We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need updating and new furniture”
Review of Depuy Townhouses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shawnee on Delaware
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Depuy Townhouses
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Need updating and new furniture”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We traded one of our timeshares for this Wyndham Resort.Strangest layout of any resort I have ever stayed at in 40 years- half of the condos were off site in various locations with no amenities.We checked in at the main resort area.I had called ahead and emailed to be sure to get a condo with a ground floor master bedroom as my wife had knee surgery.I was assured that we would receive an "updated" unit with ground floor bedroom. We arrived shortly after scheduled check in time began.Our condo was not ready.We waited.After 30 minutes a different desk clerk indicated an alternative condo equivalent to the one assigned was available.We were assured it would be an "updated" condo. We were given a map and told the condo was about 2 miles away from the main resort ( where the swimming pools are).When we found the condo in the midst of other small vacation homes it turned out to be the absolute worst timeshare condo we had ever seen in 30 years of timeshare ownership. The condo reeked of mold.The sofa was broken and actually had a piece of plywood under the seat cushions.Within 5 minutes I was on the phone to the front desk and our assigned condo was still not ready 2 hours past check in time-but had not been re-assigned.So we ultimately were able to check in to a condo that did not smell but 3 hrs late.It was an old ,well worn condo.It was spacious .It was also 2 miles away from the main resort and the pools and amenities.The beds were old,well worn and uncomfortable.We actually put the mattress on the floor because it sagged so badly. Overall worst timeshare vacation experience EVER.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

After reading several reviews it's obvious some of these units haven't been updated. Our recent stay was very nice. New carpet, tile in the dining/kitchen area, new counter tops and appliances and the beds were comfy. There is definitely a trade-off for brand new resorts vs. older ones like this in the room sizes. Newer resorts are fancier but often very cramped. I would stay here again, provided it was in a renovated room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayeteekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My family of 4, husband and 2 children ages 12 and 10, just got back from staying at the Shawnee Depuy Townhouse #81 and loved it. We stayed in a one bedroom townhouse which was more than spacious. We had a full updated kitchen, island/counter, dining area to seat 8 and living room with pull-out sofa, loveseat, chair and fireplace. The bedroom was very large with 2 double beds, chair, washer and dryer. The bathroom had a standup shower (which could have been larger - only complaint) and Jacuzzi tub. There was more than enough room for all of us. The reviews have been so inconsistent that I didn't know what to expect but loved it. A lot of snow in the area and the resort did what they can do to accommodate the parking situation. We swam at the Recreation center which was very clean and the staff were very nice. Activities all day, a gymnasium, pool and hot tub for adults over 16 only. We spent 2 days at Ski Shawnee and had a very good experience there as well. The rental staff were very accommodating and the experience was seamless.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were concerned about staying here after reading some reviews. We used our Timeshare to stay in room 122 in Depuy section of Wyndham Shawnee Resort during the fall 2013.

First off. If you want to stay in a Ritz Carelton, then reserve rooms in the Ritz Carelton. If you would like to stay in a spacious townhouse, where you don't have guests above/below or to the side of you and a comfortable, mountain cabin feel, then this place works just fine.

Pros:
Beautiful Area
Plenty to do. Nature path about 2 miles farther down the road, cute stores, near downtown for walmart etc,
Quiet
Near Skiing
A nice escape
Kitchen/Dining space was fine
Fire Place
Plenty of cable channels to watch while sitting by the fire drinking hot cocoa
Enough space to sleep a rather large family comfortably
Common areas were ok.
Indoor pool was very enjoyable but the gaming area was old/items were breaking.
Mini Golf

Cons:
A little old
Things like Couch Cushions, Pillow & Rugs could use replacing
Only wifi access was pay as you go AT&T, would have appreciated free WiFi
They pushed the timeshare sales pitch too hard. When an owner says they don't want to go to the informational meeting and does not want to purchase, then just let him go enjoy, don't try to convince him he HAS to go.

Room Tip: Depuy 122 was enjoyable. Beds were comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesCoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This property was nothing like a Wyndham resort and Wyndham should be ashamed to have their name associated with it. The carpets were dirty and stained. The furniture was old and dirty. The bathrooms needed remodeling. The garbage was stored in plastic storage cans and bears attacked them during the night spewing garbage all over the place. The management was unresponsive and unhelpful. Don't go there!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnel5l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Since some of the reviews here are pretty negative, I was expecting a rundown house. That was not the case. The unit we stayed in had been upgraded and renovated. The furniture and carpet were new and the appliances new as well. The wrap around porches allow for a relaxing place to visit or just chill out with a good book. Close to some great restaurants. It's my understanding that Wyndham is in the process of revitalizing all the units. Enjoyed all the activities, especially the early morning water aerobics at their indoor swimming pool. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet, beautiful place to get away. This is my first review, but I've traveled extensively around the United States.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arlitexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I too can't beleive this is a wyndham time share property. I have been to many others but none were like this. Rustic does not even begin to excuse the one unit of two we had for our family. Both were in Dupuy. Our unit wasn't bad only the odd cobweb here and there and a friendly mouse but its the country and I expect that however the unit we had for our daughter and grandchildren was disgusting. It was dated,dirty(needed vacumming on checkin), the seat cushions on the couch were ripped, the carpets were stained, my daughter not wanting to make a scene vacummed right away then settled children in, the walls outside had green moss growing on them. In our unit the shampoos in the bathroom were half full leaving us to assume they had been used already.At checkin the woman at the front desk seemed overwhelmed and confused and didn't seem to know what she was doing, she had our reservation and the person who was in front of us going at the same time time it seemed and kept mixing things up. Our grandson came down with a stomach flu at the beginning of the week and by the end of the week our granddaughter and my husband had it too. Both children came home with lice in their hair. We had a friend with us as well as our extended family and I was embarrassed to have brought them to such a horrid place as an example of Wyndham timeshares. They were not impressed that we were kept over 4 hrs at the presentation place drawing up contracts. All in all not a satisfied customer at all. Wyndham should not have this area on their rentals if they want to keep up their reputation. I understand that only a small part of the property is actually owned by Wyndham perhaps thats the only part they should rent out not this part for sure.

Room Tip: don't book Dupuy try Crestview the units there seemed nicer on the outside anyways
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klmtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee on Delaware
2.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
242 reviews
2.2 mi away
Days Inn East Stroudsburg
Days Inn East Stroudsburg
#6 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
734 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
3.0 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
104 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Depuy Townhouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Depuy Townhouses

Property: Depuy Townhouses
Address: 1 River Road, Shawnee on Delaware, PA
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shawnee on Delaware
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Depuy Townhouses Hotel Shawnee On Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing