We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gem and Keystone Brewpub

The Gem and Keystone Brewpub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gem and Keystone Brewpub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The Gem and Keystone Brewpub's menu features special bounty produced from the rich soil along the Delaware River from our own private Shawnee Island Farm™ (in season). Using local produce, all natural meats, PA farmstead cheeses and sustainable seafood, which match the Shawnee mission of reducing our carbon footprint and encouraging a healthier lifestyle. We use oak wood to fire our grill and offer vegetarian and gluten free menu options. We are a scratch kitchen, so our sauces, dressings and desserts are all made in house. Our restaurant is the official home of ShawneeCraft(R) artisan beers---handcrafted and brewed on the premises for your refreshment; we also have a reputable wine list along with a broad cocktail and martini menu. Conveniently located on the Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort property, our outdoor dining is second to none with its breathtaking view of the Pocono Mountains. Reservations are recommended on the weekends.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

DO NOT MISS the kettle chips with chili! They are amazing, with a blend of potatoes including sweet potatoes, blue potatoes, and regular spuds! Their chicken quesadillas are the best I've had- not completely flat and empty but chock full of cheesy, yummy goodness! And try a Sandpit cocktail...delicious and potent. I can barely wait to return!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 3kidzlater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    166
    62
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great beer, beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Awesome tavern in Shawnee, sit upstairs, downstairs in the more casual setting, or outside if the weather is nice and enjoy the view. Delicious tavern food, great beer selection from regional brewery. Service was very good, server was knowledgable and friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aismile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family Dinner in Oct 2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We brought our 7 year old daughter who enjoyed her choices of food. I thought there could be a bit more variety on the menu but the items we ordered were high quality and moderately priced...def worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LindaAnnVahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding establishment will great "roots"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Back in the late 1990's, my wife and I vacationed at Shawnee many times and enjoyed many fine meals at Mimi's Streamside Cafe. Coming back to the area for a "reunion" vacation with two of our oldest friends, we all wondered if Mimi's was still there.

Alas, it was not. But operating put of the same location, The Gem more than lives up to its predecessor's reputation! Our party ordered fish & chips, the grilled porn chops, and the pasta primavera and everyone raved that their respective dish was, "The best they had ever tasted!". The portions were HUGE and the prices very reasonable. (Total tab for our party of 4, which included two appetizers, drinks, three entrees, and two desserts, came to $108 before including the tip.)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

While staying at the timeshare resort across from the Shawnee Inn, we had dinner our first
night here. I had filet of beef that was really good; perfectly done and a good value. Couldn't
finish it due to the portion. Both my husband and I really enjoyed our dinner. Yes, it's pub-
style, but a very nice atmosphere both downstairs and up. The beer and cocktails were better
than the Inn.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank icecreamdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gem and Keystone Brewpub also viewed

Tannersville, Pocono Mountains Region
Shawnee on Delaware, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Shawnee on Delaware, Pocono Mountains Region
Marshalls Creek, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to The Gem and Keystone Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing