We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accommodations and near all.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shawnee on Delaware
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ridge Top Village at Shawnee
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Our first time here. The rooms were very nice and cozy. Exactly what I was looking for in a mountain retreat . Fireplace was very romantic . The grounds are wellerfrcy kept and the employees were very helpful and informative of suggesting places to see and eat. Overall a perfect retreat for me and my man , thank you

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Katekubis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Ridge Top Village at Shawnee
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 177 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

As an owner at Ridge Top for 20 years nothing has changed in the units at the resort. I hadn't been back to Shawnee in a few years because the units were showing wear and tear and the decline in unit maintenance has continued. Broken screens, broken stove fixtures, bugs in the lights, cracked showers. Couches, chairs, tables paintings, linens all from when we first came to Shawnee 20 years ago. Sadly, this once great resort is badly in need of renovation and it feels like going to grandma's house as a kid everything is old
All is not lost though.....The location is still the major attraction.
You are minutes from the best skiing in the Poconos with Shawnee Mt. and Camelback close at hand. The Skiwee program at Shawnee is first rate.
You are a quick hop to a major shopping outlet and there are plenty of restaurants along 209 that can satisfy all needs from fast food to steak houses.
The rec center at the central check-in is the activity hub and they have over the years sought to keep the guests ( children) engaged while visiting. The pool is great and exercise room while spartan is certainly clean and functional.

The Wyndham Vacation group is the current management and continue to press owners to buy into there club with "owner updates" and they have yet to explain why I am not buying my timeshare twice Just say no and get your $50 gift card.

Overall, the units are badly in need of updating but the place has more good points than bad.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yankee12518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Family and friends escaped from a coastal area and decided to wait for the end of the Mayan long count calendar in the mountains. The week-long sabbatical from the daily humdrum of working to redistribute the fruits of my labor was a well deserved respite.
We stayed in unit 69 and found it worn but homey. The resort has a wonderful staff and the extracurricular activities provided kept the kids busy while we waited for snow or the end of the world. Snow came first, so we decided to hit the hills - which are a short pleasant ride through the countryside.
The recreation center at the resort was open until 10 pm and we took full advantage playing volleyball, hoops and badminton most days. The center also offered the usual array of pinball and video games as well as air hockey and billiard tables for a modest fee. The pool area was clean and supervised.
The condo accommodations were clean but spartan. I think the Tvs were acquired from the last Motel 6 renovation. The unit had limited kitchen utensils and you must improvise to cook anything more complex than ramen noodles.
If you are looking for a Four Season or even a high quality Ramada you might be disillusioned. But if you are going to ski or wait for the end of the world it's not a bad place to slam eight peeps in a two bedroom and have a ball.
Shawnee Ski is a good place for novice skiers or snow boarders to learn. Plenty of qualified, caring instructors and reasonable rates for lessons, lift and equipment rental combinations.
The resort also shares a great 27-hole golf course during the warmer months. Ridiculous after 4 pm specials and a groomed range and pitch 'n putt area.
There is also the Shawnee Playhouse that offers family entertainment and reasonable prices.
Outlet shopping malls are about a half-hour ride away and the resort offers day trips to NYC for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank termite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently visited this Wyndham resort for a ski vacation. The Ridge Top unit we stayed in was 102. It was fine but a little dated. The beds and sofa bed had seen better days. Luckily we had snow while there, which made everything look better and the skiing much better.

Best to request units in the updated Hill Crest Section that have granite countertops and are much nicer. Also best to bring a shovel as the walk ways did not get shoveled until the next day. The roads were cleared by 6:30am, which was great to get to skiing but the sidewalks were not done until a day later.
Also, even though there is a fire place, wood is extra. This is clearly stated in the brochure but when requesting where we could get wood, we were told it "wasn't a good idea".
The staff at the recreation center were all very nice and helpful.
Overall the unit was dated and could use some new furniture. Other than that the location was great to get to Shawnee and Camelback. I would stay again (in the hill top section) if going again.

Room Tip: Request an updated Hill top unit - not the Ridge Top Section.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelqueen8882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The location is gorgeous and convenient to the local ski fields and shopping outlets. We saw deer almost every morning and evening and the recent snowfalls made it a real winter wonderland. However, the units are dated. Wyndham is building new units further up the hill and the rest of the resort is being neglected.

Pros:
We enjoyed the door to door shuttle service to Shawnee ski field. The pull out bed was surprisingly comfortable (though as a couch it was lacking!). The indoor pool was also nice. The towels were big, the locker room spacious, and the lifeguards attentive. All the staff was very friendly. Its just unfortunate management has neglected its responsibility to long time owners.

Cons:
No business center.
Expensive wifi package for purchase.
Very lame welcome party with terrible wine.
Parking areas falling into disrepair.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rach649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Ridge Top 67 the week of Christmas. The unit was dated, overall clean (I did have to call for a vacuum because the carpet was not vacuumed before we checked in, other than that, the unit was cleaned, furniture dated but comfortable. The check in process went smooth and the staff was courteous and answered all of our questions. When we had to call to for anything (extra pot, blanket or pack-n-play, it was promptly taken care of. We did enjoy ourselves. Only problem, I wish I knew that the TV in our unit was not equipped to handle Xbox or WII. It was an older unit. When I called to find out why, I was told that due to sometimes power outage; the resort would not be responsible.
I have stayed at Shawnee before and other units and this was not the case. Please inform your guest before hand. Other than that, we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Try not and stay at Ridge Top as the units are very dated
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weekendshopper15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at Shawnee Villiage Ridge Top over Thanskgiving 2012. We were in unit 105 and we stayed by exhchanging our timeshare through Interval International. the unit was spacious but we ended up checking out two days eary because the furniture and beds were so uncomfortable and dated. Check in was easy and friendly. If I owned one of those units and had to pay a yearly maintanence fee I would question where that money is spent. The outside of the units were dirty and stained of mold and need to be power washed badly, gutters are filled with debris. We qicckly discovered that the oven in the unit did not work. Although they were quick at getting us a one that did they just moved the one from the unit next door to our unit and put the one from ours in that unit. Maintenance was careless in removing it. Scraped the floor from the kitchen to the door. I wouldn't stay at ridge top again and if the rest of their properties are as dated as this I wouldn't stay at any.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendyf121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee on Delaware
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
250 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
3.0 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,461 reviews
3.1 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort
Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridge Top Village at Shawnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridge Top Village at Shawnee

Address: River Road, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Shawnee on Delaware
Number of rooms: 233
Also Known As:
Ridge Top Village At Shawnee Hotel Shawnee On Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing