We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a stop”
Review of Roadside America

Roadside America
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
East Wareham, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a stop”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place was recommended to us by a friend on our way out the door to our vacation. Glad we made the time to stop. At first, I was a little afraid to go in, as it looked like time had passed it by from the outside. It was really interesting though. Take the time to read the guide map as you walk around the model.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    83
    20
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Truly worth an hour of your life”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Roadside America is the most spectacular model village/model railroad display I have ever seen. The extensive displays portray town life, country villages, railroads, mines, mills, an airfield, farms and a lakeside resort. Much of it dates back mny generations and the attention to detail and the continuity of the displays is amazing. Every kid, of every age, should see this portryal of American life.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Like Nothing You Expect”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Granted, it looks like an old-time tourist trap, but next to the time we spent in Hershey Park, this was our favorite part of our vacation. Essentially it's one family's monument to God, family and the USA. More than a fantastic model train layout, it's a gym-sized model of the US. You'll be stunned at the detail and thought. The review at BoingBoing captures it best:

http://boingboing.net/2012/01/16/be-prepared-to-see-more-than-y.html

Seriously, don't miss it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CWaters4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“God Bless America!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My mother came here when she was a little girl, she brought me when I was a little girl, and today we brought my two children which is such a special treat. Upon entering my 4yo son said "This is the awesomest place in the world!" It is fun for both children and adults and I adore the nostalgic feeling of everything inside the building. You can take a long as you like meandering around the "track" and noticing the hundreds of hand made details, pressing buttons, etc. A treasure!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ejpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Must see to believe.....”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This attraction is included in the bestseller, "1000 Places to See in Canada and the U.S. Before You Die". They scored and so did we. We are not "model" or "train" people, so this place was even more remarkable in that we still truly enjoyed it. It is about 3/4 acre of detailed models of all sorts: Buildings, trains, trolleys, rivers, bridges, and period architecture. Clearly a labor of love and something you should not miss if you are in the area, passing through, or destination specific.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SnowAvoiderSalem_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadside America also viewed

 

Been to Roadside America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing