We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfactory but nothing great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Satisfactory but nothing great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel while they had great customer service really could use some updating. The doors on the end of each floor look like they were from an old psych ward. In addition, the walls are paper thin so you hear everything and I mean everything. We went on a Living Social deal and the room category they assigned was like the size of a closet. The hotel buffet breakfast, which was included was satisfactory at most. I do not think I will be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ladydinj80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you found us through one of partners, Living Social. We are a 100 year-old resort and have features that are not used in the construction of current facilities. As we progress as a resort we will continue to make changes to improve the guest experience without changing our historic feel. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Our building is historic and one of a kind, but it is also the level of service and quality of activites and amenties that make Shawnee a unique experience. Try us again in the Summer or Fall. I trust you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    263
    146
    65
    59
See reviews for
341
321
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was my third visit to Shawnee and I suspect my last. The menu and food have deteriorated. The dinner menu is extremely limited and the pork loin was so tough that one of my friends couldn't even eat it. I had chicken breast and it was dry, even though they put a little sauce on it. Another friend asked for her steak medium rare, and it came out very rare and cold. She had to send it back. And the place wasn't even that busy so there was no excuse for those problems. The breakfast buffet was the highlight of the meals. The appeitizers they offered (Beef teriyaki and vegetable crudi or whatever it was called) were a joke. The beef was tough and the vegetables were just sliced zucchini with a little bit of other stuff mixed in. But the real disappointment was the Spa. I signed up for a facial, an exfoliation, and a massage. The exfoliation machine wasn't working correctly I was told so I couldn't get the exfoliation. They offered me another service to be performed the next day when I was leaving, but I couldn't stay to take advantage of it. The exfoliation machine worked for one of my friends perfectly so it might have been an operator problem. In any case, they would not give me a refund nor any products to compensate for the "payment" of the exfoliation procedure. When you go to a Spa and expect to have Spa treatments and travel hours to get there, it's very disappointing to not get those treatments but pay for them anyways. My package included the Spa treatments. Next year I'm going to convince my friends to go elsewhere. Why go there? The food is bad and the Spa doesn't work properly. You can't play golf in the winter. Maybe if you only want to ski that's the place to go, just don't eat the food or use the Spa.

Room Tip: There are alot of lady bugs so ask to see the room before you get it to check for the lady bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. Though difficult to read, there are some items here that are embarrasing as an operator that we could not execute properly. I apologize and have no excuse for why your experience did not exceed your expectations. I have been over your review with our staff and have made some changes to the dining menu and the equipment in the spa to ensure a more pleasurable experience. our emphasis on guest service and ensuring the quality of your stay is foremost in the minds of all the staff at our resort. I hope you will reconsider and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I spent the weekend at the Shawnee Inn. The only reason I didn't give 5 starts was because the rooms are small and the walls are thin. It was great otherwise. I don't know if they hire their staff based on personality, but everyone there was beyond friendly. It didn't feel fake. They were just really great people. From the lotions and shampoos, from the "pillow list" to the cookies before you go to bed, I just loved everything about this place. They let us check in early on friday and we were able to make it for the tour of the brewery. The pool was a great size and the lifeguard on duty was actually looking out for people. Not just there to collect a pay check. The breakfast is a full breakfast - omelte station, waffle maker, cereal, eggs, sausage, bacon, buscuits and gravy, yogurt, bagels. We went skiing on saturday. You can use you guest card to get 30% off your ski tickets. The beautiful scenery, the great people, good food will make me come back. I just can't say enough good thinkgs about this place.

Room Tip: Room 224 is a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for a ski weekend Feb. 22-24 2013 under the hotel's "ski and stay package" with discounted lift tickets and rentals, so convenient. Accommodations were part of their "Legacy collection" in the Sycamore cottage, which sleeps 8, plenty of room for myself two daughters and two of their friends.

Cottage has 3 bedrooms w/ a full bathroom in each (2 W/ King beds 1 w/ 2 double beds, sleeps 8) , living area with leather sofa's, woodburning fireplace, flat screen tv and kitchenette, very comfortable. Parking right next to cottage making it very easy to bring all your "stuff" inside. Didn't get a chance to use the indoor pool but it looked great. Nice hot complimentary breakfast each morning, professional courteous staff.

Shawnee mountain ski area located less than 3 miles from this hotel. Freash mountain air and scenery only an easy hour and a half drive from N.Y.C. Can't go wrong, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete222_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and daughter and I spent a recent Saturday night(February 2013) at the Shawnee Inn and had a wonderful time. We arrived early in order to ski at the nearby mountain and we were allowed to check in several hours in advance. After a day of skiing we returned to the hotel and were pleasantly surprised to find a piano player in the lobby for most of the evening. We enjoyed some cocktails in the lobby sitting area listening to the wonderful music before getting ready to head for dinner. I requested a river view room and was ecsatic to wake up , open the curtains and see not one, but two bald eagles perched in a nearby tree. It was a rare treat for me and my daughter and a great way to start another great day of skiing.
The room was great and the bed and pillows very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and courteous, especially the front desk staff and bellhop(did not get his name). We love this great old Inn and will be back.

Room Tip: Second or third floor rooms with a river view and in some cases, hardwood floors, are worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chance003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you were able to see the bald eagles. The outdoors are such a wonderful part of the Shawnee experience. Located on the edge of the Delaware River and surrounded by the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area, the Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort prides itself on possessing one of the most breathtaking locations. Come on the Summer and Fall and experience a tour of our Farm, campfire with Smores, hayride and many other great activities. I will pass along your accolades to the staff and hope to see you here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Went for a long weekend with husband and two kids. Hotel and surroundings are very pretty. Great place to get away for a few days with a short drive from NYC. indoor pool was big and kids loved it. Gem and keystone pub was excellent. It is about a 15 min drive to camelback snow tubing. Kids made snowmen outside hotel. They really make you feel at home. Will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, One of our greatest assets is our location, Not only our short drive from from New York and Northern New Jersey, but our proximity to activities like skiing, tubing, and shopping and our breathtaking location on the banks of the Delaware River. Our staff is dedicated to exceptional service. The amenities and dining offered at the historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort are tailored to provide a unique, enjoyable expreience. We hope that you will return to experience our resort in the Summer or Fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Good stuff
1. Breakfast
2. Bed
3. Staff
4. Brew pub

Not so good stuff
1. Spa was too cold
2. Bathroom and room were tiny
3. Jacuzzi wasn't hot due too brewing beer on site huh....
4. Needs to be updated
5. Walls are paper thin
6 . Pillows

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giancalamusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience a at our resort.
Good stuff
1. Breakfast Always yummy and the attended omlette station is a hit.
2. Bed So comfortable.
3. Staff Our number one asset.
4. Brew pub Beer from here, food from near.

Not so good stuff
1. Spa was too cold Sorry. It was a relly cold day and the floors are tile.
2. Bathroom and room were tiny Rooms are all various sizes and we hope that you
will spend a majority of time enjoting all the great
activites the resort offers.
3. Jacuzzi wasn't hot due too brewing beer on site huh.... Sorry...I am stumped.
4. Needs to be updated A work in progress.
5. Walls are paper thin The rooms that have connecting doors are less
sound proof then others. We are working on
solutions. Sorry for the inconvenience.
6 . Pillows Our pillows normally get good reviews, but in case
you don't like the ones on the bed - we offer pillow
menu. I am sorry that we were not clear in making
sure you were comfortable.

We hope that you will choose to return to Shawnee to continue to see the improvements we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee on Delaware
14.5 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
2.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
13.2 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort

Property: The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
Address: 100 Shawnee Inn Drive, P.O. Box 67, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shawnee on Delaware
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort in the Pocono Mountains - Discover the historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, a unique destination for golf, skiing, vacations and meetings. Located only 75 miles from New York City in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania, the resort is set amidst the splendor of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area. Championship golf, breathtaking views, and some of the finest dining in the Pocono Mountains are only a small part of the Shawnee experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Inn & Golf Hotel Shawnee On Delaware
Shawnee Inn And Golf Resort
Shawnee Hotel On Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing