We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a marvel”
Review of Roadside America

Roadside America
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Still a marvel”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

It was my first visit in years and it was like stepping back into the past. If you enjoy model trains, you'll love the large realistic layout at Roadside America. It's a bit aged, but it's still a good deal to see when you're in the area.

Helpful?
Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    85
    20
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Grandson Delighted with this”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is the biggest train set up I have ever seen. We took our grandson here last year, and we enjoyed it just as much as he did. Great place to visit during the Christmas season.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yuschak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonder how it is today”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have visited in the past. We though we'd stop in on our way to to Heshey. The website says open till 6pm. As we drove by at 540 the OPEN light flashed. We exited, turned back and stopped in. We figured open till 6 meant last tickets sold at 6pm. We got there at 5:50. They were wilingl to sell us tickets but were still shutting everything down at 6pm. We passed. In fact they started to shut the place down right then and there till they heard a kid scream...guess someone was still in there. Read other reviews for the pariculars. Just don't waste your time unless you can get there an hour before the posted closing. We did use the restrooms though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheBobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Classic roadside attraction”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Its a quintessential roadside attraction. Its name is perfect. The place is really neat with all the villages buildings and landscape. It even has some interactive spots on the display that you control. If you can stay for the night show were they turn of the lights in the building and turn on all the display lights its pretty cool. If you can go up to the top level to veiw it for the night show they will tell you when its going to begin from up at the top level its really cool to see.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Big Train Display”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

If you've never visited Roadside America - you'll love it. But if you go back - you'll discover that nothing ever changes here - it's stayed the same for the last quarter century. I think the Gift Shop still sells the same old stuff year after year (or they "try" to sell it).

Helpful?
Thank hersheybearfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadside America also viewed

 

Been to Roadside America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing