We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Exactly Great BBQ, But Not Bad Either”
Review of Skeeter's Pit BBQ

Skeeter's Pit BBQ
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Shamokin Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not Exactly Great BBQ, But Not Bad Either”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The location truly is an awesome place to put a restaurant- what a great view. It's too bad that once you step into it, you are greeted by a fast food feel, and food quality that is a mixed bag. Some things- like the pulled pork and sides- are really good, and others- like the ribs, of all things- taste like they were either microwaved too long, or sat under heat lamps too long. The beef brisket was tasty, but a bit on the tough side. My wife got a veggie wrap, and loved it. Overall, the experience inside the restaurant doesn't live up to the view outside, but if you just got to have some BBQ, it will do in a pinch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nanangankaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    63
    36
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Skeeters is a MUST for Central PA”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Skeeters is this quaint BBQ place in central PA. We actually stopped here twice in our trip. The food is that good. I was amazed by the place itself. It is located on a bluff overlooking the river. It is amazing. There is indoor and outdoor seating. The ribs, pulled pork, and beef were tender and their BBQ sauce is awesome. Stop by on Sundays for Live music. This is a definite stop on my list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great place for a quick dinner and a brew”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We find this place to be a nice stop, located at the junction of Routes 11 and 15 in Shamokin Dam, PA, high on a cliff overlooking the Susquehanna River. It serves various BBQ platters and sandwiches (racks of ribs, brisket, chicken, pork) at reasonable prices. You choose your dinner from a menu board and order at a central counter, where you receive your beverage order, before taking your order-number-flag to a table or booth. Tables along the panoramic windows give a great view of the River down below, and you may be able to watch the Bucknell Rowing crew practice. You can choose to sit outdoors if the weather is nice, or to sit indoors in the large dining room. Your order is brought to your table by a cheerful server within a few minutes after the food is plated.
We have found the food to be of good quality, well prepared. (Do recognize that it is not fine dining ---- your dinner is served on plastic plates, and side dishes, but with real stainless cutlery). The dining room is "old factory" or brew pub style, with exposed rafters and heating ducts. An inverted scull decorates the ceiling. On our recent visit, background music was casual and not ear-blasting. Ambience and acoustics are good and the place is great for families or friends socializing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FineDiner658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton
Level Contributor
170 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“GOOD BBQ”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I like BBQ meals... however I will be honest and the first to admit, I am not sure I really know what a true BBQ is. Quite frankly, I have not visited enough BBQ places to make a comparison.

That being said, after stopping in the area for business... I was happy to be taken here. Indeed, this was a welcomed change from the chain restaurants. I had the Pork BBQ Platter. It came with baked beans, cole slaw, and corn bread. I thought it all had plenty of flavor and would like to try some of the other menu items.

To add to the experience, the ambiance was perfect for a BBQ place. Also, the location is really neat... overlooking the river it provides for spectacular views. The staff was also very polite.

If in the area, I recommend stopping here... The food was good and as mentioned, it's certainly a welcomed change from all the chain joints.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moonrover2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our BBQ pork at Skeeter's. I would recommend the pulled pork over the the ribs. The ribs were a bit dry, but the pulled pork is great. The cornbread is very good. Enjoy!! The restaurant is on the top of a hill - and you have a great view of the lake.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skeeter's Pit BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Skeeter's Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing