We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Buffet 2012”
Review of The River Room

The River Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The River Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: A tribute to the calm and mighty Delaware River, the River Room focuses on fusing Shawnee’s natural surroundings with the flavors and traditions of our region. Offering cuisine that is unique to the area and delighting guests with a one of a kind dining experience, the River Room brings the outdoors in with entrees that include featured fish of the day taken from sustainable sources, pork spare ribs, and grilled free-range chicken.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My famiy decided to try Shawnee Inn's Rier Room for Easter dinner this year. We were not disappointed. The choices wre good and plentiful The desserts were mouth watering. The atmosphere was pleasing.
One drawback was that they were running quite late and the wait in the adjoining bar/lounge was not comfortable. However the decor featuring photos and artifacts from the HayDays of the Inn circa 40s through 60s was interestinmg, particularly since I worked their during the later years of that period.The Fred Waring--Jackie Gleason
days.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Beryl- Thank you for your feedback. We’re happy to hear that you were not disappointed with the food at our River Room. The Chef’s try their hardest to make every meal memorable for out guests. We’re sorry that you had to wait for a table, we will look into providing more room for our guests while they are waiting. Otherwise, it is very flattering to here how impressed you were with out photos and artifacts from the 40s through the 60s. The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort take great pride on our history, and we’re glad we could share the good times with you! We hope we see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 87 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

We all had a tasty and filling breakfast, kept us going all day tubing.

Thank Vickie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Vickie- We’re joyous to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast at the River Room, nothing like a good “pick-me-up” in the morning! We hope that we get the pleasure of seeing you in the future, here at the Historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Nice setting in an old historic inn. Very good service. It is not marked very well, you have to park in the side lot and go up the red carpet steps and into the main entrance of the hotel. Formal dining room, but we did not feel out of place in blue jeans. Friendly staff and unique items on menue.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, nothing is more flattering than getting such positive reviews from our most recent guests. We take pride of our scenic property, and it is our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed it as well. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The River Room is a beautiful scenic restaurant in the historic Shawnee Inn. We went there this past weekend for dinner and although the service was extremely slow the meal, when we finally received it was excellent! The piano player "Flo" was playing in the bar area that evening but unfortunely we could not hear her from where we were sitting.
Would definitely go back but in the future we will dine in the bar area for faster service and to enjoy the entertainment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank denonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Guest—We are very delighted to hear your pleasure with our River Room Restaurant. We are consistently working on our service and I am glad you thoroughly enjoyed your meal! We are very lucky to have “Lady Flo,” and I hope you will have the opportunity to listen to her first hand. We hope that we seen you again soon. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We ate at this restaurant before we went to the Shawnee Playhouse. We had a window side table overlooking the putting green and river. The meal was fabulous, and the service was equally good. One of the best steaks I have ever had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank indytex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Room also viewed

Shawnee on Delaware, Pocono Mountains Region
Shawnee on Delaware, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Marshalls Creek, Pocono Mountains Region
East Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to The River Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing