We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did we have a waitress?”

The Gem and Keystone Brewpub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gem and Keystone Brewpub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The Gem and Keystone Brewpub's menu features special bounty produced from the rich soil along the Delaware River from our own private Shawnee Island Farm™ (in season). Using local produce, all natural meats, PA farmstead cheeses and sustainable seafood, which match the Shawnee mission of reducing our carbon footprint and encouraging a healthier lifestyle. We use oak wood to fire our grill and offer vegetarian and gluten free menu options. We are a scratch kitchen, so our sauces, dressings and desserts are all made in house. Our restaurant is the official home of ShawneeCraft(R) artisan beers---handcrafted and brewed on the premises for your refreshment; we also have a reputable wine list along with a broad cocktail and martini menu. Conveniently located on the Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort property, our outdoor dining is second to none with its breathtaking view of the Pocono Mountains. Reservations are recommended on the weekends.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Did we have a waitress?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Were seated very quickly, initial order was taken app & drinks arrived quickly. Try the cheddar ale dip w pretzels it was delicious!Food followed quickly too. That's where it went down hill. We never saw our waitress again. After asking another waitress to find ours the mgr came over to box the left overs & he too disappeared. Our waitress finally reappeared & apologized for ignoring us I asked for my check she brings it over with the tip line circled??? Ummm really? Was very disappointed with service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1_4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robhowell, General Manager at The Gem and Keystone Brewpub, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. The Cheddar Ale Dip is my personal favorite, great choice! As for the service, I’m very sorry for your experience. The personal emphasis on the tip was nothing less than rude and I will speak to the staff about that sort of behavior. I’m sorry for your unsatisfying service, but I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your meal. I hope you forgive us for this mishap and we get to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    168
    64
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elverson, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great neighborhood pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Shawnee Inn. We ate lunch and the next day deceided to try it for dinner. We enjoyed both meals and while it was pub food and a limited menu selection , prices were reasonable and service was good. For dinner we both had filets which were cooked perfect and very tasty. The beer selection is outstanding with many of their beers made on site.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golflovers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robhowell, General Manager at The Gem and Keystone Brewpub, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Gem and Keystone Brew Pub. Our filets are one of our absolute favorites! It is such a hit with the guests, great choice. Shawnee Craft Beer is truly a fascinating creation. Our brewers put such care and detail int our beers so our guests leave with a memorable experience. I’m very happy to hear how much you enjoyed it and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushkill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious food and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The beer is made there and the food is from the area. It is fresh and tasty. There were 4 of us at dinner it was on Mothers Day. there wasn't a wait and we were able to sit outside. IT was great.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tallmama55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robhowell, General Manager at The Gem and Keystone Brewpub, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. “Beer from here, food from near” is our personal phrase. The brewery staff puts extreme effort in handcrafting each variety and ensuring each of our beers are refreshing and fully satisfying. We’re glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“MicroBrew with good bar fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Has nice patio... Unfortunately it rained on our way in. HAd two micros, both nice. Party of 6, wings and bare fare- all enjoyed. Out waitress, just two weeks on the job, but very good service. A little noisy, average food, great service and a nice atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottKris96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robhowell, General Manager at The Gem and Keystone Brewpub, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
The Gem and Keystone Brew Pub is always a nice respite from the rain or any other time. We are proud of our Shawnee Craft ales and lagers. The brewery staff puts extreme effort in handcrafting each variety and ensuring each of our beers are unique and unforgettable. Thank you for your feedback ,we hope we get the pleasure of seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty much an average place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

For dinner, it is pricey. They gave me a lot of food though, but it was pretty average for a bar. The indoor eating area was on the dark side and it was warm in the restaurant. I only saw one air conditioner and it obviously couldn't keep up with the weather. They do have outside deck seating on the back of the building facing the golf course. The waitress we had was good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wrwalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robhowell, General Manager at The Gem and Keystone Brewpub, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you very much for you feedback. We’re sorry to hear that you were slightly disappointed with the pricing of our menu items. We are sorry for the uncomfortable temperature in the restaurant. The window unit was added to supplement the building air conditioning unit because of the high humidity. We are fortunate to have some of the best outside seating in the Pocono Mountains, it has always been such a hit with the guests. We hope that you forgive us for these small mishaps and we get the chance to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gem and Keystone Brewpub also viewed

Shawnee on Delaware, Pocono Mountains Region
Marshalls Creek, Pocono Mountains Region
 
East Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
Shawnee on Delaware, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to The Gem and Keystone Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing