, but I think maybe some varied options may be possible. Please consider returning and enjoying these other amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at the Shawnee Inn 1/2-1/4 to go skiing at Shawnee Ski Mountain. The hotel is a beautiful historic hotel with very friendly and accommodating staff. While the hotel is well kept and updated with modern conveniences, it still has retained the general décor and early atmosphere of the 50's, instituting the feeling and imagination of how it was in the early and late 50's when many Hollywood celebrities and golf pros like Arnold Palmer and Sam Snead, and even President Eisenhower visited and stayed. Many of their pictures cover the walls of the staircases of the hotel and the old antique elevator is still present at this historic place. The hallways and dining room are very 50 's but restored beautifully. The lobby is very elegant with a huge fireplace and grand piano with a piano player in the evenings. A nice touch was when a staff member brought over marshmallows, chocolate and gram crackers and helped our 8 year old make smores at the fireplace. The lobby sitting area was elegant and decorated beautifully for the Christmas holidays. The dining room was nice and food is decent, (above average) and some things on the menu were actually very good. Service however was a little slow for a non-crowded dining room, but fortunately we were not rushed. There is a nice little bar area next to the dining room with a different menu which we liked better, and the bartender was friendly and provided good service. There was also a piano player in the bar also which was nice.The rooms are ok and a decent size with most things you would expect, however there is no refrigerator or safe in the rooms. There are however ice machines on the floors and there is a pay washer and dryer on the floor too, which is a nice touch if your skiing and need it. The carpet could have been vacuumed a little better in my opinion. The only real complaint I guess I would have, is that the door connected to the room next door to ours was wafer thin or did not have double doors as in most hotels, so you could hear Everything from the next room, from talking to TV's even if on low. So you better hope you have quiet neighbors or that would be a real problem for some. However the hotel staff is very attentive and seems to try to accommodate any complaints or problems you might encounter the best they can, so if available, switching to a quieter room could be a possibility. Another big plus at this hotel is the pool and fitness area. The pool is very large, warm, clean and nice, and has an unconnected Jacuzzi, so this was great with kids and after skiing. There is also a video room outside of the pool area for kids that need that fulfillment. Didn't use the gym area but it looks nice and clean. Also the pool was open until 10 PM, another plus after skiing all day especially with night skiing and tubing available at Shawnee Mountain. Overall for our purposes of skiing at a mountain that was perfect for our child who is a beginner skier, the hotel was a delight and great location and environment. It was snowing while we were there, so the grounds and hotel were picturesque. The mountain is only about a 5 minute drive away too, so very convenient. We had a great time and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeBen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear GeeBen1 - Thank you for your thorough and well thought out review. Your detailed account is very accurate. Please rest assured that though we are a historic property, we are always looking to improve our facilities, offer creative - interesting amenities and activities and offer exceptional service. We hope to see you here again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee on Delaware, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

My family and friends joined me for dinner at the Shawnee on Christmas. The Thanksgiving dinner was wonderful, so we returned for Christmas. The staff was wonderful, but the food was less than desirable, the turkey was so raw we had to chase it with a fork. The food was cold. Our waitress reported it, but we would have to wait for the turkey. The desserts were tins of pies looked like they were from shoprite, and left over cookies crumbles. . This was a 2:30 p sitting, so things should have been picked over. Not many there, better to cancel it. The best thing was the strawberry daquiri. Attempted to call management x2 and a text. We did not stay here as we are in the village.

Room Tip: we did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triple007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear triple007 - I am embarrassed and apologize for so many things. It must be frustrating to not get a response and for that I am sorry. I have reached out to you personally. Rest assured I will go over your comments with the staff and work to fix these issues. I hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee on Delaware
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
14.5 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
2.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort

Property: The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
Address: 100 Shawnee Inn Drive, P.O. Box 67, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shawnee on Delaware
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort in the Pocono Mountains - Discover the historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, a unique destination for golf, skiing, vacations and meetings. Located only 75 miles from New York City in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania, the resort is set amidst the splendor of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area. Championship golf, breathtaking views, and some of the finest dining in the Pocono Mountains are only a small part of the Shawnee experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Inn & Golf Hotel Shawnee On Delaware
Shawnee Inn And Golf Resort
Shawnee Hotel On Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing