We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I chose this resort for their scenic location and I was not disappointed! Using the gps locations from their website we had no problems finding the inn and the drive was beautiful. Check in was a breeze. Our corner room on the 3rd floor was a good size for the age of the building, however we ran into a problem and called the front desk at 11:30pm. They were quick to apologize and gave us another room right away. While the new room was small, the ac worked better, so nothing to complain about really. The beds are awesome - 4 large comfy pills, and they offer other pillows if you ask. Yes the bathroom is small, as is the main room, but there is so much character in the room that I really didn't mind at all. Their toiletries were very good as well. Marzipan soap!

The plumbing made a lot of noise when we used the hot water, but I think this happens with all the rooms.

On the bright side, they bring oatmeal cookies and the weather forecast to your room. We were too tired to try most of their activities, or even the giant pool, but we did have smores and that was quite a treat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate52396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Kate52396
Thank you for your review. We are blesses with a unique and breathtaking location. Due to the historic nature of our property, room size varies and our staff makes an effort to make sure you are comfortable and there are many things to do in our beautiful surroundings. Our Marzipan soap, turndown cookie and campfire with smores are all items that our guests love and we are delighted you did as well. We look for to seeing you here again at the historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 961 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We went there for the day to walk the property. Great views of the river from the hotel porch where we had lunch. The food was good and the menu selection was extensive. the servers good. We did notice that the kitchen was slow or shorthand as our orders were slow to arrive of forty-five minutes, with only two tables left at lunch.
It was wonderful to walk along the river's bank, watching people boating and tubing down the river. It moved like a slow river.

At lunch, we sat on the porch, overlooking the river both, watching people boating and watch golf ears teeing off the green. Tuesday evening they have live music by different banks down by the river. Many of the people who attended come there every week for the concerts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bille3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

we loved the Shawnee Inn. the concierge was helpful, the grounds were beautiful. Yoga on the lawn facing the Delaware River was wonderful. Indoor pool is huge and pleasant. Jacuzzi added plus. Spa was nice - did a couples massage which was very lovely. There was a wedding on the lawn and a reunion and neither seemed to get in the way. Golfers abounded, although we did not golf, we were very busy. We brought bikes, but you can rent bikes and do the McDade trail. Nearby hikes of all kinds are waiting for you. Shawnee has a boat launch and rental for kayaks, canoes, etc and we loved it. Saw people fishing as well. The hotel has its own small brewery with tastings and tours. theres a sweet playhouse on the premises as well. We had a smallish room wiht a kitchenette which was just fine for us. Quiet, clean, pleasant. the views were just spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindykr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The staff was super friendly and helpful, from reservations to concierge to checkin to doorman to spa personnel and wait staff at the brew pub. The resort is in a beautiful location, but it is OLD and hasn't been renovated to 21st century standards. The room we had was tiny, including a tiny bathroom with relatively old fixtures. The grounds were kept well. The food at the brew-pub was very good and reasonably priced, and the beer we had that was brewed there was good. My wife and I went to the spa, which had very small rooms and not as nice as spas at other resorts we've been to in Pennsylvania that had similarly priced services. The massage therapist was very good, though, and I've found that can often be hit or miss at relatively high-end resorts with spas.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear NorthPotomac4, Thank you for your review. It really is quite a resort. You are correct. Our location and staff are exceptional. We focus on delivering exceptional service. Our resort just celebrated its 100th anniversary. We are historic and celebrate that through some of the activities we offer to guests and pictures throughout the resort. We are looking for ways to improve and we appreciate your feedback. We hope to continue to upgrade both the exterior and interior of our resort. Our organic and all natural spa is a favorite of some of our guests. I will pass along your comments and hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family and I just had a wonderful tour of the ShawneeCraft Brewery, the brewery located on the ground floor of the Shawnee Inn. The staff members of the Brewery were friendly and happy to answer questions and they offered us (21 and older) a generous pour of two of the Brewery's fine beers. As we could not make it to a regular Brewery tour (Wednesdays through Sundays at Noon), one of the concierges of the Inn - Tara - was very helpful in arranging for us to have our private tour in the late afternoon. We followed up the tour with a fun dinner at the BrewPub on the Inn's property, where we sat outside on the deck and sampled more of the excellent beers of ShawneeCraft Brewery. A reasonable drive from NYC, touring the Brewery made for a wonderful family day trip!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank JohnK826OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have had two family reunions of about 25-30 people at the Shawnee and recommend it for this purpose. The inn is just the right size for an intimate gathering, with a beautiful porch that overlooks the Delaware River. For those members of the family who want to do more than drink cocktails on the porch, the Inn has a great 27-hole golf course that borders the river. There are tennis courts and even a pitch and putt course that is lit at night (we didn't play this course). You can also rent a raft for $150 that fits 8 people. They drive you up river about 3-4 miles and then you float back down to the hotel. We had people from age 7 to 77 in the rafts. There is also an indoor pool for the kids that suffices.

There are two places to eat: the River Room in the hotel and a brew pub that is also located on the property. I thought the food at the pub was better than the main dining room. Both were pretty good, but not to be confused with fine dining. Prices were very reasonable and a cold Yeungling beer ( a local favorite) was only $2.50 a pop. That's a bargain for anyone used to NYC area prices.

Rooms are on the small side and antiquated, but mostly clean. This is an old building that is showing its age, but if you spend your time outside, who really cares?

If you're looking for high end service and amenities, look elsewhere. But if you want decent lodging, good food, reasonable prices, and a place where everyone can do their own thing during the day and then gather in the evening for food and drink, I recommend it.

Room Tip: The suites are larger, but if you want a view of the mountains and river, request a room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newenglanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I attended a wedding in the "River Room ". The grounds were impeccable the hotel was very well kept for such an older building,and the staff was professional.

However ,the way your staff handles issues that arise along the course of an event,says allot on the management and the training of all involved.

3 hours into the reception the bartender informs me that a certain brand of beer was no longer available as there was none available in the inn. This was the grooms brand, so I went to the bar upstairs and I asked for the beverage manager,someone introduced themselves as such and I informed them of the situation,as I assumed the individual was professional enough to handle such as simple request,he did not.

We are talking about Miller Lite not some exotic craft beer.

When we went to the bar after the reception finished,the one were I spoke to the so called beverage manager/bar tender earlier,I could BUY ALL THE MILLER LITE I WANTED..at 4 dollars a beer.

The attitude was evidently "you take what we give you and deal with it!"

Do you really want to trust these people with your day?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rockiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee on Delaware
14.5 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,494 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
115 reviews
6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
16.7 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort

Address: 100 Shawnee Inn Drive, P.O. Box 67, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shawnee on Delaware
Price Range: $104 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort in the Pocono Mountains - Discover the historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, a unique destination for golf, skiing, vacations and meetings. Located only 75 miles from New York City in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania, the resort is set amidst the splendor of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area. Championship golf, breathtaking views, and some of the finest dining in the Pocono Mountains are only a small part of the Shawnee experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Inn & Golf Hotel Shawnee On Delaware
Shawnee Inn And Golf Resort
Shawnee Hotel On Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing